Overall rating:

40 ratings, 54 reviews

November 2014

Grub Club: Náttúra by Kitchen Theory

Love the food. Great dining experience.

November 2014

Grub Club: Náttúra by Kitchen Theory

Whilst service was friendly I felt that it was way too drawn out and very expensive considering the portion sizes - I left hungry! Unfortunately, I would not recommend this and think there are much better pop-ups.

October 2014

Grub Club: Náttúra by Kitchen Theory

Thoroughly enjoyed this experience & was genuinely excited by food in each course as it was brought out. Presentation, quality of food and unusual (but lovely) tastes were a great talking point throughout dinner. I booked as a surprise for husbands birthday and we were not disappointed. I have recommended to a number of friends already & looking to book again soon.

September 2014

Grub Club: Náttúra by Kitchen Theory

Another fantastic experience from Kitchen Theory. The courses were each unique and took us to new taste experiences in a beautifully clean and sparse Nordic environment. The wine pairing worked well and the service was as always a beautiful choreography. Definitely worth it!

September 2014

Grub Club: Náttúra by Kitchen Theory

Our expectations were set high by their previous event Kaiseki. The Nattura dishes were as inventive but I found the apple creme at the start and the chocolate mousse dessert a little too rich for my liking. Overall the meal was enjoyable but the service was a little slow. This may be because it was their second evening and they had given themselves a lot to do. The stand out dish was the wood pigeon with chocolate and liquorice sauce.

June 2014
Grub Club: Kaiseki goes to Maida Hill

We joined Kaiseki by Kitchen Theory at Maida Hill last Friday evening. Absolutely loved the food and love the new textures and tastes that can only be produced with molecular cuisine. Half the time I had no idea what I was eating which made it all the more fun. Lulu was kind enough to explain what was going on on every course though. Favourite dish was the squid ink risotto made with sushi rice. Presentation was fabulous. The whole experience started with a short introductory film by collaborative artist Aerosyn-Lex Mestovic to set the mood for our little culinary journey. It's a great concept to combine art with food but I do feel it could have been done in a more engaging way. There were a few teething problems with the projector which is fine but perhaps we should have watched it before seating so we weren't all left facing the screen during dinner which lasted a good few hours. Would highly recommend.

June 2014
Grub Club: Kaiseki goes to Maida Hill

Very innovative and good food! The host, Lulu, was great - she gave a clear explanation and story behind each dish. The bartender and server were attentive without being intrusive. Great experience.

June 2014

Grub Club: Kaiseki by Kitchen Theory

The introductory short film set the mood beautifully with the drama, elegance and creativity that was to follow. The service throughout the evening was outstanding with informative descriptions of each dish. The food was unique and innovative in its presentation, combination of flavours and complexity of textures. The venue was cosy and atmospheric and the accompanying music was perfectly judged. The charming hostess provided us with the full playlist and we are so grateful to Kitchen Theory for giving us an unforgettable evening.

May 2014
Grub Club: Kaiseki by Kitchen Theory

Brilliant experience. All staff were really attentive to our needs. Well thought out and interesting dishes. Wonderfully presented. 10 out of 10.

May 2014

Grub Club: Kaiseki by Kitchen Theory

Absolutely superb dining experience with a very enthusiastic hostess (LouLou?). Very good value for money, especially the reasonably priced wine list.

Thoroughly enjoyed the short film, but the highlight was certainly the food (particularly the garlic sand for me) - beautifully plated, some innovative touches and, most importantly, extremely tasty.

May 2014

Grub Club: Kaiseki by Kitchen Theory

Top marks on presentation...except for the mochi stones everything was very tasty. Seaweed salad was the standout dish for me. Squid Ink Risotto for my partner.

Not sure about the film but at least it was short.

With all the courses I thought it would be too much food so had a light lunch, but the courses are quite small and you will definitely not leave feeling full (some may even be hungry).

Blow torching sashimi isn't particularly theatrical just looks awkward, better done in the kitchen if you ask me.

May 2014
Grub Club: Kaiseki by Kitchen Theory

Absolutely brilliant, from start to finish! Dishes were creative and was thoroughly enjoyable through out. Love the artistic themes, perhaps the wine list could have been better. The only other thing that I thought, in my personal opinion, that could have enhanced the experience further was, given the theme for the night, perhaps the lights can be make used for a greater experience?

May 2014

Grub Club: Kaiseki by Kitchen Theory

The food all looked very nice but sadly, for us it was style over content.

April 2014
Grub Club: Kaiseki by Kitchen Theory

The food was really delicious and delivered with ceremony. The venue was lovely and atmospheric. We love Japanese food so it was great to eat such an inventive meal. Loved the Sashimi course and the Matcha cake was FANTASTIC. Really enjoyed the everlasting noodles too!

April 2014
Grub Club: Kaiseki by Kitchen Theory

Really loved the food! The service was lovely as well!

April 2014

Grub Club: Kaiseki by Kitchen Theory

Honestly one of the more exciting dining experiences I've been to in years. The concept was brilliant and food was incredible. And the hosts were so welcoming and charming. Definitely recommended as a great experience.

April 2014
Grub Club: Kaiseki by Kitchen Theory

Most of the food (grill, risotto) was served cold which was a bit disappointing. Portions are a bit small though reasonable for a 8 course dinner at the price stated.

Presentation for some dishes (Night Garden, Land of the Rising Sun) and the use of ingredients was good and interesting, like the onion powder, tofu noodle to name a few.

Overall a decent dining experience and can see where the chef has experimented with the ingredients in a few dishes, though serving time (3 hours) was a bit excessive.

April 2014

Grub Club: Kaiseki by Kitchen Theory

I thoroughly enjoyed the event. The food was amazing and the whole concept is great. Only downside is the pre-dinner drinks area. The room was smelly and no amount of scented candle can mask the smell. The sofas and chair were all really really dirty and smelled really bad. So overall apart from the venue it was a great event and will definitely be signing up for more.

April 2014

Grub Club: Kaiseki by Kitchen Theory

Fantastic experience - thank you so much!

April 2014
Grub Club: Kaiseki by Kitchen Theory

Fantastic food in a great venue.

April 2014

Grub Club: Kaiseki by Kitchen Theory

I was really excited by the concept of Kaiseki being a big fan of Japanese food and art.

Whilst I enjoyed the experience of the event and some of the dishes were delicious (the sashimi and yakitori skewers in particular), I felt that some of the dishes didn't qualify being 'courses' in their own right. Plus I wanted a more substantial 'main' course - we were left hungry at the end of the night.

An enjoyable experience overall but I wouldn't rush to another GrubClub event.

March 2014

Grub Club: Kaiseki by Kitchen Theory

Another expertly executed dining experience
Venue and setting was lovely as were our host and her staff
Chef presented a variety of Japanese dishes to experience and even though not a taste acquired for me I'll not miss an opportunity to eat his food as absolutely worth the experience and his passion
I eagerly await his next event

March 2014

Grub Club: Kaiseki by Kitchen Theory

This was a truly incredible meal. From conception to execution, everything was well thought out. The combination of flavours and textures in the dishes was inspired.

The meal was well paced and food always served at the right temperature; the atmosphere of the room was good - not too loud; the lighting was perhaps a little too dim.

The woman on front-of-house was knowledgeable, graceful and entirely in command of the situation. When she didn't know the answer to one of our questions (and we had some pretty obscure, scientific questions), she found out the answer from the chef and returned to tell us later.

Some more selection on the wine list would have been nice - or at least the option to order sake to complement the Japanese meal. I should note that drinks were provided by the venue (House of Wolf) *not* Kitchen Theory.

Overall, five-star and great value for money.

March 2014
Grub Club: Kaiseki by Kitchen Theory

The food was delicious and inventive, and the staff were friendly and informative.

The concept of tying food and art together was great and well executed. The short film shown at the beginning was incredible as well.

However, the evening was too long. It could easily have been a 2 hour, rather than a 3.5 hour event, which felt very lengthy, especially on a weeknight.

March 2014

Grub Club: Kaiseki by Kitchen Theory

Excellent, innovative food. Good value. Service could have been a little quicker.

March 2014

Grub Club: Kaiseki by Kitchen Theory

We had an amazing evening! My boyfriend had booked the tickets on a whim and we really were not expecting much. The room was intimate, the food was creative and delicious and the hostess (Lou Lou?) was very helpful and really sweet. She guided us through the dinner and the film patiently explaining each dish and the artistic idea behind it. The amount of effort and professionalism we found may be expected if you went to a fine dining restaurant but surpassed any pop up experience I have ever had (i have only been to 2 others) I cant wait to see what they do next, Thank you for a great night. I wish you great success- you have a faithful fan and follower in me.

February 2014

Grub Club: Kaiseki by Kitchen Theory

This was our first Grub Club event and we enjoyed it. It as a nice experience and the food was good. We weren't knocked off our feet, but definitely interested to come back for more. Thank you!

February 2014

Grub Club: Kaiseki by Kitchen Theory

It was a fantastic kaiseki - beautifully presented and delicious! My favourite courses were the yakitori and the risotto, in terms of taste; and the selection of appetizers and the dessert, in terms of presentation. The selection of appetizers was especially impressive -- there were SO many ingredients on one tiny plate! I also really really liked the concept of the everlasting tofu noodle, very clever AND meaningful indeed. Service was excellent, especially from Noemie and Lulu, who took the trouble to patiently describe each course as it arrived, and at the end Lulu explained the artistic significance of the progression of courses, which was great. :)

February 2014

Grub Club: Kaiseki by Kitchen Theory

Really incredible evening we had last Wednesday! The service was incredible: friendly, very attentive, helpful and discreet. The food was both surprising, as in original and theatrical, and delicious: texture and flavour. Never thought I would enjoy Tofu that much! My favourite dishes were the Night garden, the sashimi and the risotto: absolutely incredible!

November 2013

Grub Club: 'Elements’ by Kitchen Theory

I didn't like this very much...nothing quite stood out and didn't feel like proper food. i don't need the food to magically change into something else but i was hoping the food would be tastier.

The background of the chef's perhaps contributed to an over expectation...

Nice effort but definitely not quite there...

It also takes ages for each course to come out so my friend and I left early despite having paid the full price.

November 2013
Grub Club: 'Elements’ by Kitchen Theory

The food was superb! We opted for the paired wine for an additional 25 pounds (well worth the money). Each dish was unique, delicious and slightly out of the ordinary. I also really liked the sound scape. Everyone was friendly, the staff were fantastic and knowledgeable. would definitely recommend it and would love to attend any future events by the chef.

October 2013

Grub Club: ‘Elements’ by Kitchen Theory

Everything was perfect. Food was fun and very imaginative but more importantly tasty!
I shall definitely be recommending it to anyone who will listen. A hell of a lot of effort was put in to the evening and it certainly paid off. Top marks!

Eoin

October 2013

Grub Club: 'Elements’ by Kitchen Theory

Thoroughly enjoyed my evening at Elements by Kitchen Theory. The food was wonderful, weird at times, but always well thought through and creative. For the average Londoner who is now bored of burgers and in need of a bit of foodie inspiration. it was so refreshing to eat food that was different, new and exciting.

A must for any foodie!

On top of that, the venue was lovely - intimate with nice decor. The service was fantastic and attentive, and the pairing wine menu was a welcome addition as I would normally have 1 wine per meal.

October 2013

Grub Club: 'Elements’ by Kitchen Theory

The evening overall was ok but it just lacked the calibre it promised. Most courses were fine but only one stood out for me (the mushroom porridge). I get what the organisers were aiming for but I don't think they really nailed it- it just wasn't that interesting. It was also mostly things that didn't need to be chewed, by the time we got to the one course that had something substantial to it we were desperate to use our teeth! One dish I have to mention is the lemon/olive one. I'm sorry to say it was pretty vile. I understand how the two flavours should work together (and I've tried many dishes where they do) but this was completely off. The lemon was way too sharp (from someone who doesn't like sweet lemon desserts) and the olive much too salty. the texture of the dehydrated olive on top was also not very nice with what was underneath. The wine matching was lovely though...

All in all, I think we paid a bit too much for what we ended up with- I've rated 3 stars but would have liked to put 2.5.

October 2013

Grub Club: 'Elements’ by Kitchen Theory

Love the idea of the menu and the food was delicious. The best dessert I ever had!