Overall rating:

78 ratings, 78 reviews

August 2017

Grub Club: IRAQI BBQ POP-UP!

My first Iraqi BBQ experience! The food was lovely - special mention for lamb that was super tasty all across (in 2 different dishes). Timing could be improved but all in all great first shot
Weather surprisingly cold for Mid August, except in England probably, but this is the only thing we cannot influence

August 2017

Grub Club: Letters From Baghdad Film Supperclub

Chef Juma's meals were the best I've ever tried in the U.K.

August 2017

Grub Club: Letters From Baghdad Film Supperclub

Delicious cocktail and food and v friendly chef. Venue was a bit stuffy (lack of air) and the dessert was an acquired taste! V good film. An enjoyable evening.

August 2017

Grub Club: Letters From Baghdad Film Supperclub

The cinema room was a little warm. The food was excellent!

August 2017

Grub Club: Letters From Baghdad Film Supperclub

Phil Juma is amazing, all the food was truly stunning and it was quite literally the best kanafa I have ever eaten! The film was also excellent.

August 2017

Grub Club: IRAQI BBQ POP-UP!

great cultural and culinary experience

August 2017

Grub Club: IRAQI BBQ POP-UP!

it was delish, Philip and the team made us feel welcome, small and intimate with ample food!

May 2017

Grub Club: JUMA pop-up

Incredible food with delicate yet full flavours. Delicious!

May 2017

Grub Club: JUMA pop-up

thoroughly enjoyed the food, beautifully presented.

May 2017

Grub Club: JUMA pop-up

Excellent food and lovely thought out menu, well done Philip.

May 2017

Grub Club: JUMA pop-up

Food was absolutely amazing. As was everything else!

May 2017

Grub Club: JUMA pop-up

what a fun evening!

May 2017

Grub Club: JUMA pop-up

Great evening with delicious well presented food. The staff at the Venue all very friendly & helpful.

May 2017

Grub Club: JUMA pop-up

Awesome food with great company!

May 2017

Grub Club: JUMA pop-up

Amazing food!! Brilliant atmosphere!! The best host! All round a fantastic evening!

April 2017

Grub Club: JUMA back in South West!

Great food

April 2017

Grub Club: JUMA back in South West!

Amazing food thank you

April 2017

Grub Club: JUMA back in South West!

Wonderful evening! Delicious food, great company.

April 2017

Grub Club: JUMA back in South West!

An amazing evening. Food was outstanding for every course. The levels of flavour in each course were so carefully thought out, delicately spiced and really fragrant. Absolutely delicious. Service was brilliant too.
A fantastic evening. We will definitely be back. Thank you, Phil!

April 2017

Grub Club: JUMA back in South West!

Fantasic evening. Very impressed with the presentation, on Iraqi food. Loved it all.
A huge well done.

March 2017

Grub Club: JUMA pop-up

The food was great with the tamarind & date syrup probably being my favourite! The venue was really nice and we met some lovely people. Looking forward to attending another one!

March 2017

Grub Club: JUMA pop-up

I thought everything was fantastic, the food was amazing and the the location and the fact it wasn't too noisy

March 2017

Grub Club: JUMA pop-up

Amazing food from start to finish!

February 2017

Grub Club: JUMA pop-up (part 2)

The best evening out iv had in a while, fantastic food and ambience, the attention to flavour was incredible, we will certainly be coming back

January 2017

Grub Club: JUMA pop-up (part 2)

Thank you for being a great host. Looking forward to many more successful dishes.

January 2017

Grub Club: JUMA pop-up (part 2)

Philip Juma is an absolutely incredible chef! This remains our favourite food experience in London and we will keep visiting his events!

January 2017

Grub Club: JUMA's birthday supperclub

Delicious and innovative menu in trendy surroundings

January 2017

Grub Club: JUMA's birthday supperclub

Phenomenal night. Phil is such a talented chef: creative, talented and generous. The food was delicious, delicate and well balanced, and the atmosphere was great. Phil is always a great host and it's great having him come around to speak to him at the end of the meal. Highly recommended.

January 2017

Grub Club: JUMA's birthday supperclub

Great venue, excellent food and overall a lovely evening!

January 2017

Grub Club: JUMA's birthday supperclub

Loved it - thank you so much!

January 2017

Grub Club: JUMA's birthday supperclub

Stellar food (best starter and entree I have ever had) and excellent location - fish was underdone for a few, but that seemed more a limitation for the kitchen on location. Would definitely attend again.

Location was really wonderful. A bit daunting, specially since everyone seemed to know each other already, and got quite rowdy and loud near the end.

Also ran a bit late! Useful to know if you are travelling to London and have to keep an eye on the trains.

January 2017

Grub Club: JUMA's birthday supperclub

Excellent evening all round. Amazingly comfortable and relaxed venue. Very competent and accomplished cooking indeed.

January 2017

Grub Club: JUMA's birthday supperclub

Lovely venue. Good start. The starter and first course delicious.

July 2016

Grub Club: Iraqi Pop-Up

Great authentic Iraqi food & a remarkable experience.. Will certainly repeat it. Thanks Juma.

June 2016

Grub Club: Iraqi Pop-Up

Philip Juma's food is always completely delicious, and beautifully presented. I enjoyed trying dishes (especially the sauces) and the cosy atmosphere of Stereo 92. His modern take on traditional Iraqi fare was applauded by the Iraqi diner at my table! Bravo

June 2016

Grub Club: Iraqi Pop-Up

A class act. The entire evening was executed with flair and it was such a pleasure to have a truly rich and delicious insight into Iraqi cuisine.
As a keen cook it was fascinating to chat with Philip at the end of the evening and the whole experience had a real family meal - albeit a particularly exquisite one - vibe. Shukran kteer, Chef Philip; we'll certainly be back!

June 2016

Grub Club: Iraqi Pop-Up

Phil Juma did an outstanding job - evening was real fun!

June 2016

Grub Club: Iraqi Pop-Up

Great food, great location.

June 2016

Grub Club: Iraqi Pop-Up

Delicious food and great experience, Thanks

June 2016

Grub Club: Iraqi Pop-Up

Wonderful evening, incredible quality food and lovelycombination of dishes. I was lucky enough to sit next to 2 welcoming and friendly guys, so I had new and interesting conversation to compliment my food.
Thank you!

June 2016

Grub Club: Iraqi Pop-up

divine food!

June 2016

Grub Club: Iraqi Pop-up

Amazing food and great atmosphere - loved it!

June 2016

Grub Club: Iraqi Pop-up

Great meal, really opened my eyes to Iraqi food. Really good value for money across 5 tasty courses. Thanks!

June 2016

Grub Club: Iraqi Pop-up

Great food, beautiful and delicious, thoughtful and precise, just like my mum used to cook. Only comment is the table was a bit cramped but when this guy opens his ow place inshallah one day that will get sorted! Thank you.

June 2016

Grub Club: Iraqi Pop-up

Great!

June 2016

Grub Club: Iraqi Pop-up

This is the second time I attend an Iraqi Grub Club. The food was amaaaazing (as it was last time). Philip and his staff were great hosts and the ambience was fun and friendly. The venue this time wasn't as good as last time as the seating was quite tight. But overall it was tasty food and great experience.

June 2016

Grub Club: Iraqi Pop-up

great food, great people

April 2016

Grub Club: Iraqi Supperclub

An excellent meal - delicious in every course, beautifully crafted, and a feast for the eyes and senses. A perfect introduction to Iraqi food which has set the bar very high! It was really lovely of the chef to present the main course and come out at the end of the meal to thank all the guests individually.

April 2016

Grub Club: Iraqi Supperclub

Fantastic evening. Food was exquisite, the flavours in each dish were amazing. Service was faultless, enough time left between courses. Will be at the next one. Thank you!

April 2016

Grub Club: Iraqi Supperclub

Excellent food, great evening

April 2016

Grub Club: Iraqi Supperclub

Iraqi cuisine is here to stay. Restaurant soon please! Awesome night.

April 2016

Grub Club: Iraqi Supperclub

We had a fantastic evening - met some lovely people and ate a faultless feast - each course had several interesting and delicious facets to it - flavours bursting through with each bite - just as you imagine a pop-up experience should be! Philip is obviously very passionate about what he does and chatted to us which added to the enjoyment of the meal.

April 2016

Grub Club: Iraqi Supperclub

know the Cafe well, so always knew it was going to be a bit tight...we arrived about 10 mins after kick-off and our request to be seated together (5 pax) had gone awry, but that was sorted, so not a big deal...like the company (Philip's cousin!) food great...may split the serving dish for main meal into two (one for each half of the table) - shame tube train gig is sold out already...had a great time

March 2016

Grub Club: IRAQI supperclub

It was so exciting to try Iraqi dishes that I know and love with Phil's original twists. Each course was totally delicious and his passion for the cuisine was clear from both the food and the effort he made to chat with guests after the meal. Thanks for a great night!

March 2016

Grub Club: IRAQI supperclub

Me and my friend had a fantastic time at Juma Kitchen. The food was delicious and the atmosphere and other diners made for a really fun evening. The only small complaint was that the location wasn't super comfortable and it was a bit chilly on a cold March evening. Other than that it was a fabulous experience and I'd love to eat the food all over again!

March 2016

Grub Club: IRAQI supperclub

We're two native Iraqis living in London and found this evening to be excellent. Phillip manages to get the best from some old school recipes and gives them his own unique touch. Top dish of the night was the knafah - truly exceptional! Shukran!

March 2016

Grub Club: IRAQI supperclub

Excellent event, the food was delicious. Service was very professional. Highly recommend checking Juma Kitchen out.

March 2016

Grub Club: IRAQI supperclub

Had a great time at Iraqi Supper club. Interesting, tasty flavours, fresh ingredients and beautiful presentation. Philip is very passionate about what he does and this is reflected in his delicious food. My first experience of Iraqi food and I will definitely be back!

March 2016

Grub Club: IRAQI supperclub

The food was good, and interesting to try something different - especially liked the flowers in some of the dishes as they added really unique flavours. The portion sizes were quite modest, and were smaller than previously, but this isn't necessarily a negative as it's nice not to feel overstuffed! We were sat on a table with friends and a lovely couple, so good to meet and chat with some new people.
For me the one drawback was the location, it was hosted in a really small restaurant in Brixton village, and it was all just a bit cramped. We were seated outside, which was quite cold at this time of year despite the mini heater, and also our table was overfull which meant we were all struggling to cut our food a bit. Also there are only public loos in Brixton Village, which are a little walk away and paid for. I think a cosier, indoor venue would have been much better and provided a cosier atmosphere.

March 2016

Grub Club: IRAQI supperclub

We definitely loved our bubbly table, everyone was pumped to try the delicious sounding menu. We ordered our drinks, waited patiently... and were not disappointing :) The starter was a delicious mix of saffron sauce, tender chicken and melt in your mouth potato gratin, all we needed more was some bread to sop up the sauce and clean the plates! Next up were lamb dumplings in rich tomato sauce with veggies and some crispy onions? We were delighted by the combination of textures, quite possible we scraped our plates clean. As conversation flowed now more lavishly at our table, we felt smug to be part of such a exotic night out. The next dish served was a plate half full with a wonderful green salad, an onion, small pepper and grape leave stuffed with lamb mince and rice. Add to that two tender lamb chops and we were suddenly silent, noshing away. The grand finale was the dessert, a combination of cream and cream cheese, baked a la souffle in a bain marie, with a crisp top of shredded filo pastry, pistachio's, and rose petals, with the wonderful aroma of flower blossom- this was a rare and fun dessert. The melted combination of the cream and cheese formed long stringy bits which we had fun trying to eat without looking like pigs.
After dinner our Chef came to thank us for coming, which was a wonderful touch, and we just had to congratulate him on the menu choice, as all in all we enjoyed ourselves enormously and had quite a bit of a laugh, while having superb food.
This should definitely be on your To-Do list!

July 2015

Grub Club: Iraqi Supperclub

Great venue, great food - sat with native Iraqis who reported the food was truly authentic and of the highest standard. Thanks.

July 2015

Grub Club: Iraqi Supperclub

Philip is not just an excellent chef, but a gregarious and skilled host. The atmosphere was friendly and open, with guests from every walk of life. I'll definitely come again and bring friends.

Thank you, Philip, for a wonderful evening and for opening my eyes to Iraqi cuisine!

June 2015

Grub Club: Iraqi Supperclub

Great evening and delicious food - especially the saffron chicken. Thank you

June 2015

Grub Club: Iraqi Supperclub

Really nice venue. Food was just spectacular, those delicious dolmas felt like a big warm hug.

May 2015

Grub Club: Iraqi Supperclub

Excellent food, very efficient service, great location.

May 2015

Grub Club: Iraqi Supperclub

The food was delicious and fresh. I would definitely recommend this evening.

May 2015

Grub Club: Iraqi Supperclub

Fantastic food from Philip

May 2015

Grub Club: Iraqi Supperclub

You can see the Michelin Training in Philip's cooking! Fantastic feast - For the price I thought there was a lot of food and each course was exquisite. The chicken was my favourite course. Will be back soon - Iraqi BBQ?

May 2015

Grub Club: Iraqi Supperclub

Fantastic evening! Loved the food, the ambiance the location... had never tried Iraqi cuisine before but was very pleasantly surprised.

May 2015

Grub Club: Iraqi Supperclub

Great night- thanks Phillip!

May 2015

Grub Club: Iraqi Supperclub

The second time we've been to this supper club and venue @ The Jam Tree, Old Town, Clapham Common. Delicious food as usual. . Full of Mediterranean flavours and gentle spices - it was a delight to sample Philips' home style cooking again. We had such an inthreshing group of people at our table with non stop chatter, taking about shared and similar experiences, from around the world. A really, great night. Highly recommended Juma's Kitchen for a fun night out!

May 2015

Grub Club: Iraqi Supperclub

Incredible evening! Food was fantastic - so creative and delicate, with subtle saffron fragrances and unique blends of spices, like I've never had before. What a special introduction to Iraqi food!
The staff were so attentive and friendly, topped by Phil himself taking the time to individually come to speak to each and every one of us at the end of the meal.
A truly special and memorable night. Thank you!

May 2015

Grub Club: Iraqi Supperclub

A big thank you to the chef and all his helpers for all their hard work.

The food was quite enjoyable. The welcome drink I was given was alcoholic, even though I had mentioned while booking that I didn't drink. However, when it did arrive (after 20 minutes), it was lip-smacking. The first and second courses were amazing and the dessert delicious, though too rich. The lamb chop could've done with a spice rub. It felt a bit bland compared to the accompanying stuffed peppers and onions, which were very good.

Service was quite laidback and the room was so loud that we came out at the end of the night not knowing the names of any of the people at our table, which was a pity.

All in all, not for those looking for an intimate home-style supperclub.

April 2015

Grub Club: Iraqi Supperclub

Amazing Iraqi food cooked by Philip and his team in the kitchen. Front of house we were well looked after and the food kept coming at just the right pace...Highly recommend and we will be sure to book to come back again for more of Philip creations :-)

April 2015

Grub Club: Iraqi Supperclub

Completely delicious and beautifully prepared food. It is definitely an art to put together all the flavours of the Middle East and keep it light - nothing was heavy, but all beautifully balanced. Phil also came out and introduced himself to all the guests which gives the whole experience that extra sparkle. If you haven't been already then book quick - tickets for this one go like hot honey cakes on a cold day. We'll definitely be back!

April 2015

Grub Club: Iraqi Supperclub

A great evening of delicious food and friendly people!

April 2015

Grub Club: Iraqi Supperclub

What a wonderful evening. The food was fragrant and flavoursome, beautifully presented. I knew very little about the cuisine and after last nights taste sensation I'll be seeking Iraqi food out. Great to meet the chef who was so enthusiastic and friendly. Sat with some interesting people and we were chatting so much I only heard the great music half way through. Would certainly reccomend.

February 2015

Grub Club: JUMA @ The Jam Tree

We were taken on an amazing culinary tour by Philip Juma and we can't wait for his next grubclub. Not having had Iraqi cuisine before, this was a discovery for us. The food was diverse and beautiful, and the atmosphere was lively and fun. It felt like the banquet of a wedding! We also appreciated Phillip coming around to every table to greet his guests, 60 of them! Don't miss this one!