Overall rating:

5 ratings, 9 reviews

May 2013

Grub Club: Greek Meze's Greek Easter

My first experience of Greek Easter, the Grub Club and the Doodle Bar and I have to say I loved all three!
Great speedy food in a unique setting with a really nice authentic team.

May 2013

Grub Club: Greek Meze's Greek Easter

Great food , lovely setting and great hosts as always

May 2013

Grub Club: Greek Meze's Greek Easter

The food was great, as always - the lamb cooked just right, the meatballs and kokoretsi done exactly as in the old country. The lovely, simple chopped salad, home-style roast potatoes and dollop of cool tzatziki rounded out the savoury portion of the meal quite nicely. Dessert was as it should - diced watermelon and mango as well as some sweet-cheese pastries that offset one another wonderfully.

A for the venue, the Doodle Bar is, spacious, bright, and just rough enough around the edges to make it interesting. The bar itself is well-stocked and the barristas super-polite and helpful.

I had a lovely time at this -as with all previous- Meze's pop-up events, which makes me wonder: can I have some more please?

May 2013
Grub Club: Greek Meze's Greek Easter

This event was terrible! There was nothing Greek about it. Just a half Greek posh boy trying to 'give my interpretation of Greek Easter'. There was zero atmosphere ad he 'didn't want to Greek it up too much'! Honey celebrating Greek style is about community, sharing, laughing, socializing, music, dancing and fun. What a massive disappointment.

March 2013

Grub Club: A Lenten Feast - 16:30

The food was amazing! One day later and i am still dreaming of the delicious octapus and mouth-watering loukoumades (deep-fried dough balls drizzled with honey)!

March 2013
Grub Club: A Lenten Feast - 12:30

This event was great value and I was served the best food I'd had in ages. 16 delicious courses of seafood and salads and a really friendly atmosphere. Highly recommend it.

March 2013
Grub Club: A Lenten Feast - 16:30

My initial concern at the price for Meze's latest event (£25) was obliterated by the endless supply of delicious dishes that just kept on coming, not to mention the lovely setup and friendly service.

The steady flow of excellently executed Greek recipes with a handful of foreign flourishes kept the palate constantly entertained and the belly bursting with contentment.

The Meze team created a cosy and comfortable atmosphere. The 'event' was more a festive family feast than a 'night out'. For the Greeks in the room it was a homecoming and for the rest, no less than a revelation.

Good times, as always.

March 2013
Grub Club: A Lenten Feast - 12:30

The food and company were great. Grilled octopus and the winkles were highlights!