Overall rating:

14 ratings, 20 reviews

November 2013

Grub Club: Feed Your Soul Supper Heroes

I attended the Northern lights supper club in Brixton, and had an amazing time. From the warm welcome by the girls, Bex and Beth, to the well thought out and tasty food. Not to mention the Icelandic Vodka, which should be served at every future event! It is the chance to dine, drink and meet people in the cosy and informal atmosphere that makes this a winner, and the large amount of work sourcing the ingredients, decorations and set up is all from the heart. Plus its all for charity, so what's not to like??

Skål!

November 2013

Grub Club: Feed Your Soul Supper Heroes

A totally fabulous evening!

The food was fantastic, with flavoursome and unusual tastes - from cucumber sorbet to glogg (mulled wine).

The setting was also superb, with the house decked out in Scandinavian splendour.

To top it all off there was great company, both from the other adventurous guests, and the inspired (and inspiring) hosts!

Brilliant!

November 2013
Grub Club: Feed Your Soul Supper Heroes

I've never felt so at home as a stranger in an 'alien' land. My sense of affinity with my would-be supper pals fomented some time before myself and husband even arrived at this twinkly wonderland: A bunch of cheerful foodies were opening their home to twenty-four Londoners they probably didn't know from Aron. They would be preparing a procession of locally-sourced delicacies in their own kitchen, then feeding them to us for many hours. The profits from this £30-a-head bundle of joy would then go to charity. What's not to warmly anticipate?

There were literally no disappointments. Of course the guests were chatty, open and often hilarious; no-one grumpy could possibly sign up to something like this. On arrival we were dosed with a mess-mug of steaming gløgg (a super sweet Swedish dried fruit and port-propelled mulled wine) and ushered to a heated garden where the mingling began among the snowed up ivy and tiers of illuminated Bonsai spruces. I felt like I'd arrived at a small, tasteful wedding at a remote Nordic lodge.

The attention to detail was captivating: Even a trip to the loo was fun, with Sami and other trad-clad Scandinavian 'relatives' smiling out from all the picture frames lining the staircase.

And a sly stroll past the kitchen window gave a preview of the behind-the-scenes industry: around half a dozen chefs variously slither-slicing home-cured gravadlax, arranging piles of plaited spiced bread and rustic rye crackers, and precision-plating assorted pickles and rollmops. It was getting a bit too exciting. The chilly fisk-u-copia I'd sought out on a recent Northern Lights hunt in Norway was soon to be relived. I urgently seized a place at the lovely long candlelit table, clothed in white embroidered linen and cute glass goblets, and started to get to know my neighbours.

All well and good. Then arrived my aptly paired oily dill fishes, with vinegary radish, cucumber and beetroot, and a sweet dollop of Swedish mustard sauce. A huge basket of Rugbrød (Danish crisp rye bread), was passed around. I ate each element of my 'Entre platter', along with a new friend's rejected 'glasmastarsill' (Swedish glassblower's herring). What was wrong with her?

Then followed what an aproned host bonnily described as a 'cheeky shot' of 'Skal with Reyka': purest Icelandic vodka. I don't normally like voddy, but I registered the quality for the 15 seconds it misted my mouth like a hot spring.

Then I spooned down a hurrah of a bowl of stewed hare, chestnut and juniper with Danish 'brun kartofler', a sort of fondant potato filled with a thoughtful meaty stuffing.

My palate was then successfully cleansed (twice) by a bright minty cucumber sorbet, laced with the herby Skandy tipple Aqvavit.

'Dessert platter' was a sharing board of rarities arranged around a centrepiece of that alluring sweet plait I spotted in the kitchen window, cardamom-charged 'pulla bread', which had been given a crown of mini-flags in tribute to the five nations we were celebrating.

Out of everyone nearby I was the most delighted with the presence of fudgy cubes of 'Gudbrandsdalen mesost', a cheese which the Norwegians conjure by first caramelising whey. For me it has everything: it is sweet, sharp, rich and deep. This was a bit of a Marmite item on our table, with some picking off the adorning chunk of toffeed pecans to coo over without its uber-dairy partnership. I artfully perfected the combo by stacking on a raspberry from the scatter of fresh fruits. My continuing journey around the board was thrilling: on the northwest corner were pizza slices of homemade Leipajuusto, Finnish 'squeeky cheese'. These were drooled with sherbety jam made from Arctic cloudberries, the peach melba-coloured clustering fruits which are so revered in those parts. As I downed my last mouthful: a chestnut-cream-filled brandy snap, I pondered my chances of becoming obese in one night.

Applause for the lovely people who pulled together to create such a fine evening. Unfortunately, we failed to maintain the standards of decorum later on, after recruiting two of the most exuberant guests for more drinks back at our home, conveniently located just around the corner...

November 2013
Grub Club: Feed Your Soul Supper Heroes

What can I say.. Food Amazing, Company Amazing and the whole evening was an absolute joy!

November 2013

Grub Club: Feed Your Soul Supper Heroes

i have never been to a grub club event before so i didnt really know what to expect, when we arrived we were greeted with a very friendly welcome and mug of warm Glögg. great start. we then had some time to mingle with the other guests in a beautifully decorated room filled with fairy lights and a cosy fire. we sat down to an absolutely delicious dinner filled with a variety of delightful things.. (including a few vokda shots between courses..). i really enjoyed the evening and would definitely recommend it, such a great place to enjoy wonderful food (how the girls make so much of it so beautifully is beyond me) with lovely people.

September 2013

Grub Club: Feed Your Soul with The Orient Express

This was such a fab evening....these girls had paid so much attention to detail
...from the vintage luggage in the hallway/train platform to the sounds of the train rattling through the countryside to the clean crisp opulence portrayed by the crockery, cutlery, velvet and lighting. We were greeted by orient express waitresses explaining the cocktail and showing us through into Paris, our first stop (in the garden). All this clever and subtle detail continued as we ate our way through the other cities sampling absolutely delicious and creative food presented with utmost finesse....as we would all expect from the orient express! The most lovely thing was the separate and just as creative vegetarian menu they had. It was truly yummy and wonderful to not feel left out of the cullinary experience. We had a wonderful evening with such friendly hosts and guests. Thanks feed your soul! Another cracker of an evening!

September 2013

Grub Club: Feed Your Soul with The Orient Express

What a fabulous evening. We ate our way from Paris to Venice, Belgrade and Istanbul – four courses of truly delicious food. By the time we reached dessert, already blissfully full, we were all just gazing at the team of lovely people who were feeding and looking after us, in awe. There was not only rose ice cream and quince, but afterwards, Turkish coffee – served in the garden – with dates filled with orange water and pistachio. Heaven! Yet another delicious detail, on a night where it felt like everything had been thought of. We could not get over how they managed to make it all so decadent - everyone came away feeling they'd been seriously spoilt - while still raising the amount they did for Kids Co.

September 2013

Grub Club: Feed Your Soul with The Orient Express

Incredible food, brilliant ambiance, met some lovely people and had an all round excellent night - and best bit was that it was all for a brilliant cause! Thanks Ladies, will come to next one for sure!xx

September 2013

Grub Club: Feed Your Soul with The Orient Express

Amazing evening all around. The house was transformed into a platform and stylish dining car. Food was so impressive and loved idea of having a course for every stop. The attention to detail really made it. Definitely coming back and would recommend in a flash.

September 2013

Grub Club: Feed Your Soul with The Orient Express

I was overwhelmed by how amazing the Feed Your Soul team were.

As soon as I arrived, the whole place was decorated in the style of the Orient Express and everyone was in the most incredible costumes.

We were greeted with a delicious - and potent!! - champagne cocktail and went into the back garden to meet the other guests.

Dinner was served promptly. Each dish was amazing - the scallops and the salad from Paris, and the slow cooked fish from Venice were all fantastic but the slow-cooked bean stew with a smoked sausage, along with the homemade bread, all from Belgrade, were out of this world and I still dream of them now. Pudding was also delicious - I'd never eaten poached quince and it was amazing; it went perfectly with the homemade rose ice cream.

After an incredible dinner which was not only delicious but really fun and served in such style, the Feed Your Soul team gave a great talk, with background on Kids Company. It's amazing that we had such a great night and that through this, they managed to raise £400. Seriously impressive.

Dinner was finished off with the best stuffed dates I've ever had - stuffed with pistachio, almond and with a hint of orange blossom. It went perfect with the beautifully made mint tea, which we had in the back garden, in a beautiful Istanbul setting.

The whole evening was magical and I was bowled over by every level of detail that was paid to the night. I met some fantastic people and had one of the best dinners I've had in a very long time.

I cannot recommend this enough! Thank you Feed Your Soul team. It's a night I won't forget

June 2013
Grub Club: Feed Your Soul: Arabian Nights

The whole evening was a delight! These super friendly and welcoming hostesses had clearly thought of everything....we dined in Arabian splendour, tasted such flavoursome and creative combinations with great authenticity, and it was extra special that the hostesses told us about the fantastic work of The Aire Centre and their passion for food from all over the world which had inspired their concept. I particularly liked their connections with Best Before and their attention to not wasting food and using all from Nose to Tail! Love this ethos! Can't wait for the next one.....they attracted such a friendly crowd.

June 2013
Grub Club: Feed Your Soul: Arabian Nights

As my first supper club event, I was a little nervous arriving at the venue, but form the start the hosts made us feel welcome with a cocktail and nibbles around the outdoor firepit. The venue was decorated inside and out in exotic fabrics and ornaments, Lawrence of Arabia projected on the wall, and the hosts were wearing appropriately festive clothing which immediately evoked a feeling of something special and different. It was a true success! From the layout of the room, interesting information given about them, the supporters and the charities involved. But the hightlight, as it should be, was the utterly delicious food presented to us around the table with us guests passing huge plates of aubergine, spiced carrot dip, marinated lamb amongst other dishes to each other. I loved this interactive approach and helped to get us all talking, and inevitably laughing and enjoying a fabulous evening. For first timers, they did themselves proud and would definietly recommend attending the next themed dinner! Thank you.

June 2013
Grub Club: Feed Your Soul: Arabian Nights

Feed Your Soul ladies were incredible, their food was delicious, the theme was magical and knowing that it all went to a good cause just topped everything off. I would definitely go again. Being veggie & having a food allergy, they were also extra considerate with me and kept an eye on me all night, thank you :)

June 2013

Grub Club: Feed Your Soul: Arabian Nights

This was my first grub club experience and I'm really excited about attending more. The hosts were super friendly and accommodating, the food was flowing and with so many different choices no one was disappointed. I really hope these lovely girls do another grub club soon!

June 2013
Grub Club: Feed Your Soul: Arabian Nights

Great evening with wonderful food and atmosphere. Cannot say a bad word.

June 2013

Grub Club: Feed Your Soul: Arabian Nights

Delicious food, and lots of it! Had a reallu good evening-thanks!