Overall rating:

49 ratings, 58 reviews

October 2014

Grub Club: Summer

Loved the food - inspired by the chilled soup starter and creative use of watermelon!!

July 2014

Grub Club: The Last Hurrah

Great effort from James, all dishes very tasty, and wonderful hosting, the venue had a very good atmosphere, I will try this again

July 2014

Grub Club: The Last Hurrah

First experience of a supper club - fantastic and unforgettable. A real shame that The Secret Larder is coming to an end and we won't be able to go again.

July 2014

Grub Club: The Last Hurrah

Great concept, delicious food and lovely people.

July 2014

Grub Club: The Last Hurrah

Excellent evening, amazing food, great venue.

June 2014

Grub Club: Summer

Really lovely food and atmosphere, would definitely recommend.

June 2014

Grub Club: Summer

Brilliant stuff from Secret Larder team again. Sad that SL is ending, but excited to find out what's next...

June 2014

Grub Club: Summer

Interesting and unusual courses, all delicious and well thought out. Great evening, thank you.

June 2014

Grub Club: Summer

Nice place and atmosphere
Bit disappointed with the veggie main-£37 for a duck egg!

June 2014

Grub Club: Summer

A very pleasant evening. The menu was original, beautifully presented and very tasty. The organisers were charming hosts and the service was very good.

June 2014

Grub Club: Summer

Absolutely amazing. Both us and our friends said we would choose that environment over a restaurant any day. So different, personal, and great to be in a room completely full of like minded foodies.

June 2014

Grub Club: Shrimp-Beet-Lamb-Coconut

Very delicious! Beautiful food.
Really enjoyed it.

June 2014

Grub Club: Shrimp-Beet-Lamb-Coconut

Smashing night. Delicious food. Charming hosts. Beautiful place. Catch Secret Larder before it vanishes for good. My only quibble? I wish there had been more coconut ice cream….

June 2014

Grub Club: Shrimp-Beet-Lamb-Coconut

I've been meaning to go to Secret Larder for a while and I jumped at the chance when I realised it was one of the last ones! It was a fantastic evening from start to finish. Aperitif in the garden, delicious four courses, great company and a lovely setting in Vagabond on Holloway Road.

Thanks to James, Sam, Hugh & Hannah for a lovely evening.

June 2014

Grub Club: Shrimp-Beet-Lamb-Coconut

Unbelieveble idea - such a brilliant way to meet people of similar age with similar hobbies. I used to call myself a Londoner until I met some of this lot - who knew there was so much going on in one small city! And don't think I even need to say how superb the food was. James was brilliant at catering to everyone's needs. And I really appreciated the oppertunity to head to another side of the city. Such a shame James is finishing secret larder, but I have no doubt he will think up something brilliant to do in it's place. Can't wait to hear of the next event.

June 2014

Grub Club: Shrimp-Beet-Lamb-Coconut

James and Sam hosted a delightful evening and served outstanding food. A highlight was the shrimp toast, which completely blew me away.
Thanks guys!

May 2014

Grub Club: Spring-Summer

As a first timer at any supper club I wasnt sure what to excpect. It was wonderful! We were greeted with a sparkling wine by very friendly and laid back staff. Loved the venue, big enough to seat everyone comfortably but small enough to remain intimate. We sat with the lovliest people and ate beautiful food. The flavour combinations were some that Ive never tasted before and worked beautifully. James and his team were very welcoming and I wish them all the success for the future. Very well deserved!

May 2014

Grub Club: Spring-Summer

What a great night. The atmosphere was buzzy. The company was so friendly and the food was mouth wateringly delicious. I simply cannot fault it.

May 2014

Grub Club: Spring-Summer

Great cosy setting and delicious food. Thank you for brilliant night!

May 2014

Grub Club: Spring-Summer

Four of us dined last night and had a great time. The location is very cool and the atmosphere is relaxed. Very nice drink on arrival and some great food with different ingredients. We all had a great time and enjoyed the food. Cool pub opposite for drinks afterwards. Minor criticism was we all felt that the portion size was slightly too small (although delicious - we were left wanting more!) and it would have been nice to have had another hot course as only the main was hot. Overall though great evening and will be back in the future.

May 2014

Grub Club: Middle Eastern

Delicious food, lots of unusual things I hadn't tried before - amazing introduction into some different ingredients and combinations. The chicken was out of this world, the truffles made me break my lent. Every plateful was a new excitement and James and the team were wonderful hosts. Brilliant fun, can't wait to come again.

April 2014
Grub Club: French Bistro

We had such a brilliant night. The food was outstanding, especially the carrot parfait with fennel and caramel gelato dessert!! What a treat - thank you so much! We will definitely be back.

April 2014
Grub Club: French Bistro

Seriously good food-I'd been wanting to go for ages and never got a ticket so was really pleased when I could get a spot for this. Cannot fault the entire evening-delicious drink on arrival, freshly foraged food and unbelievably tasty to top it off. THANK YOU!

April 2014

Grub Club: Middle Eastern

The food was sublime; a mixture of delicious flavours influenced by Middle Eastern culinary classics. We felt as if we were eating in a friend's home, as James and his colleagues made us feel truly welcome. This was a fantastic evening, and a perfect alternative to overpriced London restaurants.

April 2014

Grub Club: Middle Eastern

Fennel cheesecake with blood orange a cumin coulis was divine! Lots of fun, delicious food, lovely people- a splendid way to spend an otherwise unremarkable Tuesday evening! Thank you!

April 2014
Grub Club: Middle Eastern

Great food, good venue, efficient and friendly service. Wonderful evening

April 2014

Grub Club: Middle Eastern

The whole evening was a complete delight. The food was divine, the atmosphere was calm and relaxing. We were sharing a table with other people but it felt very intimate and private. Highly recommended

April 2014

Grub Club: Middle Eastern

Already hard enough to get tickets to this Supper Club, so really shooting myself in the foot by writing this review ... The meal itself was incredible, the chef has to be pretty special to get me eating lamb heart starter! However, its more than the food itself, there are other Supper Clubs out there which also put on amazing feasts. Its just rare to have the atmosphere and general joie de vivre which makes Secret Larder such a great night out. You know you are in for a real treat the minute you walk through the door.

April 2014
Grub Club: Spring dinner

The starter was my favourite of the dishes -- bread was crisp, the radish was crunchy and colourful, the green sauce was just lovely.

The pre-main was the most disappointing -- just a smear of potato, with 3 tiny clam shells, one of which was empty (3?! really! A poor replacement for a chunk of fish, as I initially advertised). The oyster leaf was a nice touch, but there's wasn't much of the plate to eat it with!

The lamb was disappointingly ordinary compared to its elaborate description. It was quite fatty and lacked flavour. Fresh pepper should have been offered. The fingerling potatoes and watercress salad were nice, but again, a more generous portion would have been lovely.

Rhubarb ice cream -- damn, very nice! But why only barely a tablespoon of it on each large plate? Normally 'just a taste' would perhaps have been passable, but not so in light of its rather lackluster and small predecessor dishes. Thankfully, the salted truffles saved the day on the dessert front.

All in all, a lovely atmospheric evening, with good company, charming chefs, but only mediocre food pretending to be innovative. And, unfortunately, whilst I loath to reduce it to this, one definitely paid £37 for the exclusive feel, not the actual cuisine.

April 2014

Grub Club: Spring dinner

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening sampling some very unusual food combos, some which worked beautifully, like the slivers of lemon on wilted watercress, and some which were a little strange, like the skin-like rhubarb paper! However, its fun to try!
Thanks to the team for accommodating my gluten-free diet.

April 2014

Grub Club: Spring dinner

Very original dishes & tasty food. Some of the ingredients/components I was trying for the first time in my life. The atmosphere was relaxed and the service friendly.
This was my first experience of a supper club and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

April 2014
Grub Club: Spring dinner

Really fun night, with innovative and super tasty food. Vibe is relaxed but vibrant, a must for any Londoner looking for an interesting and yummy night out.

March 2014

Grub Club: The Secret Larder

The food was really awsome - didn't think a Scandinavian Pig-fest could delight so much. Look forward to the next opportunity to visit and sample something new and no doubt just as fantastic.

March 2014

Grub Club: The Secret Larder

Booked it for a friends surprise birthday treat as I thought the menu looked really unusual. Not going to lie, with things like pigs tail and pigs cheek on the menu I was quite skeptical going into it (and I really don't like carrots!) but I thoroughly enjoyed every part of the meal and was so so surprised.. I even ate all of giant carrot!!

Thanks to the hosts for putting on a great event and I'm sure we'll be back for more!
- Mel x

March 2014
Grub Club: The Secret Larder

The Secret Larder is a brilliant concept well executed and, I am guessing, will become very popular (even more than it is already!) I was apprehensive about having dinner at long tables seated next to people I had just met but it was more enjoyable than I could have imagined. The atmosphere is relaxed the guest all seemed really down to earth and the food just topped it off. It is well worth a visit and a great way to meet new friends and fellow foodies.Thanks to the team for a fab night!

March 2014

Grub Club: The Secret Larder

These two have nailed it. From the minute you're warmly welcomed through the door, every little detail is 'on point' but still relaxed. The people are lovely and clearly really 'in to' the project, creating a warm chilled and excitable vibe. The space is cute and the food seriously delicious with interesting thought through dishes. Definitely worth a trip. Well done boys.

February 2014

Grub Club: The Secret Larder

Yet again another great night at The Secret Larder. Thanks so much!

February 2014

Grub Club: The Secret Larder

Excellent hosts! Food was original with ups and downs (excellent neck of lamb and cod tapa... rissotto rice pudding and ravioli could improve). I do recommend this experience!

February 2014
Grub Club: The Secret Larder

I've attended the Secret Larder in all its locations, and it has always been a superlative experience. The recent venue is fantastic, intimate enough for good conversation, but with enough sophistication to feel like a first-rate dining out experience. The menu was well-crafted, innovative and the food delicious. Presentation was excellent. In the past, I perhaps felt there was too much food, but this time the portions were perfect.
I would recommend the Secret Larder to anyone as a great value, fun and delicious dining experience. I made some new friends, and my mother loved it!

February 2014

Grub Club: The Secret Larder

I've been to a few pop-ups before and the Secret Larder is out of the top-drawer. We had to be poured out of the restaurant at closing time, much to our disappointment. The food was fantastic (drinks BYO), and great company.

January 2014

Grub Club: The Secret Larder

My partner and I greatly enjoyed our first supper club event. The venue itself was quiet, lovely and quaint, and conversation was flowing throughout the night. Being that this was our first event, we were a little unsure as to what to expect, but are happy to report that we were quite pleased. The meal itself was an interesting fusion of Japanese and Korean cuisine with some more traditional British elements. The highlight for myself was the mutton served as a main with congee and for my partner, her highlight was the octopus appetizer.

January 2014

Grub Club: The Secret Larder

Delizioso - especially the octopus.

January 2014

Grub Club: The Secret Larder

This was the second time I've gone to The Secret Larder and much like my first visit it didn't disappoint. We had great food, great company and an interesting atmosphere. I'm looking forward to what's going to be served at some of my future bookings - so if you're in the market for a fun night with good food I'd definitely recommend The Secret Larder. :-)

December 2013

Grub Club: The Secret Larder

We arrived to a warm welcome and were quickly handed a glass of proseco to settle our nerves. We weren't quite sure what to expect and as I'd booked the tickets I was definitely going to be on the hook if it turned out to be a bad night however there was nothing to be worried about, the food was delicious, interesting and different the company was great (a really diverse mix of people which always helps when you work in the Square Mile and all you seem to do is end up at another restaurant sat next to another banker!) and the hosts were so good. If you're looking for a unique experience that doesn't break the bank and that is too much fun to give justice to then James Ramsden's Secret Larder night is the one!

James & Team - thanks for such a wuicked night. See you in Jan! :-)

December 2013
Grub Club: The Secret Larder

We arrived to a warm welcome and were quickly handed a glass of proseco to settle our nerves. We weren't quite sure what to expect and as I'd booked the tickets I was definitely going to be on the hook if it turned out to be a bad night however there was nothing to be worried about, the food was delicious, interesting and different the company was great (a really diverse mix of people which always helps when you work in the Square Mile and all you seem to do is end up at another restaurant sat next to another banker!) and the hosts were so good. If you're looking for a unique experience that doesn't break the bank and that is too much fun to give justice to then James Ramsden's Secret Larder night is the one!

James & Team - thanks for such a wuicked night. See you in Jan! :-)

December 2013

Grub Club: The Secret Larder

This was our second visit to the Secret Larder and we continue to be impressed. The venue is cosy and atmospheric and the atmosphere lively. The drinks on arrival set the scene and I loved the introduction to the food given by James and his team.
Even though the menu was slightly similar to the previous occasion, it had enough tweaks to remain fresh and interesting. Great combinations of seasonal flavours and a fascinating way of roasting carrots with coffee !
Love those chocolate truffles and will make some from James's book for Christmas gifts. Can't wait to come again next month .

November 2013

Grub Club: The Secret Larder

Thoroughly enjoyed the evening, meeting new people over a turkey dinner for Thanksgiving. Very ambitious of you James to do a turkey for 30 but you pulled it off and everyone said it was the best they'd ever had. I'll be taking some cooking tips back home with me again.
Ellie