Overall rating:

94 ratings, 111 reviews

March 2017

Grub Club: King of Gnocchi’s Sunday Roast

great food and really intersting venue with a really welcoming and approachable chef

March 2017

Grub Club: King of Gnocchi’s Sunday Roast

I went to this pop up, with little expectations and I did not know Adalberto as a chef or person. Upon meeting him I felt at home, he really looks like a chef, he is charming,chatty, friendly, warm and welcoming.
The place was off beat, rustic, interesting and even original in layout, cozy and unpretentious.
The food was well presented, tasty, hearty, good portions. Perfect for most Italian food lovers,and those who search for an authentic experience. For an Italian such as myself, it was unpretentious and no frills, but definitely "Authentic" I personally possibly would have preferred another course rather than the egg in terrine which was a bit dry...
Overall I would recommend the experience to anyone who searches for a true "Italian" experience.

March 2017

Grub Club: King of Gnocchi’s Sunday Roast

Great food from a special Italian chef. Adalberto has the charm and the talent of a Michelin star chef. We loved the six course menu and the buzz that went with it.

February 2017

Grub Club: Valentine's Seafood Feast at the Strand

Overall very good. Pudding took a little long to arrive. Lobster gnocchi excellent

February 2017

Grub Club: Valentine's Seafood Feast at the Strand

We had a great time at the Seafood feast supperclub with the host, the 'King of Gnocchi'. The fish courses were superb and the lobster bisque gnocchi was delicious, made even better by the second helping! The King of Gnocchi kept us all entertained throughout the evening and there was a great atmosphere. The only disappointment was the dessert which was bought in. It was a dry chocolate cake with canned custard which I would have not served at home. A simple homemade dessert would have finished off the fantastic other courses so this was the only let down.

February 2017

Grub Club: Valentine's Seafood Feast at the Strand

A lovely host but really very sparse portions and underwhelmingly bland food. We gave up before desert and headed to a bar around the corner to fill up on a cheese plate.

February 2017

Grub Club: Valentine's Seafood Feast at the Strand

The dinner was AMAZING! Definitely the best gnocchi I ever had in my whole life! The chef is great and we had so much fun. Thank you!

February 2017

Grub Club: Valentine's Seafood Feast at the Strand

As usual Adha served outstanding dishes. The "gamberoni affogati al Campari" were simply fabulous. Even this time he didn't let down our expectations . Excellent food, central location and the environment he is use to create is unique. Chapeau King of Gnocchi

February 2017

Grub Club: Valentine's Seafood Feast at the Strand

Great meal from Adha as always, the tuna tartare and lobster gnocchi were outstanding!

February 2017

Grub Club: Valentine's Seafood Feast at the Strand

This was a really great menu, every dish was so tasty and delicious that everybody want seconds of every course, Adha did spoil us and we managed to get seconds of the lobster gnocchi was amazing I really want this recipe, every dish was so nicely plated and worked so well together, please keep it up we want more grub clubs like this, I will be back

February 2017

Grub Club: Valentine's Seafood Feast at the Strand

The King of Gnocchi never disappoints!
Campari marinated prawns were absolutely delicious, never had something like that.

January 2017

Grub Club: A Roman Trattoria in Stoke Newington

this man is a so passionate about his food and traditions make sure you go hungry. its a lot of dishes, tasty interesting and something different

January 2017

Grub Club: An Italian 7 course NYE celebration

Thank you to Grub Club and to member Sarah Al-Hamad for referring me to this club. Our evening was perfection! Buckley (SP?) our waiter and his lovely roomate/singer were so perfectly caring and on task. I felt as if our Grub Club table was so much more of a group than the rest of the venue, and very fortunate to be part of it. Adalberto's menu was exquisite, and 7-courses for NYE followed by Lentils for good luck was 5* Michelin all the way. BYOB was a hugely appreciated benefit too.

January 2017

Grub Club: An Italian 7 course NYE celebration

A great night. The waiting staff appeared inexperienced (lots of waiting around for cutlery while food going cold in front of us) but food was tasty and timings of courses were perfect to allow conversation to flow.

Would attend again.

October 2016

Grub Club: A Roman in Fulham!

An amazing night as always, Quinto/Quarto certainly is the king of gnocchi! Thank you for the amazing food and vibes!

April 2016

Grub Club: Roman Trattoria Night

This was my first grub club and a fabulous place to start! The setting was small and intimate for all the diners to engage with each other, crack a joke and get to know each other. Our hosts were kind and very accommodating particularly to my friend who didn't eat certain meat but forgot to look at the menu or email in advance. They were also gracious and knowledgeable and it was a really nice touch to introduce each course with a little bit of background. The food was utterly delicious, full of delicate flavours so you could taste all elements of each dish. My favourite dish was being the sweetbreads. I was very surprised at the portion sizes, plenty for everyone; will satiate even the most gargantuan appetites!
Overall my first grub club was a complete success, a recommendation!

April 2016

Grub Club: Roman Trattoria Night

Such an awesome night - great good and he was awesome!

April 2016

Grub Club: Wagyu Beef & Truffle Night in Fitzrovia

Wonderfully warm chef and excellent food

April 2016

Grub Club: Wagyu Beef & Truffle Night in Fitzrovia

Delicious meal! We thoroughly enjoyed it. Chef Adha went out of his way to accommodate our group's dietary restrictions.

February 2016

Grub Club: BYOB Sunday Roast in Fitzrovia!

Our first grub club was a great experience. The food was delicious and the ambience and company was also awesome. Would definitely recommend it and will be back again!

February 2016

Grub Club: BYOB Sunday Roast in Fitzrovia!

It was my second time after his glorious opening one year ago. As usual Adalberto makes you feel like at home. The food was delicious : terrina with prosciutto , white lasagna with porcini, gnocchetti + lamb neck fillet. I want to big up Adalberto... I can't wait for the next event. Dajeeee King of Gnocchi

February 2016

Grub Club: Valentine's Seafood Feast in Fitzrovia

Another time of magic with Adha! Food was amazing again. A mix between different shells, fishes, and other flavour from the sea. The king of gnocchis made that pop-up successful again! Can't wait for the next one!

February 2016

Grub Club: Wagyu & Truffle BYOB Night in Fitzrovia!

.

February 2016

Grub Club: BYOB Sunday Roast in Fitzrovia!

Good funny chef. Good tasty food. Good company. we'll be back!

February 2016

Grub Club: BYOB Sunday Roast in Fitzrovia!

Great ford cooked with love and enthusiasm. But not a well balanced meal with too many carbs - lasagne then gnocchi - and a desert rather than cheese would have helped. Oh yes and a bit of help to find the location would have helped!

February 2016

Grub Club: Wagyu & Truffle BYOB Night in Fitzrovia!

Another great menu cooked up by the King of Gnocchi!

February 2016

Grub Club: Wagyu & Truffle BYOB Night in Fitzrovia!

Good food

March 2015

Grub Club: Tongue 'n Cheek vs Quinto/Quarto

Fantastic food, brilliant staff and vibe.

March 2015

Grub Club: Tongue 'n Cheek vs Quinto/Quarto

it was a lovely evening; the food was really good with a couple of excellent dishes. a great value for the money. Maybe a little loud but that's part of the pop-up experience, I guess. Thank you!

February 2015

Grub Club: Fish & Crustacean Extravaganza

Our first Grub Club was a novel and enjoyable night out. Loved the setting in a ceramic shop with the Alice theme and meeting new people at our table. The place was packed tight but as it isn't an actual restaurant we were amused rather than annoyed by our closeness to neighbours and it created opportunities to chat and have a giggle. A jovial atmosphere pervaded.
Adhi was a warm host keen to make a good evening for all. Enjoyed the unusual combinations of seafood with fruit - lobster and passion fruit especially. The brownies pud let things down sadly but the rose sorbet ending brought a lovely finish and return of good feelings to close the meal. A fun night out -looking forward to the next Grub Club event.

February 2015

Grub Club: Fish & Crustacean Extravaganza

would not attend another quinto/quatro gathering. A couple of lobster/crabstick shavings mixed up with egg and potato does not count as a "lobster" meal in my book. Beer at £18.00 a bottle. Seating cramped so tightly we were on intimate terms with the waiters...

February 2015

Grub Club: Fish & Crustacean Extravaganza

A bit disappointing overall. The scallop and the lobster salad were good, but the gnocchi were overwhelmingly creamy (and there were far too many), and worst of all. the brownie at the end seemed to have come from a box -- it tasted like they'd run down to Lidl and bought a giant discount box of awful mass-manufactured brownie.

The room was really overcrowded--far too many chairs, so the people waiting tables had to keep squeezing by us, and our knees were up against each other. Wine glasses still had fresh labels from Ikea on them, suggesting they'd just been bought (who knows if they'd been washed).

Overall, let's just say there is some room for improvement.

[Review edited by Grub Club]

December 2014

Grub Club: A Roman in Clapton

bit's of this meal were delicious...especially the steak and fois gras and the pasta with truffles but others didn't work well, especially the vegetarian menu.
Adha is delightful but has delegated the wine service to somene who couldn't seem to manage it.

December 2014

Grub Club: A Roman in Clapton

Brilliant meal again Adha! It was truffle heaven!

December 2014

Grub Club: A Roman in Clapton

What a man. What truffles. What fun. Highly recommend it. Adalberto is a master of pasta and when he throws in some amazing ingredients it's a delight. The menu was littered with truffle, rabbit, and foie gras.

I went to sleep last night dreaming of truffles.

December 2014

Grub Club: A Roman in Clapton

We had such a wonderful evening. The food was outstanding, service was great. The hosts were such good company and it really felt like we were getting a meal made with care and love. Would definitely recommend, it isn't often you find food of that standard for such a reasonable price. Loved it.

December 2014

Grub Club: A Roman in Clapton

Second round with Adha, food was very good, pasta was well cooked (not overcooked!), and new, not the usual one (Carbonara ect). The location was ok, the tables were sticky, but not dirty: probably because they are old. Anyway for the price, you have to give up something, and in this case we gave up the location in favour of the food that was a lot and good. Wines were very good and at a good price, though their service could be improved: anyway I saw the other guests enjoying more than a bottle. Chef and waiter were very nice with everybody, very welcoming. I wish you will do the fish again since I missed it....! Thanks and maybe see you for the truffle!!!

December 2014

Grub Club: A Roman in Clapton

Lovely friendly welcome from the man himself. The selection of courses was strange - very little variety in textures, three very similar pasta courses (when to me, the whole point of a multi-dish dining experience is to have a wide variety of things), presentation not really of any interest, tables still sticky with varnish, wine slow to come out so we'd have our food on the table for a long time before the wine was served. The bland House music was strange and incongruous. Food generally good, but no dish was MEGA or memorable. The best course by far was the quail fried in fois gras oil, with the pumpkin sorbet, both elements were very tasty indeed, and it was impressive to be able to cook something like that for that many people simultaneously. He's a lovely host.

December 2014

Grub Club: A Roman in Clapton

Outstanding food and value (seven courses served up instead of the advertised four or five). Would be a great group night out!

October 2014

Grub Club: A Roman in Clapton - Launch Night part 2!

Amazing food , delightful chef, loved the location , rustic with a beautiful view over Clapton pond ,Will be there next week

October 2014

Grub Club: A Roman in Clapton

Hello. Adalberto served up a superb dinner as usual. He was friendly and informative and very attentive. What a shame, then, that the venue completely let him down. It is the second time we have been to Palm2 and it is just not up to standard. There are not adequate facilities for hosts to serve their wine and beer cold. The chairs and tables are basic, the room is empty and it was very cold.

October 2014

Grub Club: A Roman in Clapton

Perfetto!

Only comment: bit difficult to access the place though (pretty far out)

September 2014

Grub Club: A Roman in Clapton - Launch Night part 2!

Adha! You stuffed me :) that oxtail was very special!! Thank you for a fantastic night, I love that venue. I'll be back again, maybe for your fish night :)

September 2014

Grub Club: A Roman in Clapton - Launch Night part 2!

A very good experience, the food was great, fresh and very very tasty.
Thanks to Adha for the fantastic dinner.

July 2014

Grub Club: Summer Fish Feast in Hackney with The King of Gnocchi

This was a great evening, with a lovely family atmosphere and excellent food. It would have been good value at double the price: will definitely be back for the next one!

July 2014

Grub Club: Summer Fish Feast in Hackney with The King of Gnocchi

Another brilliant night by the king of oxtail!! Thanks Adha!

June 2014

Grub Club: Summer Fish Feast in Hackney with The King of Gnocchi

We had a great evening with delicious food, great ambience, and an awesome and super passionate chef! I'll be going to future nights by The King of Gnocchi!

June 2014

Grub Club: Summer Fish Feast in Hackney with The King of Gnocchi

Great food! Amazing value for money as well.

May 2014

Grub Club: Spring Supperclub

Took my boyfriend here for his birthday and we had a fantastic evening. What really made it for us was Adha presenting every dish and talking about how he made it which was a really nice personal touch. The food was great, lots of very tasty dishes we had never tried before and it was great to try lots of different offal. The general consensus was that actually we had too much food! The whole table really struggled with the 7 courses as they were all very rich and very large portions, it was a shame to see quite a lot of food wasted, maybe 5 courses or smaller portions would have worked better. However it was a great evening, we both loved it and it was very well priced, we shall be back!

May 2014

Grub Club: Spring Supperclub

Met some lovely people on our table and had a great window seat. Finally tried tripe and oxtail and home made gnocchi all in the same evening! Great value for money.

May 2014
Grub Club: Spring Supperclub

The Gnocchi really is the star of the meal and rightfully so.

The roman style meat balls weren't to everyone in our group's taste but were a unique and different mix.

The smoked brisket was tasty and the dressing had a real kick, and the artichoke and lamb pasta was tasty.

The borlotti bean stew was different and tasty although needed a spoon to get at all the yummy sauce!

The gnocchi was delicious and you can see what this is a signature dish and the sorbet was really nice.

The only real disappointment was the bread pudding which wasn't wonderful after such an interesting meal and such an entertaining host.

May 2014

Grub Club: Spring Supperclub

I really loved my first experience with Grub Club.

Adha was great and so the dishes that he prepared (specially the Gnocchi and the Tagliatelle).

Continua cosí ragazzone ;)

April 2014

Grub Club: A Roman Style Trattoria - Final Day!

I joined for the second time a supper club made by Adha an I can say that it was exactly like the first time.... Great food and enjoyable atmosphere. The top course was the lasagna with truffle and porcini mushroom.... Absolutely gorgeous..... Waiting for the next one...
Francesco

April 2014

Grub Club: A Roman Style Trattoria - Final Day!

This event was the second one for me and the expectations have not been betrayed.

Very nice location in a sunny west London where the food has been the master.

I loved mushroom lasagna, the taste was amazing!

Adalberto has confirmed my favorite chef in london!!!!

Cristina

April 2014

Grub Club: A Roman Style Trattoria - Final Day!

I joined for the second time a supper club made by Adha an I can say that it was exactly like the first time.... Great food and enjoyable atmosphere. The top course was the lasagna with truffle and porcini mushroom.... Absolutely gorgeous..... Waiting for the next one...
Francesco

April 2014

Grub Club: A Roman Style Trattoria - Opening Night

it really felt like an italian evening,i`m ready to do it again soon!

April 2014

Grub Club: A Roman Style Trattoria

ADA IS FANTASTIC: GREAT PERSONALITY AND GREAT CHEF!
Speriamo nel futuro con il suo Ristorante!

April 2014

Grub Club: A Roman Style Trattoria

Had a great time and most importantly the food was delicious. Loved the venue in Putney too. Especially like the rabbit pasta. Bravissimo

March 2014
Grub Club: A Roman Style Trattoria

Another delicious outing with Adha. Particularly enjoyed the Rabbit but it was all delicious. Hope it's not too long before the next one!

March 2014

Grub Club: A Roman Style Trattoria

We had the most amazing dinner last night. I've been to a few of Adha's dinners now and just can't get enough of them.
His food is amazing - the flavours and textures of the Rabbit, Truffle and Porcini Pasta were beautifully balanced and the Smoked Brisket had the most incredible taste.
And I finally tasted the Oxtail Gnocchi with Cocoa Powder - amazing!
Adha is such a fun, outgoing, exuberant character - he lights up the room when he comes to talk to everyone between courses.
I can't wait for the next one!

March 2014
Grub Club: A Roman Style Trattoria - Opening Night

Very enjoyable evening. Didn't notice the time passing. Sat at a very international table and enjoyed both the chat and the food (which was excellent). Will certainly consider doing it again.

March 2014
Grub Club: A Roman Style Trattoria - Opening Night

We had a great time with everyone on the table. The food was diverse and tasty and we discovered new Italian dishes. Service was great and the team was friendly and welcoming.Maybe a little shot of grappa at the end of the meal would have been the icing on the cake.
Thanks!

March 2014

Grub Club: A Roman Style Trattoria - Opening Night

It was not very professional - a lot of delays and waiting time. Also, the two first courses were deep fried, which was a bit too much. Generally, all courses were a little too salty and at the table, we all found that the taste of veal was too recurrent. In total, it was probably worth the money but we were expecting more.

March 2014

Grub Club: A Roman Style Trattoria - Opening Night

Having never been to a Grub Club before I was unsure what to expect.... This turned out to be an amazingly positive experience! Sitting at a table with complete strangers who felt like old friends at the end of the evening was wonderful fun!

The food was delicious, every course had tons of flavour and many different textures, the spare rib and artichoke tagliatelle in particular was a highlight! Our hosts were gracious, the serving staff did a phenomenal job and the chef himself was warm and charming! The only downside was that all the savoury courses were on the really salty side, HOWEVER, without us mentioning it, the chef apologised as we were leaving for this exact issue. A humble chef is always a great chef and I will be keeping an eye out for his other events as it was an absolute pleasure!

February 2014
Grub Club: An Italian 7 Course Feast

This was my first supper club in London. A really great experience meeting friendly people and eating amazing food. Everything was tasty and special but i want to give a special mention to the scaloppe with mango .... absolutely gorgeous. I strongly suggest the King of Gnocchi.... best Italian chef in London.
Francesco

February 2014

Grub Club: An Italian 7 Course Feast

If they served seven dishes that we're all scallop in mango purée I still would have asked for more! Fantastic. It's always fun, there's always one exceptional dish (and the gnocchi!) and you always meet someone interesting and friendly.

December 2013

Grub Club: The Ultimate Festive Feast

A great evening, that was well worth the money!

The Food.. The meal from start to finish was lovely, all well seasoned and great tasting ingredients! My favourite course was the Gnocchi with rabbit, it was delicious. I also enjoyed meeting the chef Adha throughout and him talking about why he'd chosen the dishes on the menu, it made the whole dining experience more personal.

The Venue.. A real intimate little place with a charming atmosphere, candle lit and with a good choice of music.

All round I could not have asked for a better night!

December 2013
Grub Club: The Ultimate Festive Feast

Our host was 10/10
The food was 10/10
The venue was 10/10
overall 10/10

November 2013
Grub Club: An Italian 7 Course Fish Feast

Had a lovely evening with friends whilst enjoying Quinto Quarto's fabulous southern Italian good. A highlight was the squid-ink gnocchi as well as the scrumptous ice cream dessert that tasted like a smooth mars bar.

All in all a wonderful evening I would reccomend to friends and family.

November 2013

Grub Club: An Italian 7 Course Fish Feast

Would recommend to anyone - fantastic food, great ambience, banter with the chef, superb service and a rollicking good time to be had.

We had a group of 8 and weren't sure whether we were going to be asked to move seats after each course or something like that. That wasn't the case and we had the upstairs area of the venue almost to ourselves.

The chef made the effort to come over to tell us about the food and chat numerous times which was a nice touch, especially as he's so charismatic, and the ladies serving were so lovely too.

The food was out of this world, especially the octopus and sea bream, get yourself to one of these Grub Clubs!

November 2013
Grub Club: An Italian 7 Course Fish Feast

Amazing food, in an interesting setting with great atmosphere. We couldn't have asked for more.

November 2013
Grub Club: An Italian 7 Course Game Feast

It was an amazing fiest! We were so full at the end..Every single course was delicious.

October 2013

Grub Club: An Italian 7 Course Game Feast

Amazing food, in fact it was faultless and I can't wait for the next one!!!

October 2013
Grub Club: An Italian 7 Course Game Feast

YUMMY!

October 2013

Grub Club: An Italian 7 Course Game Feast

Amazing food

October 2013

Grub Club: An Italian 7 Course Game Feast

Great food, great host. A proper gastronomic event. Looking forward to the fish!!

October 2013

Grub Club: An Italian 7 Course Game Feast

What an incredible meal. Adha is an amazing host. Full of life and so passionate about food, and it really transpires.
Each dish was more delicious than the other and we kept being surprised by new flavours, delicately playing on old classics.
The setting was gorgeous too. Lovely cafe full of charm and quirks, in a beautiful little street.
I've already signed up for his next Fish feast!

October 2013

Grub Club: An Italian 7 Course Game Feast

The game menu was perfect - the chance to taste so many different combinations on one night is just genius. The preparations to host the event must have been lengthy for the chef but we appreciated every minute. Every course was carefully considered and balanced and just perfect on the portion size.

The staff were lovely, the chef's amazing and has a great personality - clearly loves what he's doing.

Venue was quirky but perfectly suited.

Nothing to fault

October 2013

Grub Club: An Italian 7 Course Game Feast

Great atmosphere, fab food, amazing value for money, lots of laughs, plenty of wine - looking forward to doing this again very soon!

October 2013

Grub Club: An Italian 7 Course Game Feast

Very enjoyable evening with a selection of interesting and tasty courses. Lovely atmosphere and the BYOB makes it fantastic value.

October 2013

Grub Club: An Italian 7 Course Game Feast

This was a brilliant experience. Each course was delicious and we couldn't believe how much food there was. Chef Adha is ebullient and charming - he popped into the dining room before each course to tell us what was coming: 'It's hard to find chestnuts at this time of year, I got these from an old Italian man who's foraged for them in Epping Forest' - and the team are helpful and talented. Couldn't recommend it highly enough.

September 2013
Grub Club: Quinto/Quarto - Italian Nose to Tail

A group of us attended Quinto/Quarto last night. The food was absolutely stunning and sparked much debate of what was the best dish with the terrine, rabbit ravioli and ox tail gnocchi all in fierce competition. The only disappointment was we had to leave before the end as we all live in South or West London and we had to catch the last trains home. It does go on quite late for a week night so although the event does say 8pm-midnight we all assumed this wouldn't be the case so it might be worth just making that extra clear for future events. Overall though great food and exceptional value.