Overall rating:

24 ratings, 27 reviews

February 2016

Grub Club: Anti-Valentine's SupperClub - Part 2 - Boozy Bill Murray Brunch

Loved it!

February 2016

Grub Club: Anti-Valentine's SupperClub - Part 2 - Boozy Bill Murray Brunch

Pleasantly surprised by the care they took with my dietary needs... Was provided with dairy- free yogurt and I did not miss out on the delicious pancakes or waffles either!
All in all an excellent experience

February 2016

Grub Club: Anti-Valentine's SupperClub - Part 2 - Boozy Bill Murray Brunch

The food was great, the people were great, venue was great.....All around a fantastic event! I would definitely do it again!

February 2016

Grub Club: Anti-Valentine's SupperClub - Part 2 - Boozy Bill Murray Brunch

Super crowded but a really good way to spend colder days!

February 2016

Grub Club: Anti-Valentine's SupperClub - Part 2 - Boozy Bill Murray Brunch

Great venue, meal and films. The theatre could be more comfy.

February 2016

Grub Club: Anti-Valentine's SupperClub - Part 2 - Boozy Bill Murray Brunch

Myself and my partner were very excited for what sounded like a really fun, food and drink filled morning followed by some great films. Unfortunately we were not at all impressed by the food on offer. The chairs (old benches like you sit on in primary school) were very uncomfortable and the room we were in was a tight squeeze. We waited a long time for food to start coming out, approximately 45 minutes for just bread with butter and a tiny cup of jam. We were not offered tea or coffee, we had to ask the servers ourselves when we saw other people having drinks placed in front of them! Small amounts of guacamole and salmon salads were distributed, really not enough for 40 people. And around 6 plates of baked eggs, which was not nearly enough and my partner went without, as did the couple sitting opposite us. We asked them if they could make more but this wasn't possible. 'Unlimited' waffles and pancakes certainly weren't unlimited, and were cold and hard unfortunately. We were so disappointed.
The films however were of course great, and the atmosphere in the cinema room was lovely. The seating was very uncomfortable though, I would suggest providing big comfy pillows as it was not possible to sit comfortably for 4 hours! The staff also seemed very inexperienced at serving, it didn't seem like they had worked at such an event before.

February 2016

Grub Club: Anti-Valentine's SupperClub - Part 2 - Boozy Bill Murray Brunch

THIS WAS THE BEST (ANTI) VALENTINE'S DAY EVER! Good job, The Wall SE1! Unlimited waffles, pancakes, bloody mary's, so much good food AND Bill Murray? No man will ever be able to trump THAT. I ate to my heart's content (and then some) and all in the wonderful ambiance that is House of Vans. SUCH a cool place! And SUCH nice people! Really really really ridiculously cool (said in a Zoolander voice). Will definitely be doing more of these. OH! And let's not forget the Bill Murray colouring papers! These guys really paid attention to all the detail (including a giant BM cut out!)

January 2016

Grub Club: The Great British American Thanksgiving Chow Down

Such. Good. Food. Loved the KFT! So tender & it tasted healthy! The beef was EPIC too esp. with that slaw.
Have been to couple of these now & love the unusual dishes & sharing style.

January 2016

Grub Club: The Great British American Thanksgiving Chow Down

Regular attendee of the wall supperclubs - always a raucous affair with scrumptious food - the Aged Ribs of beef just melted in the mouth and the pumpkin pie was screamingly deelish. Great family feel-good meal!

December 2015

Grub Club: The Great British American Thanksgiving Chow Down

The meats served were not fresh. The portions served were not enough to share. The ambience was very noisy, no soft furnishings to absorb noise.

November 2015

Grub Club: The Great British American Thanksgiving Chow Down

Fun night! We expats around the table wished the ribs would have been proper American-style BBQ short-ribs, but it was a fab evening nonetheless. Thanks for running it!

November 2015

Grub Club: The Great British American Thanksgiving Chow Down

The food was good and the staff very friendly. Only negative is that is was very cramped and quite loud. Also be warned the drinks are very exepensive and we spent nearly same amount on drinks as food

November 2015

Grub Club: The Great British American Thanksgiving Chow Down

Amazing food!!

November 2015

Grub Club: The Great British American Thanksgiving Chow Down

.

October 2015

Grub Club: The Great British American Tapas Story

Brilliant night! The food was amazing. Particularly loved the snacks - the shiitake mushroom was gorgeous and the herbaceous treat was yummy. The Jambalaya just needed a touch more seasoning but the rest of the food was bang on. The Accompanying cocktails also helped the meal go down nicely (oh the joys of London Cocktail Week!).
Great host, friendly staff and fun vibe all evening. The best meal I've had in ages and such good value for money too:-).

August 2015

Grub Club: The Great British American Chow Down

Great friendly vibe. Loved it. The food was too heavy without enough 'wet' or lightness for balance. Best course was the chicken and waffles. The granita was just watered down coke and mint/lime. The peanut butter sandwich was v chewy and salty. Will come again though!

August 2015

Grub Club: The Great British American Chow Down

Very cool venue, great staff and fun time in general. Food was a bit hit and some miss. Chicken and Waffles were the star of the show. Chicken skin apps weren't too my taste. Sweet corn was ok. Pork belly wouldn't have been something I would order again but the macaroni was very good. Desserts were creative. Servings were a bit slow at times. Staff was awesome, girl with the red hair was on top of everyone's drink orders, she was fantastic.

July 2015

Grub Club: The Great British American Chow Down

My second time back and food was as good as ever. Great value for money and fun night. for pictures and to read my review, here is my blog post: http://ginfizzgirl.blogspot.co.uk/2015/07/the-wall-se1-supper-club-delicious-8.html?m=1

July 2015

Grub Club: The Great British American Chow Down

Fantastic night for me and a group of friends. Food was exquisite - taking classic dishes and adding a delicious twist. The service was wonderful and the venue was definitely different (in a good way). Would recommend to anyone wanting great food and service.

July 2015

Grub Club: The Great British American Chow Down

Really enjoyed this event. Fantastic food served up in a really unique venue at House of Vans. A wide selection of unique dishes all cooked to perfection. Company was great too. Need to do more of these!

October 2013
Grub Club: Celebrate Hackney

I had a great time. Here is the review of the night with pictures on my blog:

http://ginfizzgirl.blogspot.co.uk/2013/10/supperclub-by-ian-ballantyne.html

October 2013

Grub Club: Celebrate Hackney

Food decent quality. But tiny portions and would have preferred individual portions rather than a platter serving. The platter caused a bit of food anxiety as we weren't sure how many to take each time. However a fun night and good service.

October 2013

Grub Club: Celebrate Hackney

Had a great time meeting new ppl and eating good food!

October 2013
Grub Club: Original Travel presents Pisco Fuego

What a good idea. Lovely people, excellent food and low key hosting. I'd certainly come to anything else organised by Original Travel. I thought the evening was a great success.

August 2013
Grub Club: An Evening with Mr. Penfold

Whenever I see 'de-constructed' on the menu I usually fear the worst but Ian's de-construced hamburger and carrot cake really were a triumph in terms of showing us why we really love burgers and cake! My first of many GrubClub events. Ed