Overall rating:

6 ratings, 13 reviews

December 2013
Grub Club: Culinary Tours of Deptford

My husband and I really enjoyed our introduction to Afro Caribbean food. Shopping together on Deptford High Street to start was really educational and fun - we were introduced to many ingredients we had never seen before! Cooking together was great too - really well taught, and brilliant to all get to eat what we had created at the end. So tasty! All in all a brilliant day, and it is definitely going to get us using our local high street more often.

December 2013

Grub Club: Culinary Tours of Deptford

I enjoyed this trip to the food shops/stalls in Deptford High Street - it was fascinating to discover the wide range of food which is on sale here. The organisers were enthusiastic and knowledgeable. Cooking our food purchases was a bit rushed but fun and the results were tasty. I shall be using the recipes again and making the effort to visit Deptford High Street to buy food.

December 2013
Grub Club: Culinary Tours of Deptford

Such a great way to explore, learn about AND support the history of this part of London. Ian was an amazing chef who had personal stories to tell about the market and its evolution. The workshop was run wonderfully, making sure to keep us happy and fed the entire time, and ended with a delicious and creative meal :)

December 2013
Grub Club: Culinary Tours of Deptford

This was a great cookery course. The combination of discovering new ingredients and learning how to make a three course meal from them was informative and really good fun. Highly recommended!

December 2013

Grub Club: Culinary Tours of Deptford

What a fab morning finding out about new ingredients and actually getting to practice what to put together to create a fine Caribbean feast. Loved it all and would definitely consider doing more.

December 2013

Grub Club: Culinary Tours of Deptford

This was such an amazing Saturday. I've lived locally for years but this was the first time that I really explored Deptford. The market was amazing and it was an absolute pleasure to have a local chef really show us what was on offer and what dishes you could cook ingredients in. We then returned to the lounge and had a chance to cook a three course meal. The instruction, support and outcome were all fantastic. Thanks to the amazing team and Vanessa for putting this together for us. I'll definitely be back to Deptford High Street soon!

October 2013
Grub Club: Culinary Tours of Deptford

The event was run mostly by Groundnut- a group of 3 really friendly and amazingly-knowledgeable guys. We got a nice little tour (plus introductions to shop members) of their favorite shops and then returned to the Albany theatre to cook up our three dishes (with a take-home booklet of our 3 recipes). It was a good mix of socializing and actually doing, with a nice bit of wine and an amazingly spiced lunch at the end. I would do this every week if I could!

September 2013
Grub Club: Culinary Tours of Deptford

A fantastic way to learn more about Deptford and its high street and to meet friendly neighbours.

July 2013

Grub Club: Culinary Tours of Deptford

I can't rate this day highly enough. Everything was 100% fab, the street tour and the knowledge of our guide/cook was superb, so it was very easy to get excited about subject when you see your teacher to be so passionate about his subject. I would be happy to take part in any other cookery classes if space ever become available.

July 2013
Grub Club: Culinary Tours of Deptford

Really enjoyed this tour with Craig from the House of Umami who was an amazing source of knowledge about fish and then showed us how to make two delicious fish dishes! Very well organised too, would highly recommend these tours to food lovers and Deptford market has everything you could possibly want for a very reasonable price!