Overall rating:

33 ratings, 33 reviews

September 2017

Grub Club: Crawfish Boil for Urban Food Fortnight

This was my first crawfish broil and it won't be the last. I had an amazing time and ate until my belly was fit to burst. Bob is a genuine great guy and the band was excellent. Thanks for such a fun time!

September 2017

Grub Club: Crawfish Boil for Urban Food Fortnight

Crayfish Bob's events are always top notch. The atmosphere is great and the food is top quality and absolutely authentic. Highly recommend going to one of these crawfish boils.

September 2017

Grub Club: Crawfish Boil for Urban Food Fortnight

I had a really good day! The atmosphere was amazing :) loved the live band! I dont know how people complained before about there not being enough food because there definitely was!

September 2017

Grub Club: An evening with Crayfish Bob & Gosnells Mead

Fantastic evening, amazing food, mead and people!

July 2017

Grub Club: Summer Crawfish Boil Party

A but disappointed this time due to the long waiting time. It meant to start at 7:30 but the food didn't serve until 8:10. Every time the bowl of food is finished we had to wait for a while until next bowl would be served. Also it wasn't enough, not everyone got to eat the a sweet corn and sausages. Not as good as last year but still recommend to try it because the food tastes great.

July 2017

Grub Club: Summer Crawfish Boil Party

What a wonderful night at Crayfish Bob!! Not only the crawfish were fabulous but also the music, service and especially the ambience of the night. My two year-old daughter enjoyed the food so much and then rocked the dancefloor with Bob. Truly enjoy it and definitely will come back next time! Thank you Bob and the team :)

September 2016

Grub Club: CAJUN PARTY: THE ANNUAL CRAWFISH BOIL!

Absolutely loved the evening!

September 2016

Grub Club: CAJUN PARTY: THE ANNUAL CRAWFISH BOIL!

Once you get over the slightly budget venue, and the fact you are in deepest SW London, it was an absolutely great evening with fantastic food and music! Would definitely go again in a heartbeat!

September 2016

Grub Club: CAJUN PARTY: THE ANNUAL CRAWFISH BOIL!

For £20 a head this might have been a reasonable night out.

September 2016

Grub Club: CAJUN PARTY: THE ANNUAL CRAWFISH BOIL!

One of the best pop up experience in London at the moment. Epic staff, more amazing food, band was great.cant wait for next year!

September 2016

Grub Club: CAJUN PARTY: THE ANNUAL CRAWFISH BOIL!

Amazing!

September 2016

Grub Club: CAJUN PARTY: THE ANNUAL CRAWFISH BOIL!

The food was delicious. The atmosphere was great. The music was amazing! Definitely a great experience - be prepared to get messy!!

September 2015

Grub Club: Louisiana Crawfish Boil - On The Beach!

Had a great day. Bob and his team were very accommodating. Loved just getting stuck into the mountains of crayfish. Perfect ambience set with the music too. Would highly recommend.

September 2015

Grub Club: Louisiana Crawfish Boil - On The Beach!

Great day out - all the staff incredibly friendly.. esp as we were very late! Had a live demonstration on how to peel the crayfish which was so lovely. Highly recommended.

August 2015

Grub Club: Louisiana Crawfish Boil - On The Beach!

You will not find a better crawfish boil this side of the Atlantic! Mudbugs were very tasty and the portions were enormous! Bob has put together a great experience.

August 2015

Grub Club: Louisiana Crawfish Boil - On The Beach!

We had a really lovely time. The food was delicious and there was lots and lots of it. We'd love to go again.

August 2015

Grub Club: Louisiana Crawfish Boil - On The Beach!

nice party

August 2015

Grub Club: Louisiana Crawfish Boil - On The Beach!

The main reason why I wouldn't recommend this to anyone is the way it was presented. Tiny crayfish in a plastic bucket with a few greasy sausages thrown into the mix and an old paper crate to throw the shells into - no plates, bibs, napkins or anything. You had to peel the crayfish straight on the table.

I don't know how the americans do it but I'm pretty certain this is pretty low standard even for them.

Bob mean well but this was really under all expectations...

August 2015

Grub Club: Louisiana Crawfish Boil - On The Beach!

Fun and engaging atmosphere with great food and music to keep us entertained. There was a lot of food on offer and definitely would go back again!

August 2015

Grub Club: Louisiana Crawfish Boil - On The Beach!

Probably the best crayfish boil I've been too.
The seasoning was excellent. Not only were the crawfish delicious but also the corn, sausages (Polish?), artichokes (wow!!), sorbet, watermelon, and potatoes too.
It was nice to meet Bob - he's a lovely man.
The band was great.
Nice having a proper bar at the venue.
Also having nice weather and sharing our table with nice folks made it all the better.

August 2015

Grub Club: Louisiana Crawfish Boil - On The Beach!

Although we were delayed by the vagaries of London Transport, when we eventually arrived at the Doodle Bar in Battersea, we were immediately found a table and the fun commenced! The weather was fantastic, the setting was great, right by it's own little 'bayou' and the live music was a perfect backdrop to the food.
The food was superb, the potatoes, sweetcorn, sausage and artichokes all plentiful and perfectly cooked, but the real stars were, of course, the crayfish!
Big, spicy and cooked to perfection, we managed two big bowls before having to admit defeat, it really is 'all you can eat'.
We will definitely be back, unless we can persuade Crayfish Bob to host some of these events over in East London.
Well done to the whole team!

August 2015

Grub Club: Louisiana Crawfish Boil - On The Beach!

I had a great time at the Crayfish Boil and the food was delicious!

August 2015

Grub Club: Louisiana Crawfish Boil - On The Beach!

definitely will be back, thanks.

August 2015

Grub Club: Louisiana Crawfish Boil - On The Beach!

Delicious, relaxed and friendly. And they kept brining more! Music also excellent.

July 2015

Grub Club: Louisiana Crawfish Boil - On The Beach!

Great event- highly recommend if you like seafood.

July 2015

Grub Club: Louisiana Crawfish Boil - On The Beach!

Great day out

July 2015

Grub Club: Louisiana Crawfish Boil - On The Beach!

The venues for "Crayfish" Bob's crawfish boils are always pretty great; I've been attending for years. The thing is, NOBODY calls it a "crayfish" in the south and "Crayfish" Bob has admittedly never been to a Louisiana crawfish boil. He's from Texas and the spices he uses in the crawfish boil are not authentic for a Louisiana crawfish boil. My partner and I are both from New Orleans and I, personally, have spoken to "Crayfish" Bob about authenticity more than once, but it falls on deaf ears. The sausage is fine, the potatoes and corn make sense... but he doesn't rinse the crawfish (live) before cooking them, so the juices are muddy and he leaves the cooked crawfish in the pot (I guess to keep them warm?) which leads to over-cooking. The crawfish themselves are a good size, but it's just a shame to see time and time again that the boil hasn't improved. You shouldn't have bits of spices in the boil - they go into a spice bag. The only spices that go directly into the boil are the powdered or liquid items that produce flavour and colour (the juices should be red, not brown). The events are consistently inconsistent, with things like crawfish racing not always happening and the "desserts" running out before they make it round to everyone. They always start serving very late - typically over an hour after the event starts - and the drinks should at least be somewhat consistently "southern" themed, but they aren't always and sometimes they are really expensive on top of the already over-priced event tickets (did you know that the species used are "trash" because they destroy the wetlands and indiginous crawfish species?) It's just a bit disappointing and I feel it doesn't do a real crawfish boil any justice whatsoever for those who are looking for a unique experience. I continue to attend in the hopes that these crawfish boils will improve but they haven't really changed much yet. PLEASE consult someone from southern Louisiana before trying to recreate something we hold so dear. I'd be happy to show you how it's done. Otherwise, I suggest you call it a Texan-attempt Crawfish Boil and change the nickname to "Crawfish" Bob!

July 2015

Grub Club: Louisiana Crawfish Boil - On The Beach!

Great experience, highly recommend! For a sunny weather like we were lucky to have, shame there weren't more umbrellas as my friends and I were roasting...

July 2015

Grub Club: Louisiana Crawfish Boil - On The Beach!

We had a great afternoon. The food was great, the music was great and so was the weather! Definitely all you can eat if you have the patience for it. If you love seafood you will love CRAYFISH BOB!

July 2015

Grub Club: Louisiana Crawfish Boil - On The Beach!

Our second visit to this event, and again it was a success! Amazing food, great music. Being from Houston, I attend the Old Town Spring Crawfish Festival each year, but living in London, I can't get back there --- this event does the business. Enjoy beer, mudbugs and music without the Houston humidity!

July 2015

Grub Club: Louisiana Crawfish Boil - On The Beach!

Crayfish Bob staff and food excellent!

June 2015

Grub Club: Louisiana Crawfish Boil - On The Beach!

I am from Houston, lived in London 14 years. This event was SO amazing... really brought me home. This is REAL South East Texas style crawfish. I was shocked at how authentic it was... and delicious! I felt like I was back in Houston at the Crawfish Festival in Old Town Spring. The sausage... identical to the Chappell Hill sausage I have with my dad when I go home. If you are from South Texas, you know. Made me a little teary, cured my homesickness. The band was fantastic. Love love love this and can not wait for the next one.

June 2015

Grub Club: Louisiana Crawfish Boil - On The Beach!

Fantastic venue, delicious food, and great music. There's no better way to spend a weekend afternoon!