Overall rating:

10 ratings, 13 reviews

November 2015

Grub Club: The Story of Home

Its a great idea and the event was hosted by people who are clearly passionate about what they do. A few things would have made it even better, being:

a) a bit of an explanation as to how the food was prepared would have been nice
b) the waiters were a bit too quick to clear everyone's plates, i felt a bit rushed
c) i thought the price was slightly on the high side given that 3 of the 4 courses were very small and included just a few, basic ingredients. A price of £30 would have been more suitable, particularly as diners had no choice over the menu. The pre-meal talk was ok but i wouldn't have paid for it.
d) meat eaters like myself should have the option (even if advance notification is required) to choose the vegetarian option. It wasn't clear when signing up that the "choice" was dependent on whether we were vegetarians or not.

November 2015

Grub Club: The Story of Home

Sutton House could hardly be bettered for dinner. The dining room was beautiful, gorgeously decorated. Our chance dinner companions were great, the panel discussion interesting, food tasty and imaginative menu.

June 2015

Grub Club: Around the World in 10 Dishes

It was great, we loved it.

May 2015

Grub Club: Around the World in 10 Dishes

Exceptional cooking, lovely people.

May 2015

Grub Club: Around the World in 10 Dishes

Unique atmosphere excellent food brilliant collection of chefs and helpers big thank you

November 2013
Grub Club: The Thinkers Brunch

I can't recommend this social enteprise enough. Delicious food, fantastic friendly staff and all for a good cause. I'll be back!

November 2013

Grub Club: The Thinkers Brunch

A wonderful idea- not only are you able to meet interesting people with the shared interest (or perhaps the concern) for the migrant women's difficulties in society but you are also spoilt with an exotic brunch feast.

September 2013

Grub Club: Oxford Art Circus and Mazí Mas present: A Greek Feast

A lot of interesting tastes of Greece. A little late in starting and would have been disastrous if it had been raining as we were kept outside! Next time maybe we could be allowed inside to view the art works before eating.

September 2013
Grub Club: Oxford Art Circus and Mazí Mas present: A Greek Feast

Went to Mazí Mas at the Oxford Art Circus last night. Sheer unadulterated delight. Every taste was original and scrumptious and served elegantly with no fuss. Arriving with no expectation of knowing any of the other guests, my partner and I found ourselves very quickly laughing and chattering away to new acquaintances and also a couple of old friends who happened to be there. The food never stopped coming: we lost count of the courses, and left utterly satisfied. Each course was special: unique and homely and mouth-wateringly tasty. The setting was a subtle and warmly-illuminated exhibition space with innovative art adorning all the walls: paintings, photos and sculpture on display by new and young artists for us to look at and discuss, with a lovely speech by the person who was the brain behind the exhibition, and another by the person behind the meal. It is a marvellous idea to link the Art Circus with the dinner: this was a wonderful occasion, original in concept and deliciously executed. The brilliant short and articulate speeches describing the concept behind these dinners, and the very warm and succinct thank-yous to those involved, saw us leave glowing warmly as if we had come off a sunny Greek island.

September 2013

Grub Club: Oxford Art Circus and Mazí Mas present: A Greek Feast

The setting was superb, and luckily the weather held out so that we could get some drinks from the outdoor bar before entering the gallery space where we would be eating. All of the food was superb, we were given a description of each dish by our host, and the attention to detail made the evening go incredibly smoothly. There was so much food - all of it delicious. I have special dietary requirements and they made every effort to accommodate me - I didn't feel like I was missing out on anything, although the pita bread (which I couldn't eat) smelled amazing and I was told it tasted even better! I wasn't left wanting for anything, though - I was absolutely stuffed. The host and helpers were all so friendly, it made for a really enjoyable evening.

September 2013
Grub Club: Oxford Art Circus and Mazí Mas present: A Greek Feast

doughnuts were wonderful, chewy, not too sweet themselves.
fried courgettes just right, i can never get them crunchy.
Tzatziki i'd never had before, very good. tasty bread.

meatballs could have been spicier i think.

all in all it seemed like a real greek meal. we all felt very well fed.