Overall rating:

10 ratings, 10 reviews

July 2017

Grub Club: Midsummer Supper

Catherine and Robert are really wonderful hosts. And because of this they attract a fantastic group of guests, a mix of interesting and creative people, which made the evening superb. It must be one of the most enjoyable and relaxed supperclubs that I have visited.

Set within a beautiful, large and contemporary Victorian house, that Catherine and Robert are lovingly restoring, which makes a lovely setting.

We were greeted with a Peach Bellini and some peach bellini and some delicious Greek spinach and cheese pies, giving us a chance to mingle with all the guest.

We were then seated at the table, to begin our splendid menu:

Mixed beetroot salad with goats cheese mousse - the mousse was to die for and I don't even like goats cheese!!
Summer pea and mint soup
Slow roasted pork belly with (optional) black pudding (or grilled halloumi with tamarind glaze), crushed potatoes and green beans
Mascarpone mousse tarts with poached rhubarb and rhubarb sorbet - the rhubarb sorbet was sublime!
Selection of cheeses

I definitely recommend this supperclub if you are looking for a really enjoyable evening with great company.

March 2017

Grub Club: Preview: From Crouch End With Love

Excellent food, great company in a great setting. Thoroughly enjoyed myself.

March 2017

Grub Club: Preview: From Crouch End With Love

I really enjoyed my evening and thought Catherine and Robert were great hosts. Despite their building work they managed to put on a lovely meal. Being in the bedroom I thought added to the charm. I've never thought of doing a tamarind glaze on halloumi before but I will do now. The celeriac soup with truffle oil was delicious with their home made breads. When their home is finished I can see that they'll have the most wonderful space to host the next one.

February 2017

Grub Club: Preview: From Crouch End With Love

I'm not sure if they just launched too early (dining room and kitchen not finished, plates in storage etc.) but I'm afraid I was disappointed and couldn't recommend it personally. However, it was recommended to me by a friend and had several returning guests so it must usually be better.

April 2016

Grub Club: Cherry Blossom Dinner

Amazing Hosts, Great Venue and fantastic vibe

February 2016

Grub Club: Spring Approaches!

Lovely host, fabulous home, delicious food - what's not to like!

November 2015

Grub Club: A Taste of Tuscany: Second Edition

Lovely evening, a new discovery for us. Food to warm the cockles of your heart on a cold night. Enjoyed the art and the company. Friendly and hospitable. We will come again!

October 2015

Grub Club: Autumn Colours

We had the most lovely evening in Crouch End - fantastic food, prepared by the hostess and her team, amazing friendly people and an ambient setting in a beautiful home. It was the perfect night out and we could not have hoped for anything else. It felt like having an evening with friends we've known for a long time.

September 2015

Grub Club: Curry for Change Supper Club

Great venue and terrific hosts - The food was outstanding. A good group of fellow guests too

September 2015

Grub Club: Curry for Change Supper Club

Well done CESSC! That was excellent, and a real treat for a Friday evening. Thank you for welcoming us all to your home and for creating such a feast. All the best for future events. David.