Overall rating:

18 ratings, 18 reviews

February 2018

Grub Club: Passports & Spices Supper Club

This was the second time that I've had the pleasure of attending Jorge's supper club. As with the first time, the food was prepared (and presented) to a high standard. Jorge, using his innovative and unique style in the preparation of each course, added a welcomed (and tasteful) twist on some well-known dishes. Before we started the meal, Jorge gave a very thorough explanation of each course, so we knew what to expect (i.e. it's origin, ingredients used and how he has made each course unique). Having each course described beforehand was a great help, especially when Jorge included some lesser well-known dishes (well at least lesser-known to some of the attendees). The friendliness of the waiters, the venue location (we dined near the balcony which has a lovely view of a canal) ensured the ambiance was relaxed and intimate, which in turn led to many new friendships being started. And, as an extra bonus Jorge and his lovely staff sat down with us for a drink once the meal was completed. This afforded us the opportunity to not only further discuss (and compliment him) the meal, but to get his view on cuisine in general. I would, without any hesitation, recommend Jorge's super club.

February 2018

Grub Club: Passports & Spices Supper Club

This was my first experience of a supper club, and I will admit that I was a little bit dubious about the whole thing. I mean honestly, eating in some stranger's home with other complete strangers? That couldn't be right could it? I suppose I harboured some idea that this was something only enjoyed by twenty-somethings who wouldn't know the difference between good and utterly horrible. Well, I will say it: I was completely wrong. I loved it. If all supper clubs are anywhere near as fabulous as my experience last Saturday night, then no wonder they are so successful.
We were immediately made to feel at home the minute we entered Chef Jorge and Marcel's flat (the truly excellent fig infused g & t's did help break the ice I must confess). It was a wonderful crowd that night, and it was effortless to socialise. Of course, how could you not have a great time with the menu that Jorge threw at us? Honestly, I have never had such a juxtaposition of flavours before. It is so apparent that Jorge's passion for food and flavours is explosively translated onto the plate. There were so many dishes that stood out, but for me, the hands-down winner was the Octopus Tiradito. It was nothing short of divine, the tender octopus with the potato, and the smokey finish that I would guess came from the black olive ash.
Also, while it is important to note that this was not a restaurant (thank goodness), I have to say that the "service" (removing your empty plate and bringing the next course) was flawless, just enough, appearing effortless, but not too much.
Thank-you Chef Jorge for an enchanting evening.

February 2018

Grub Club: Passports & Spices Supper Club

Jorge is a true artist! ... and met some great people in a really welcoming and warm atmosphere! Thank you :)

February 2018

Grub Club: Passports & Spices Supper Club

Amazing food and really nice evening!

December 2017

Grub Club: Passports & Spices Supper Club

Jorge is one of the best chef on Spanish/Portuguese/Brazilian/Peruvian cuisine in London.. It is the second time I try his food and I have to say I am IMPRESSED. His supper club is very high-end, amazing presentation, culinary techniques and flavours. He is a great host, too. I would recommend him to anyone

August 2017

Grub Club: Passports & Spices Supper Club

Very lovely evening. Very nice host and good food. Good company and a lot of laughter

August 2017

Grub Club: Passports & Spices Supper Club

Splendid evening. The food was terrific, so many interesting flavours all really well paired. A terrific evening I'd recommend to anyone.

August 2017

Grub Club: Passports & Spices Supper Club

Wow! What an incredibly enjoyable evening! Jorge's passion for food was clear for all to see (and being able to actually see him preparing the dishes in the kitchen was a treat in itself). It was an artwork and a true culinary delight in every respect! The ambience, the company and Jorge's wonderful 'assistants' added to the evening. His heartfelt 'thanks' to everyone for coming was the icing on the cake ... I'm not sure who enjoyed it more, the guests for the delectable food or Jorge for the guests' appreciation of his labour of love! Thank you!

August 2017

Grub Club: Passports & Spices Supper Club

Jorge and his team hosted an incredible evening with such thoughtful and beautifully presented food. Couldn't have asked for a better way to spend a Saturday night.

Highly recommended!

August 2017

Grub Club: Passports & Spices Supper Club

Absolutely wonderful. Awesome food, beautifully presented. Charming hosts.

August 2017

Grub Club: Passports & Spices Supper Club

This was an absolutely perfect evening. We felt very privileged to join Jorge and and his team . How did such amazing food come out from such a small kitchen? Each of 8 dishes were superb - and so beautiful that as each was presented there was silence around the table as we all admired the pure art - then of course we also enjoyed eating it all! Will look forward to visiting again.

April 2017

Grub Club: Taste of South America

Everything was really great! Food was really tasty! Really 5 stars.
The reason why I gave 4 stars for Ambience is that the music was a bit too loud at times, which made it a bit tricky to keep conversations going without being loud, ourselves.

April 2017

Grub Club: Taste of South America

The Taste of South America with Chef Jorge was AMAZING! The food was really good, beautiful dishes and nice Brazilian music during the dinner. One of the best supper clubs that I've ever been in London! I highly recommend!

April 2017

Grub Club: Taste of South America

Excellent, adventurous food, which was artistically presented. Strange venue.

April 2017

Grub Club: Taste of South America

Lovely food, setting could have been better.

April 2017

Grub Club: Taste of South America

Everything was amazing and I couldn't pick a favourite! I've always heard great chefs are the ones who make you eat the things you don't normally like but somehow Jorge had me not only trying them but actually enjoying and recommending them! Great job and thank you for a lovely evening! :)

April 2017

Grub Club: Taste of South America

Amazing food all the way. All the courses were amazing, it's so difficult to choose just one. The seafood ceviche was sublime, the octopus, amazing, the taco was one of the best if not the best I've ever had and so on with all the dishes. Another great addition was the chef coming out and talking to us both before and after the food was served. Sublime!

April 2017

Grub Club: Taste of South America

Congratulations chef and team to bring so many interesting favours-,
We loved the experience and will be back with friends:)