Overall rating:

101 ratings, 109 reviews

January 2018

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club - January

Yet another fantastic EDSC and will be back again soon!

December 2017

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club - December

Our first visit to the Supper Club, and a very enjoyable one. The whole event was friendly, with a good atmosphere, and we were made very welcome. The food lived up to expectations, the service was attentive, and we were pleased to be able to support the development of Suzanne's less experienced staff, all of whom rose well to the challenge. We hope to be back!

December 2017

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club - December

Fantastic night as ever, fabulous food, great company and we loved the new venue!

December 2017

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club - December

A great night of food in a lovely setting

December 2017

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club - December

Another fantastic evening. Fab service and food, thank you.

November 2017

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club - November

We had a wonderful time at our first supper club and will definitely be back. The food was all excellent and we were so well looked after. It was also a lovely way to meet other local people and conversation flowed round the tables.

November 2017

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club - November

Amazing EDSC! Food was excellent and the Gin mulled wine was something else!!

November 2017

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club - November

Fabulous food, location , service , and all round fun

November 2017

Grub Club: Save the Rhino's Supper Club

The food was absolutely superb, the welcome cocktails and wine (not often included in these events) were generous and very good, the cause absolutely deserving, and the conversation wonderful, what nice interesting people! Suzanne and all her team donated their time and the ingredients came free too so all the money, every penny, went to the rhino sanctuary. Incredible!

October 2017

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club - October

The food was of the exceptionally high standard always delivered by Suzanne and her team. The canapés were delicious and the service all evening was warm, friendly, attentive and yet relaxed. The new space is superb - congratulations Suzanne on a great concept.

September 2017

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club - The Return

Wonderful food and company.

There is a problem with the venue . It cannot adequately accommodate 36 people
It is too noisy. We couldn't talk as a group of even four people. It was quite difficult to talk with one other person.

The seating was also challenging. Benches with too little space and no back support.

Perhaps half the number of people with chairs and table cloths would be comfortable, but that might challenge the economics.

I am sad about this.

The Filippo Berio olive oil, balsamic vinegar and pesto was very generous

September 2017

Grub Club: The East Dulwich Supper Club - The Return

Fabulous evening. I am lactose intolerant but I didn't feel I missed out. They provided an amazing choice. Great service. The space was a bit echoey but I know she intends to have less people next time. Definitely want to go to the next one.

September 2017

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club - The Return

"The Return" of EDSC to it new venue "fifty seven" was hugely popular, selling out for all 3 nights. The conversion of the previous shop to an event space has been tastefully done with the main space in the old shop, and a secondary space at the bottom of the garden, inevitably nicknamed "The Shed", although 3 or 4 times the size of you average shed, and was where cocktails were served. In between the garden had been tastefully paved, adorned with candles, and was a good space to mingle, chat, and grab the passing canape.

The seating was either side of 3 refectory tables, with 6 either side on hard wooden benches, was, to put it bluntly, thigh crushingly cramped. Inevitably one is bound to compare the old and new EDSC experience. I had hoped that with much less stainless steel around that the noise level would be less, and that you could hold a conversation with the person opposite, but it was not, and you could not. If you were on the end of a bench, as indeed 12 of the 36 guests were, if the person next to you was talking to their other neighbour, you were out in the conversational cold. So for me the old venue, which was far from perfect, wins, and I think the new seating needs a big re-think.

The food, as ever, was delightful although, inevitably, not as hot as if it had come straight from the kitchen. I loved the crostini starters, and the gilded tiramisu desert, but much as I like cod, and am delighted to hear that it is no longer endangered, it never was big on flavour. I recall one writer describing it as "it is an almost completely tasteless protein, like tofu" and whilst I would not go quite that far I do think it benefits from a good strong sauce or herb crust, and some non watery vegetables, if is to feature as a dinner party main.

I think that fifty seven will be a success as an event space, I could well use it for my next birthday party, but I suspect that 30 sitting down is the max for that configuration.

September 2017

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club - The Return

My first supper club and so glad I went; lovely cocktails, canapés and delicious food. Just a shame that it was only possible to hear the person immediately next to you.

September 2017

Grub Club: The East Dulwich Supper Club - The Return

Fabulous supper club. Beautiful decor. Gorgeous food and cocktails. I can't wait for the next one!

September 2017

Grub Club: The East Dulwich Supper Club - The Return

Great to be back with the supper club. Food was excellent as always and it felt like a real celebration. The new venue looks amazing-especially the outside area and the 57 team was attentive, warm and welcoming. The Italian theme worked well and the goody bag at the end of the evening was an extra touch.

March 2017

Grub Club: Filippo Berio East Dulwich Supper Club

Thank you Suzanne & team.

February 2017

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club

A nice evening with good food

February 2017

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club

Another fabulous evening. Thank you.

December 2016

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club December

Brilliant evening and young staff were super. Great pre-christmas dinner accompanied by some homemade goodies to take home. Wonderful.

November 2016

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club - On Tour - Queens House, Greenwich

A fantastic evening

November 2016

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club - On Tour - Queens House, Greenwich

Really lovely evening. Spectacular venue, lovely people, great team behind the event, amazing fireworks

October 2016

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club - October

All four of us had a great evening at the East Dulwich Supper Club. This was my third visit and the food was excellent yet again, as was the welcome and the relaxed atmosphere.

October 2016

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club - October

Yet another wonderful Supper Club by Suzanne and her amazing team.

September 2016

Grub Club: East Dulwich "Indian Summer" Supper Club

We have been to only a few of EDSC events but each has been a totally different experience but always 100% enjoyable. The cocktail and canapés delicious and generous, starter and main interesting combinations and tasty. Puddings fresh and mostly with a wow factor. A really fun unusual and value for money evening for just 2 or a small party. Highly recommended with Sue and staff smiley, friendly and all that you could wish on a local night out.

September 2016

Grub Club: East Dulwich "Indian Summer" Supper Club

Suzanne and her team continue to bust a gut to ensure that you have an enjoyable and memorable experience but labour against a singular disadvantage - their industrial setting - so many hard surfaces in such a confined space make it a very noisy place, so much so that it is difficult to hear the person next to you let alone that person opposite you. Yesterday's Indian meal was good, but not one of her best.

August 2016

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club - August

Fabulous as ever! Had a friend with me from up north and they want to come back to the next one - just shows how good the Supper Clubs are! Thank you.

August 2016

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club - August

Really enjoyed the experience and will be back.

August 2016

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club - August

Great evening, thank you Suzanne and team.

July 2016

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club with Filippo Berio

Really good evening interesting diners

July 2016

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club with Filippo Berio

What a lovely evening! This was our first Supper Club through Grub Club and it didn't disappoint! Everything was wonderful from the Aperol Spritz and canapés to start, the veal was the best I have ever tasted, to the delicious panna cotta, chocolate salami and affogato to end. We met some great people, loved dining in a working kitchen and took home a great olive oil goodie bag. We will definitely be back for another!

June 2016

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club - Midsummer Magic

My first time at a this supper club and impressed from the start. Extremely well organised, interesting group of people, and most importantly, gorgeous food! Atmosphere enhanced with the kitchen in full view which ran the entire length of the room. Team incredibly streamlined for cooking for group of about 30. An incredible impression left!

June 2016

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club - Midsummer Magic

Another fab evening. Thank you

June 2016

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club - Midsummer Magic

It was a delightful evening, the food was spectacular

May 2016

Grub Club: East Dulwich (Festival) Grub Club

Well..... What a fabulous evening, firstly catching up with an old Waverley school friend Suzanne (wow, what an inspiration are you...!) food and venue were fantastic - relaxed , informal , high end value for money.... Would thoroughly recommend !! ..... Great night X

May 2016

Grub Club: East Dulwich (Festival) Supper Club

I had a wonderful time at the East Dulwich Supper Club. Suzanne was so very welcoming and her and her staff's attention to detail was incredible. The ethos behind her business carried through to each dish which highlighted the best of local purveyors. I will definitely be making a return trip to this supper club in the future.

April 2016

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club - On Tour

We have been to the supper club before in East Dulwich. We were interested in seeing the Museum and booked for 4. The evening started with the always excellent Suzanne James canapes and cocktails served in the Museum gallery and then moved upstairs to an oak panelled dining room. Our party shared a table with another group of 6 and it was fun to meet new people. Starters of gavlax and then English asparagus were beautifully presented and delicious. The main course was roast lamb from Kent and was served medium rare which is my preference. I have seen a comment that portions were small but would say that the portion of lamb was very generous compared to most servings in restaurants. . Pudding was a deconstructed strawberry cheesecake I have issues with the fad of "deconstructing" well loved dishes which have survived the test of time but would say that the individual elements were well presented. Service from a predominantly young staff was attentive and well managed. The meal finished with coffee and tea.
Comments have been made about the location of the Museum . It is where it is and is in fact very convenient for Farringdon Station on the Thameslink . I would say it is a lovely venue for a special occasion and was glad to have had the opportunity to see the Museum..

April 2016

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club - On Tour

A lovely evening indeed. Waiter service was excellent. Food delicious.

April 2016

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club - On Tour

Gorgeous food, presentation and company in an incredible setting! Thank you for hosting us for such a special night!

April 2016

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club - On Tour

An amazing evening from start to finish! Incredible food in a fantastic setting - I would highly recommend!

April 2016

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club - On Tour

Suzanne & her team created a very generous & delicious meal
One observation I would make is our table would have either better if the pairs of ladies mixed I between the couples
Otherwise , great night

April 2016

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club - On Tour

Another great night, wonderful food and great location - however I do prefer the usual Supper Club location of the industrial kitchen better!

April 2016

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club - On Tour

Another great meal in a great location: wonderful setting, truly informative exhibition about the Order of St John and its amazing history, plus a very grand dining room. I think SJ will have difficulty topping that. A BIG thank you for such a splendid evening.

April 2016

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club - On Tour

Awesome food, great venue, lovely to be on tour do more of these! Please

March 2016

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club March - va español (Goes Spanish)!

Yet another great meal. Really looking forward to the next one at The Museum of the Order of St John in Clerkenwell.

March 2016

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club March - va español (Goes Spanish)!

Such a great idea and so handy for us. We happen to live across the road.

February 2016

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club with Filippo Berio

Wonderful experience. Great food and a very professional service.

February 2016

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club with Filippo Berio

This was my first Supper Club experience and it came up to all my expectations - it was wonderful!

February 2016

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club with Filippo Berio

Great food, amazing goody bag - won't bother to go to the Oscars now ;-)
New table layout is an improvement.

January 2016

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club - January Blues Basher

Really lovely food and atmosphere. Thank you

January 2016

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club - January Blues Basher

Wonderful evening. Very friendly crowd and fabulous food. We shall definitely return to East Dulwich Supper Club

December 2015

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club - Christmas Feast!

We had an amazing time at the East Dulwich Supper Club! We were taken care of so well the whole night and came away feeling thoroughly spoilt! Amazing value for money too!

December 2015

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club - Christmas Feast!

We have just enjoyed the last $DSC of 2015 and what a Christmas cracker it was! So many "extras" to surpprise and delight with old friends and new friends, a lovely young staff - and of course - the food ....!!
Love from J&S Beckenham

December 2015

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club - Christmas Feast!

Suzanne is a very welcoming hostess and you meet up with a random collection of interesting people.

December 2015

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club - Christmas Feast!

Excellent food and warm atmosphere

December 2015

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club with Filippo Berio

Top marks as always. Terrific way to spend an evening.

December 2015

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club with Filippo Berio

Love East Dulwich Supper Club, not the first time we've been and certainly not the last. As always the food was incredible and the goodie bag was a treat! I love your canapés. Thank you again, see you soon!!

November 2015

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club with Filippo Berio

Yet another fantastic East Dulwich Supper Club - many thanks Suzanne and all your team.

November 2015

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club with Filippo Berio

This was an amazing supper club! The food was amazing, so delicious and so much to eat. Staff were excellent. I would definitely go back and recommend this to my friends. Thank's for a great night.

November 2015

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club with Filippo Berio

A fantastic night enjoying amazing food and hospitality from the Suzanne James team under Grahame's cheffing. The osso bucco was particularly memorable and the tiramasu was the best I've ever tasted. The welcome cocktail was a lovely touch. The goody bag was WOW!!!!!

November 2015

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club with Filippo Berio

This was our first time at the East Dulwich Supper Club and it won't be our last! We had a fabulous evening.......delicious food and very lively company. Many, many thanks to Suzanne and her wonderful team. Thanks also to Filippo Berio for the brilliant goody bags we all received when leaving. Cathy and Michael Perry

October 2015

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club

Have been here before and loved it. The staff are amazing, so friendly and generally seem to love being there. The lighting in the new kitchen is very harsh, could do with dimming.

This menu wasn't really for me. Grouse isn't my dish so I really didn't enjoy it. But I appreciated the fact all the flavours were seasonal and enjoyed the starter and dessert.

I had an allergic reaction to something but it was purely to do with me, nothing in the food. But the staff were great and really helpful.

October 2015

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club

Delicious creative food in a sparky buzzy atmosphere

September 2015

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club

Really enjoyed our first experience of a supper club!

September 2015

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club

Enjoyable evening. Only problem, our table was very cramped

September 2015

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club

My first supper club and it was fabulous!! Great food, atmosphere and company! Was made to feel very welcome & can't wait to come back - thanks Suzanne & the team

September 2015

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club

Absolutely wonderful night. Suzanne is such an amazing, warm, welcoming and generous host. The food is fantastic, and all the more so for being ethically, locally and sustainably sourced
The atmosphere was great too. A really wide mix of people from all ages and backgrounds, which made for particularly interesting conversation.
All in all, an amazing night which I highly recommend!

September 2015

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club

Really great fun

August 2015

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club in association with Filippo Berio

A fabulous evening, gorgeous canapés wow the rare roast beef, lush roasted veg and cheese, divine lamb , the food was divine, good company and laughter. Plus amazing goodie bags a fabulous evening.

August 2015

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club in association with Filippo Berio

Quality ingredients. Thoughtful and tasty menu. Lots of food!!! Excellent value for money.

July 2015

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club

Food is beautifully cooked and presented. The pre-dinner cocktails and canapes were equally delightful , even over generous (I felt full by the time the meal started - must learn some self restraint, but hey who wants to when they are so delightful).. Interesting to meet other local, and not so local, diners. My one reservation is that because of the industrial location of the venue, there are lots of hard surfaces so that the noise level from the conversations becomes so high that it becomes very difficult to hear even what your immediate neighbours are saying.

July 2015

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club

another great evening of fine food & super new company
table plan was spot on

July 2015

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Cub on Tour with Filippo Berio - Fizz & Sizzle

Fabulous company and wonderful food and wine

June 2015

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club

A fabulous evening but delicious food at a great price.

June 2015

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club

Amazing venue, fantastic food, great evening!

June 2015

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club

We had a great experience at the EDSC last night. The cocktail on arrival (prosecco and a sipsmiths that made it taste like a refreshing Pimms-type drink) was delicious, and I was immediately impressed by the cool surroundings - linen tablecloths crammed into a state of the art industrial kitchen. Places were marked with our names, which I thought was a nice touch, and we got to know all of the people sitting around us and at our table, which was great, and had a true supperclub feel. The highlight for me was the starter, (lightly) deep fried asparagus with prosciutto - so delicious. I am not a big fan of Sea Bream (which replaced the Skate as the main, but it was still tasty. Dessert was a Rhubarb Mergingue served with Clotted cream, and these are three of my favourite things! The coffee was also some of the smoothest I've ever tasted!

All around an awesome experience - really cool atmosphere, great food, great night! Went home feeling full and happy :)

June 2015

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club

Amazing supper club as always! The quality of food is incredible - they are so generous and welcoming! Thanks very much to the team at EDSC - so happy that the supper club is back. See you next time!

June 2015

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club

Another superb evening! From the broad bean risotto canapés, to the petit fours the meal was as delicious as we have come to expect. And the charm of dining at linen tables surrounded by pots and pans with chefs working beside you has not lessened after the bright, airy refurbishment of Suzanne James catering kitchen. Fantastic evening.

June 2015

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club

my first East Dulwich Supper Club & had a fab evening
Suzanne was a wonderful host & so lucky to have this event near home
fantastic value & always great to meet new people

October 2014

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club

I don't know how they amaze to create the ambience of home dining in a commercial kitchen but it really works. And poached beef? Exquisite!

July 2014

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club

Great fun, lovely seasonal food, good company

May 2014

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club - May

Great food, great atmosphere, great hosts, great event, definitely will be going back.

May 2014
Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club - May

We love coming to supper club when we get the chance. Suzanne really is passionate about ingredients, flavours, combinations, and you get such a cross section of other diners, and we have made friends with people we would otherwise never normally meet. Its a fab showcase of their talents, and we hope to book a private supper club when we find something to celebrate! other friends have gone on to use them as caterers and have been delighted every time.

May 2014

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club - May

The evening was so enjoyable from beginning to end. The team at Suzanne James go all out to make sure that you are looked after throughout the evening. We were greeted at the door with a lovely glass of English wine Sangria which was delicious, then drinks accompanied with perfect little canapés, followed by a 4 course meal. Graham the chef created a lovely food experience for us and enjoying it within the confines of their industrial kitchen made for a very interesting evening indeed! The cherry on top was chatting to new people during the initial drinks and then at the table! Highly recommend:-)

May 2014
Grub Club: Dulwich Festival Pop Up Burger & Chips Supper Club!

Any event by Suzanne James is a MUST. Just love burger and fries (special this week) and apart from the food her events are always so sociable. Unfortunately we were unable to attend although we had reserved for two, as one of us was very unwell. Here's to good health and the next time!

May 2014
Grub Club: Dulwich Festival Pop Up Burger & Chips Supper Club!

I took the children to this last night and was very impressed. I have been to a supper club before and, as usual, Suzanne and team didn't disappoint. Starting with the kid friendly nibbles, to the delicious burgers and drinks of locally brewed beer (for the adults obviously- there was Sarsaparilla for the kids!) it was superb.
Also loved the animal portraits hung around the kitchen by Amy Devlin Art.
I wish it was on every week!

March 2014

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club

I arrived as the first guest and was welcomed with warmth and genuine interest. Had a great cocktail with Apple and gin - topped up a few times as the delicious canapés circled round as the other guests arrived. Many guests were local people that new the place (and each other) - they welcomed me as one if their own and shared their stories and wine as we enjoyed great food - elegantly prepared of great and sustainable produce. I left the place with a smile on my face and will definitely go back if I get the chance. If the east dulwich is full I'm positive that grub club will help me find another pleasant surprise.

February 2014

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club

A warm welcome with a lovely cocktail followed by a lovely 3 courses meal in the Suzanne James kitchen a fabulous way to end a busy month . Food and service were excellent ,I will recommend it to all but hurry as tickets selling very fast .

February 2014

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club

Great hosts, an engaging setting and excellent seasonal, locally sourced food. I would highly recommend the East Dulwich Supper Club as an alternative dining experience for a group of friends. Can't wait until the next time.

December 2013
Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club

Grub Club did not send an email or other confirmation of our booking. That was annoying. When I came to look up the booking on the day, I had no evidence that I had made a booking apart from looking through credit card transactions.

I was unsure of the start time. We arrived at 7:15. We would have been better to arrive at 7:45.

Peter

December 2013

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club

What a fabulous evening, i had heard about the East Dulwich Supper Club afew months ago and have been wanting to organise a night out with the girls. We had such a great evening, the food was sooooo good and the other people on our table were so nice. We will for sure be back. Thank u to the lovely staff at Suzanne James and the wonderful chef. xx

October 2013

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club

Lovely food as always the canapés are to die for could just eat them all evening . Duck was lovely too! Staff very friendly thx again

October 2013

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club

As always, food, hospitality and company all 5 star +

July 2013

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club

This is the second time we've been to The Supper Club and we had a great time. The food was delicious and the people we sat with were a lot of fun. Can't wait to go again!

July 2013

Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club

This is far more than a foodie club its the best supper club for socialising, meeting new and interesting friends with a touch of business networking if appropriate. The fine food and atmosphere are great and the sound of laughter and chatter can probably be heard in the next road. Goodness knows when our charming hosts got to bed as no one ever wants to leave

July 2013
Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club

Absolutely fantastic evening with new people and amazing food. I'm afraid to give too much praise in case I don't get a place next time because it's fully booked!!!!

July 2013
Grub Club: East Dulwich Supper Club

Absolutely fantastic evening with new people and amazing food. I'm afraid to give too much praise in case I don't get a place next time because it's fully booked!!!!

May 2013

Grub Club: May Supper Club 2013

A very entertaining evening, food was a very good interpretation of a 70s Menu. Coupled with some excellent company.
The Canapés were very imaginative and tasty ( Could have been more of them!!)
Starter was ok if a little bland. The mains and Dessert were first class especially the Dessert with a huge range of toppings.

May 2013

Grub Club: May Supper Club 2013

Cocktail (I had three) so good and the variety and quality of canapés extremely more-ish! Prawn cocktail and steak & chips sounds ordinary but prepared, cooked and presented by Suzanne, Graham and the team - don't be fooled - each dish was a delight. The ambience of the Supper Club is superb - a once a month party - fun, friendly and of course, the food!

Judy and Stan