Overall rating:

43 ratings, 43 reviews

April 2017

Grub Club: From Italy with Love

For the second time running, I experienced a wonderful atmosphere & fabulous Italian cuisine using fresh authentic ingredients flown in specially from Chef Assia's family home in Umbria. I commend her culinary attention to detail, warmth and passion for her craft. Assia is also the most amazing hostess, greeting her guests with a complimentary glass of wine, she made everyone feel instantly at home.

Assia's a star in the making! Who's Jamie Oliver?

I look forward to the next instalment. β€” Buon Appetito!

Ciao
x

April 2017

Grub Club: From Italy with Love

Not your normal supper club. Very enjoyable.

April 2017

Grub Club: From Italy with Love

Through nobody's fault the date of the event wobbled a little before being restored to the original Friday evening, and the venue changed because of a kitchen malfunction to a very nice-looking café near Warren Street. There was a good atmosphere with a large group (20 guests). The food didn't quite live up to expectations. It was good, and certainly homely and regional (and largely vegetarian) but the excellent main course (pork ribs with potato) was a bit minimalist, and dessert routine. I applaud the idea of importing wonderful chefs and ingredients (and the stress and work that it must involve); perhaps supplementing with more readily-available local ingredients might make this unknown regional cuisine even more appealing.

November 2016

Grub Club: Italian fish cooked with love

Simply delicious! 4 courses made in heaven! Assia is a fantastic hostess, full of warmth, enthusiasm and passion for authentic Italian cuisine! Really enjoyed her tasteful music playlist aswell! Wonderful night out! Cannot wait for the next one! Bravo Assia! πŸ‘πŸ»πŸ‘πŸ»πŸ‘πŸ»

November 2016

Grub Club: Italian fish cooked with love

Thanks to Assia for a very delicious meal. The food was superb and flavors authentic and ITALIAN! Everything was licked clean and cleared off my plate and my friends all agree it was a great night. Assia welcomed us all into her place and really took care of everyone. My husband said her Lemon Tiramisu was the best desert he has ever eaten, ever, in his life. I agree, really great!

November 2016

Grub Club: Italian fish cooked with love

Assia not only welcomed each and everyone of her guests with open arms making them feel truly comfortable and involved in the experience, she also put on the most delicious supperclub. As her sister and herself prepared and cooked from the open plan kitchen guests were encouraged to mix and chat making them feel at home. The food was excellent, truly Italian in every sense, especially in portions and quality. Assia is an extremely talented chef and I thoroughly enjoyed the evening.

November 2016

Grub Club: Italian fish cooked with love

Wow that was the best food I've eaten in years - so much and so so so good Assia was an impressive hostess charming, engauaging and so full of life - I'm already dreaming about the next one

November 2016

Grub Club: Italian fish cooked with love

Wow - Delizioso,
Thank you bellisimo Assia for a wonderful warm evening of exquisite culinary delights from Umbria.
Highly recommended, I will be back for seconds & thirds...
Buon appetito!

Jonathan😊
Ciao
Xoxo

November 2016

Grub Club: Italian fish cooked with love

Loads of food ...well done !!!

November 2016

Grub Club: Italian fish cooked with love

Exceptional Italian cooking with ingredients sourced from family in umbria, as well as the most fresh fish I have tasted in a long time. The hostess made us all feel so welcome, with great warmth and generosity. Highly recommended!

April 2016

Grub Club: A Masterclass in Italian Cooking: Homemade Meatballs

Lovely Night!! Amazing food, host and lots of interesting chats with inspiring people!
Now I have also 1 more recipe in my list ..

April 2016

Grub Club: A Masterclass in Italian Cooking: Homemade Meatballs

I had a really lovely evening. The food was really good and tasty (loved the meatballs). Met some new people, had good conversation and the host Assia was lovely.

March 2016

Grub Club: A Masterclass in Italian Cooking: Homemade Tagliatelle

Great pasta cooking class. Assia was a fantastic hostess as always. The food tasted delicious and the presentation looked great. Will definitely join the next one again.

March 2016

Grub Club: A Masterclass in Italian Cooking: Homemade Tagliatelle

Unique opportunity to have some genuine home made and farm produced Italian food in London in a friendly and relaxed environment.

March 2016

Grub Club: A Masterclass in Italian Cooking: Homemade Tagliatelle

Great evening with good food, good wine and good company. Like a large family gathering and most enjoyable. Wonderful to see the Chef making tagliateli.

March 2016

Grub Club: A Masterclass in Italian Cooking: Homemade Tagliatelle

Apart from the food being exactly what we like the demonstration of making tagliatelle by one of her pasta chef was really great. We took along two new GrubClub friends and they loved it too. Assia always makes everyone feel so welcome.

March 2016

Grub Club: A Masterclass in Italian Cooking: Homemade Tagliatelle

Another sellout for Assia and her family's lovely food from Umbria, with a twist of the masterclass included too. Gutted I can't attend the next 2 but I'm sure they'll be successes too.
Such an amazing host - she really cares about all her guests and makes sure everyone is happy.

March 2016

Grub Club: A Masterclass in Italian Cooking: Homemade Tagliatelle

Lovely people and venue and super tasty food with great experience to see how its made! Assia is such a shiny person! As with special diet i was pleased to have gluten free pasta option and I really enjoyed my Gluten free pasta. Can t wait for the next event.

October 2015

Grub Club: An Italian Feast With Love

WOW - Amazing perfect evening - must be best value in all of time

October 2015

Grub Club: An Italian Feast With Love

Thank you Assia for your warm atmosphere and for the lovely dinner! See you soon.

September 2015

Grub Club: An Italian Feast With Love

A very friendly and welcoming evening with friends and meeting new ones. A very good evening with good food and lovely wine. I will always make at effort to make an evening with 'love from Umbria'. The friends we took for the first time loved it too.

September 2015

Grub Club: An Italian Feast With Love

Assia is definitely the hostess with the mostess, she made me feel welcome from the very minute I walked into the church to the moment I left. Extremely hospitable host, very interesting people and overall a truly a lovely experience.

September 2015

Grub Club: An Italian Feast With Love

I had a great time with my son at this event. I live in Windsor so it was a bit of a trek to get there but worth it. the canapés of various cheeses and salamis was wonderful and plentiful. The Bellini's on arrival was delayed but delicious once received. The starter was plentiful but warm, the main was a cold pork salad without the crackling. I would have preferred a hot meal for a main course. The tiramisu was delicious and homemade, again a nice big portion. If the following could be looked at it would have been a perfect evening. Jugs of water on the table, cutlery for the main delivered before the food and some Italian beer would be nice. I look forward to the next event when I will be bring some friends. Well Done Assia you were a wonderful beautiful hostess and thanks for the present of Olive Oil, its excellent.

September 2015

Grub Club: An Italian Feast With Love

A lovely evening with delicious food in a unique environment - thank you so much Assia!

September 2015

Grub Club: An Italian Feast With Love

Assia was a delightful host, friendly and welcoming to everyone and making sure every guest was seen to and having a good time. The food was very tasty and there was doubt about the authenticity of the Italian ingredients and recipes. Everyone had a great evening and I'd certainly go back again for another evening from Umbria.

September 2015

Grub Club: An Italian Feast With Love

Wonderful Umbrian food prepared with passion and love.

September 2015

Grub Club: An Italian Feast With Love

The host is charismatic and angelic, making it feel like a personal experience despite it being a room full of strangers. We had a wonderful time and would definitely go again. Thank you.

May 2015

Grub Club: Tasting an Italian Dream

Really great time, wonderful setting and ambience. Really buzzy room and experience. Food was great too, not perfect, but really good.

May 2015

Grub Club: Tasting an Italian Dream

Great venue and great fun. The host was very friendly and it was a wonderful evening.

April 2015

Grub Club: Tasting an Italian Dream

A lovely evening with delicious food and great company. I cannot wait for the next Umbrian delight cooked up by Assia.

April 2015

Grub Club: Tasting an Italian Dream

Assia is a fantastic host and the food is brilliant. Had a great evening and thoroughly recommend.

November 2014

Grub Club: An Italian Romance

From the moment we tried the potato and leek flan with truffle cream we knew we were in for a treat. The dishes that followed were equally delicious and beautifully accompanied by the an Umbrian red. We were given a warm welcome by the hostess, the ambience was cosy and inviting. Our fellow diners were great company and made the evening even more memorable.

November 2014

Grub Club: An Italian Romance

Wonderful evening, and ABSOLUTELY loved the suckling pig, it tasted amazing!!

Thank you

November 2014

Grub Club: An Italian Romance

Thank you for a beautiful evening for all of us with the delicious warmth and tastes of that lovely part of Italy and a great performance by the team to go round so many of us ! I was only quite mortified when desperately trying to catch the glass that escaped my hand the delicious Italian red wine went to splash Rosie's beautiful coast which she won't let me dry clean before crashing all over the floor in utter misery. So sorry for Rosie and the terrible waste ...

November 2014

Grub Club: An Italian Romance

This is better than the real thing - the food is brought over by Assia's mummy in the morning along with her great grandmothers recipes - her accent is unshakable the food is divine - must be the ultimate food no brainer of all time.

November 2014

Grub Club: An Italian Romance

We had a really terrific evening with really good food, great wine and all the people we met were very friendly and very good company. So glad to have been part of the evening and would to thank everyone that made it possible. Janice and John

November 2014

Grub Club: An Italian Romance

Beautiful food & wine, a lovely host & great company!!!

November 2014

Grub Club: An Italian Romance

Great food, great evening. The leek flan with truffle was amazing. And the porchetta was the best I have tasted. I think I had a little too much wine, lol. Good times.

November 2014

Grub Club: An Italian Romance

Why can I not give this 6 stars! This was such an amazing dinner in a beautiful venue. Assia and her extended family put so much love and effort into this and it showed. Each course was better than the last. Thank you Assia and Mama for a wonderful experience.

November 2014

Grub Club: An Italian Romance

A great evening. Fantastic food, great wine and wonderful company.

October 2014

Grub Club: With Love from Italy...

Asia is a warm and friendly host. The dishes were tasty and really well balanced. This is like sitting down in a family home in Italy as Assia joins in and eats and chats with the guests to make it a really fun night. Authentic dishes with really great olive oil to dip bread with and some good wine too. A great fun night. I will be back.

October 2014

Grub Club: With Love from Italy...

Assia and Rosa were fabulous hosts and their apartment was the cutest. Everything about this meal was authentically Italian. The hosts sat with us to eat, we were served wine from Abruzzo and the dishes were carefully constructed with ingredients sent all the way from Umbria - some of which was made by Assia's own mother! The level of detail was spectacular, right down to the olive oil. The aubergine parmigiana was my favourite with Rosa's meatballs a close second. Food was full of flavour, excellent hospitality and a true love for food is what you'll find here. Thank you for a spectacular evening - i would love to come back!