Overall rating:

20 ratings, 20 reviews

February 2017

Grub Club: Monograph - Japanese supper club

Nice food, cool videos. Very very cramped and seating was on stools so not super comfortable. Very hot /cold depending on where you were sitting. But did enjoy the salad/udon/salmon and desserts!

October 2016

Grub Club: Monograph - Japanese supper club

Great night, even though we brought the average age up by 20 years we had a great night, great food , great experience

October 2016

Grub Club: Monograph - Japanese supper club

Great evening - the food was delicious, generous, clean and delicate. Soft textures that melt in your mouth and a really good atmosphere. The hosts were great and brought a great sense of humour to the overall experience, in a fantastic space with great art. Great night!

July 2016

Grub Club: New flavours at Monograph - Japanese supper club

The food and the staff were great, it just lacked a intimacy or shared spirit between hosts and guests I have come to love about supper clubs.

April 2016

Grub Club: Monograph - Japanese supper club

Overall a very average evening. The food and the ambiance were both very plain and not worth the time and money. Dessert was clearly store bought and not homemade. Based on our first experience, we will not be trying Grubclub again.

April 2016

Grub Club: Monograph - Japanese supper club

A simple but tasty and well executed evening of Japanese food and contemporary culture delivered by an attentive and enthusiastic young team. Highly recommended.

April 2016

Grub Club: Monograph - Japanese supper club

Lovely night with amiable people. Great visual media and good food. X

March 2016

Grub Club: Monograph - Japanese Supper Club

When we arrived we found a little noisy room with 40 people, little space to seat comfortably. Seated in cheap plastic plastic tables and chairs. Then after one hour they played a video clip on Japan, followed by a salad that had acquired some of the taste of the carton board where it was served. Then another videoclip followed by udon soup that was ok, too little mackerel chuncks though. Then another videoclip and they served in another carton board box the salmon and rice. Both were fine, the best in the dinner although they did not have sauce. (It has to be dry food if you want to serve it in carton board boxes). Then they played another video and the fire alarm started sounding noisily. We had to leave the event. We were given boxes with matcha dorayaki , chocolate mochi and daifuku. All disgusting except for the chocolate mochi. We had to eat it outside in the cold and share it between too people. The company was great though. Overall bad experience.

February 2016

Grub Club: Monograph - Japanese Supper Club

A different experience. Fun and the food was good, not great but very good. I am pleased we tried it!

February 2016

Grub Club: Monograph - Japanese Supper Club

The food was very basic, but deliciously executed. Maximum stars for the taste. There were not many surprises, but what we ate was very tasty. It was interesting to watch the video and listen to audio stimuli that related to the meal, but I kind of wish there was more discussion around it or more shock value. I enjoyed the detailed "note cards" on each entree, but wish there would have been more interaction with the hosts directly. The event is on the bigger side - around 40 people - and it was very loud and difficult to speak even to the person across the table.

January 2016

Grub Club: Monograph - Japanese Supper Club

super nice hosts, very interestingly themed with videos between dishes (worth highest ratings), food very, very good whereby the tofu course lacked a bit of finesse. Very interesting people. Don't be fooled, it was still a fab eve with fab people and fab food.

November 2015

Grub Club: Monograph - Japanese Supper Club

Food was excellent. Some issues with seating, which were sorted relatively quickly by staff. Could've been pre-arranged though as would have saved a lot of time and hassle. Would return as the menu was very good.

November 2015

Grub Club: Monograph - Japanese Supper Club

We had a lovely evening. The food was delicious and the people running it are really nice :)

September 2015

Grub Club: Monograph - A Secret Sushi Dinner

A cool dinning experience in a basement. The food was amazing with lots of different kinds of sushi and unique Japanese deserts which were all very tasty. It was also very good that the organiser accepted requests regarding allergies and special requirements from disable people. I also met cool people with different back grounds and talked about a lot of things, this was one of the most amazing parts of the night. You should definitely try this!

September 2015

Grub Club: Monograph - A Secret Sushi Dinner

I would like to recommend this supper club to my friends!!! It's at the basement of a cinema which is quite cool. Besides, the introduction is interesting. I felt like I was in the train going to Japan lol And also to me, a sushi lover, the food is good! I enjoyed a lot that night :)

September 2015

Grub Club: Monograph - A secret sushi dinner

I'm a huge fan of sushi so was looking forward to seeing Ugo's creations for quite a while! It was fantastic, lovely flavours especially the Yuzu smoked mackerel. The wasabi was some of the best I've had in a long time.
There was a super atmosphere too, it was loud and fun - exactly what any dinner party should be like. I have 3 words for anyone reading this. GO GO GO!

September 2015

Grub Club: Monograph - A secret sushi dinner

Best sushi I remember having had in London; the rice is the gamechanger. So much better than what I've grown used to!

August 2015

Grub Club: Monograph - A secret sushi dinner

Nice atmosphere and good sushi.

August 2015

Grub Club: Monograph - A secret sushi dinner

Food was good but nothing I will remember for life, location was a great disappointment, you can't host 50 people in such a small room, you could hardly talk to your friends, it spoiled everything. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone

May 2015

Grub Club: Monograph - Japanese Supper Club

Attended with 2 friends - good food, each course was presented with a card description .... however felt more like a restaurant, didn't have that communal supper club feel ... perhaps a welcome drink/mingling would work well instead of being sat down straight. Better to come as a couple/group.