Overall rating:

105 ratings, 105 reviews

September 2017

Grub Club: Conflict Café Syria

We had an amazing evening. The food was fantastic, and the staff from Conflict Cafe created a wonderful atmosphere where we met lots of lovely people and learnt so much about Syria. Will definitely go to the next one - I wish they were more often!

September 2017

Grub Club: Conflict Café Syria

Very good event. Delicious food. Friendly staff.
Great event to learn more about the situation in Syria with people directly involved.

September 2017

Grub Club: Conflict Café Syria

Great food and company in a goood cause and very well organised. My only minor complaint was that the main course was luke warm, but otherwise I cannot fault it.

September 2017

Grub Club: Conflict Café Syria

Beautiful environment, clever concept (with the inevitable sharing of tables , SO 2017) and most importantly offered with warmth and integrity , what's not to like ?

September 2017

Grub Club: Conflict Café Syria

Wonderful night!.Delicious food and great company for a most worthwhile cause. It was moving to hear from the Syrian guest and to learn of the valuable work of International Alert in the field.

September 2017

Grub Club: Conflict Café Syria

This event exceeded expectations for the food, the welcome, the conviviality of the other guests and the quality of the venue, the House of Vans. So very worthwhile as well.

September 2017

Grub Club: Conflict Café Syria

Great starter and nice to meet new people. Main was ok and pudding not so great. Learned new things about Syria. Venue was very loud and with 60 people speaking it was difficult to hear the person next to you. Not sure the venue was suited to dining. Good effort all round though.

September 2017

Grub Club: Conflict Café Syria

Lovely evening! Great food, chatted to lots of people and everyone seemed to be having a good time! Also very interesting to hear about the cause and be part of it.

September 2017

Grub Club: Conflict Café Syria

Very well organised event. Food was tasty, staff friendly and loved the concept of meeting new people, sharing experiences and learning more about Syria! Would definitely go again.

September 2017

Grub Club: Conflict Café Syria

What a great evening. Shame that the heating fan made it hard to hear the speaker.

September 2017

Grub Club: Conflict Café Syria

Very enjoyable evening. The food was wonderful, we met some interesting people and conversation flowed, and learned about the important and necessary work of International Alert. Oh and the venue!! Didn't know it was there - but what an amazing place!

September 2017

Grub Club: Conflict Café Syria

We had a terrific evening!

October 2016

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Sri Lanka

Had a blast! The food was super tasty and the company was cracking too. Can't wait till next year.

October 2016

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Sri Lanka

Great event! we learnt something about this country, its people and their struggle, and of course their food. We broke bred with strangers and had great company. Will be looking out for the next event!!

October 2016

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Sri Lanka

Great food and company! Really interesting to learn more about such a fascinating country. Fantastic chefs, organisation and volunteers :)

October 2016

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Sri Lanka

Wonderful as always! What better way to raise money and awareness than through getting people to break bread together?

October 2016

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Sri Lanka

Delicious food and great way to learn more about the history of Sri Lanka and its conflicts! Personally not a big fan of house of vans as a venue, would have preferred something less corporate.

October 2016

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Sri Lanka

Another fantastic experience at Conflict Cafe! Great food, great company and a great cause.

October 2016

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Sri Lanka

Just totally awesome.

October 2016

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Sri Lanka

Great concept, more relevant than ever. World issues raised, bridges building between people, ice and bread broken with strangers. All money to charity. Would reccommend and would return.

October 2016

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Sri Lanka

Great concept!

October 2016

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Sri Lanka

A great venue. We appreciated the opportunity to taste superb Sri Lankan food, learn more about the country and about International Alert's work. As part of the Talking Peace festival to meet and talk to new people over dinner was immensely enjoyable. Thank you, a great idea.

October 2016

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Sri Lanka

Wonderful experience!..Sri Lankan food 'heavenly' & Conflict Cafe a wonderful concept, promoting peace through food. Conversation flowed easily as we ate together with strangers who were like old friends by the end of the evening. Look forward to next year & will definitely recommend it to friends & family.

October 2016

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Sri Lanka

Learnt a lot (quiz was a great idea), loved the food and drink and met new people and discussed not just Sri Lanka but politics all over the world and what impact that may have...........so pleased I chose to come along!!

October 2016

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Lebanon

A very enjoyable, well-run event. I also learned alot about the conflict resolution work being carried out in Lebanon, and the food was pretty good too.

October 2016

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Sri Lanka

Another top notch night from the most inspiring supper club in London! Wonderful food, inspiring story, great company, and so enriching to learn about the history of the region and the great work that International Alert does in regions of conflict. Loved it!!

October 2016

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Sri Lanka

Lovely evening, such a cool venue, delicious food and fascinating explanation of Sri Lankas history past and present. Will return!

October 2016

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Sri Lanka

The food was amazing and absolutely as I remember from our trip to Sri Lanka. The venue was also ace.

September 2016

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Sri Lanka

Nice evening

September 2016

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Sri Lanka

Great night!

September 2016

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Lebanon

Loved it. Met loads of interesting people and the food was super tasty!

September 2016

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Lebanon

All right.

September 2016

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Lebanon

Excellent brunch in an unique venue.

September 2016

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Lebanon

A really well done event. The food was delicious the people were friendly and the staff were attentive. I loved it so much that I am attending their next event

September 2016

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Lebanon

Was an ok evening. Food was nice but not as good as I'd expected.

September 2016

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Lebanon

An interesting first grub club experience with tasty starters

September 2016

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Lebanon

Really loved the themes of food and learning. And peace.

September 2016

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Lebanon

This is a super event and I am so glad that I participated. The food was really spectacular! Every dish was fresh, authentic and tasty. Despite it being a shared brunch, there was more than enough food for our table and then some!
Of course, the food was amazing but the real highlight was learning about Lebanon. We did so in a really interactive way, with a pop-quiz (our team won)!

Overall, this was a great event and a great cause!

September 2016

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Lebanon

Lovely meal, company, discussion and location
I will definitely go again
Highly recommended 😃😃😃

September 2016

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Lebanon

This was a truly unique experience! As we all sit in long tables next to each other, it's a great way to meet interesting people in a casual way. We had great conversations and learned a lot about the history and opportunities for peace in Lebanon. I would really recommend this pop-up restaurant to anyone looking for a different, fun and enriching experience!

September 2016

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Lebanon

What a FABULOUS thing to do and raise awareness as well as get fed in a very loving way.

September 2016

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Lebanon

Terrific night for a great cause, and we learned something, too! Can't wait for next year's!

September 2016

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Lebanon

Third year running....had an amazing evening - not only was the food great but it was really interesting to learn more about Lebanon and the work being carried out by International Alert. The starters were delicious and the vegetarian main was full of amazing flavours. I would highly recommend this dining experience with a difference! The venue and the atmosphere were also great. Looking forward to coming again!

September 2016

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Lebanon

The whole concept is a great idea and very interesting. The evening was just let down by the food. The starters were great but having plain rice with bits of plain chicken in with minimal cashews and raisins wasn't great as a main. I also didn't personally like dessert at all. But I definitely enjoyed everything else about the evening!

September 2016

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Lebanon

Fun evening- lovely food, great venue and ambiance. It would have been helpful and good for me to have to pass through some kind of installation about Lebanon or peace/conflict resolution as I arrived, and before going to sit down. This could have been a few simple facts or bits of direct visual or interactive input - to orient me, help me make the transition- and to set the tone for the evening.

September 2016

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Lebanon

Fun evening- lovely food, great venue and ambiance. It would have been helpful and good for me to have to pass through some kind of installation about Lebanon or peace/conflict resolution as I arrived, and before going to sit down. This could have been a few simple facts or bits of direct visual or interactive input - to orient me, help me make the transition- and to set the tone for the evening.

September 2016

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Lebanon

We had a lovely evening; the first two courses were abundant and tasty; the venue was quirky and fun, the service was friendly and efficient- all done by volunteers- hats off to them. I was ignorant of the history of the conflict in Lebanon and of International Alert- so found the presentation given in between courses very informative. The quiz was fun and helped with group interaction at the table- everyone was friendly and easy to get along with. It was lovely to have the chef come out to tell us about the dessert -It was interesting to try as never come across it before- but is an acquired taste- as I don't like aniseed, I wasn't too keen on it- but good to try new dishes.

September 2016

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Lebanon

.

September 2016

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Lebanon

Great food, nice atmosphere, good value and an unusual venue. A break from the norm, and well worth it!

September 2016

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Lebanon

Brilliant atmosphere, original concept, between pub quizz, foodie's night and educational program. Thanks conflict cafe!

September 2016

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Middle East

Booking enquiry

October 2015

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Armenia and Turkey

Delicious food!

October 2015

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Armenia and Turkey

A great event that I and all my friends immensely enjoyed! The food was delicious, a real gastronomic extravaganza with so many and varied dishes and flavours. Everything was sumptuous. It was also really interesting to learn more about Armenia and Turkey and the context behind the conflict, in the series of interesting and engaging talks that accompanied the meal. Altogether a great event, and I'm definitely planning to go to each of the chef's supper clubs and ideally restaurants regularly.

October 2015

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Armenia and Turkey

A wonderful evening - amazing food, great venue - relaxed and friendly company, learnt lots!
Very special and memorable. So much more interesting than a conventional restaurant - inspired now to try more supper clubs. Well done to all the team who worked so hard - you made everyone feel very welcome and involved. A unique and important event.

October 2015

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Armenia and Turkey

Fantastic!!!

October 2015

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Armenia and Turkey

Fantastic food, amazing hosts and chefs and awesome location. Met some really interesting people too. It was great!

October 2015

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Armenia and Turkey

Fantastic evening - loved the venue, the food was plentiful and tasty and the speakers were inspirational.

October 2015

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Armenia and Turkey

good food in a great setting - it would have been nice to have different meats on the menu, not just lamb. First food arrived quite late and whilst it was great to have speakers share some insight on the conflict between Armenia and Turkey, it would have been nice to have had more of a historical overview and some info on what the organization is doing on the ground.

October 2015

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Armenia and Turkey

A joyous evening of good food and good conversation. The food was plentiful and expertly prepared, well presented and served up without delay; best of all the company was delightful, and we all had some very thought-provoking chats and presentations about both Armenia and Turkey.

October 2015

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Armenia and Turkey

Great, big meal, in a nice and unexpected setting!

September 2015

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Colombia

Excellent food and company!

September 2015

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Colombia

Really enjoyed the evening, it was interesting. I would have liked to hear more about Columbia and about the food and how the community is dealing with the conflict, the girl who spoke was fantastic. I enjoyed the quiz too.

September 2015

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Colombia

“Once you eat with someone, you can’t betray them.” – Arab saying

The ‘Most Inspirational Pop-up of 2014’ has been back in London for a month long celebration of the UN International Day of Peace that fell on Monday 21st September. The Talking Peace Festival 2015 organised by International Alert is designed to engage people in the most urgent issues of peace and conflict around the world and they have not disappointed this year.

A friend and I got tickets for a Conflict Café: Columbia on Friday night and it exceeded all of our expectations- definitely worth the £35 which all goes to the charity. To start, the venue for the evening was outstanding, held in one of the Waterloo tunnels of House of Vans, the longest banquet table I have ever seen was set up and there was a bum on every seat. Each section of the table had menus and a Columbian trivia quiz that instantly had us chin-wagging with our neighbours (the rum punch didn’t hurt either!) After some introductory speeches from the Columbian star speaker and the chef, Esnayder Cuartas (Sabor), we were straight onto the starters…a platter of empanadas, chorizo and scallops (fried in passion fruit butter with mango salsa, jalapeno- basil pesto and served on Andean corn-bread…mmm mm) For mains, we were served generous portions of Cazuela del Pacifico, a classic stew of red snapper, sword fish, prawns, mussels, tomatoes and coconut milk, seasoned with chilli and coriander. I’ve had many disappointments in the past when it comes to fish and seafood being rubbery or over salted, so having all the seafood impeccably cooked in a stew together was very impressive and it really was the highlight of the meal.

The speakers were thought-provoking, the other diners were sociable and it really was a brilliantly organised and executed evening! With three dates left, 30th September, 1st and 3rd October for Armenia and Turkey, I strongly recommend you get tickets before it’s too late! I will definitely be attending if they return next year, a five-star pop-up!

September 2015

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Colombia

Great night! Fab food.

September 2015

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Colombia

Cool venue, great food, important cause.

September 2015

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Colombia

Hard seats for such a long time sitting, but the food is indeed very well prepared and varied. The idea of holding the quiz and the periodic interruptions from the MC to explain a bit more about the peace negotiations in Colombia are good. The message is conveyed effectively.

September 2015

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Colombia

Fun night!

September 2015

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Colombia

So much fun. The food was great, the vibe was superb and the people behind it were so full of passion.

September 2015

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Colombia

It was an interesting, thought-provoking and delicious meal. Thanks so much. I look forward to another soon!

September 2015

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Nepal

Amazing experience. The food was delicious and Rajiv the chef was so warm and welcoming. The whole team at International Alert was so knowledgeable and helpful and passionate - it was fascinating to hear all about Nepal, its culture and challenges. And the venue was spectacular. What a great night!

September 2015

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Nepal

Delicious food and great atmosphere. Had a lovely evening!

September 2015

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Nepal

Great food - I tried some dishes that I would never have ordered off a menu! Good service, interesting setting and first class service too. Thank you!

September 2015

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Middle East

A wonderful way to spend a Sunday afternoon. Faultless food and great company.

September 2015

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Nepal

Great idea and excellent food. However would have liked even more in depth information.

September 2015

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Nepal

Another great dinner by Rajiv - great cause, great company. Can't wait for the next one!

September 2015

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Nepal

Fantastic!

September 2015

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Nepal

Great evening and interesting event - find out more about the country while enjoying lovely food and meeting new people

September 2015

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Nepal

Awesome!

September 2015

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Middle East

Great atmosphere and a great cause

September 2015

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Syria

Met really interesting and nice people, as interesting were discussions around Syria. Had a really good time and will certainly come back

September 2015

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Syria

Great location in the arches below Waterloo, brilliant food and insightful presentation on the recent history of Syria.

September 2015

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Syria

Such a wonderful night - getting to hear from a beautiful Syrian woman about the country and the conflict was fantastic. I would have loved her to keep on talking but understand that time is an issue
The food was amazing, so fresh and bursting with flavours.
This was a really wonderful night out and I'd highly recommend Conflict Cafe and Grub Club events to anyone

September 2015

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Syria

Superb concept, so brilliant to meet the chef and hear about the food, to be served warm bread throughout the meal. Dishes looked like they were homemade from your mothers oven! My only gripe is that there should have been more effort made to help tables intermingle as people often came with a friend and then stayed put. Quiz was a clever idea but perhaps more encouragement to learn and discover new faces? Overall super and unique event!

September 2015

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Middle East

Brilliant food and interesting venue. There was a bit of noise during the speaking but not too much.

September 2015

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Middle East

What an incredible, inspiring and delicious event. The venue was spectacular - I cannot believe there's a secret world hidden in central London. The food was delicious and the whole event was fascinating. International Alert gives you hope that there are practical, long-term, sustainable ways we can bring about peaceful debates to help bring about positive dialogue in communities impacted by conflict. Truly inspiring, and the food and atmosphere made for a fantastic event on all fronts.

September 2015

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Middle East

The whole event was just wonderful. The space us genuinely unique and I love the theatre of the kitchen - loved how you can see the food coming together. I though the food was great and I really enjoyed finding out more about what was going on in the region. It would be nice to go into more depth with the discussion. However I understand that its important to maintain a level that suits a wide range of people.

September 2015

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Middle East

A wonderful afternoon full of thoughtful discussion, new friends and some of the best food I have eaten in London. A great way to meet new people at a venue that is an adventure in itself to locate. Would 10/10 attend again.

September 2015

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Middle East

A really wonderful experience, delicious food, informative and thought provoking history about the middle east, fantastically cool location and great company around the shared table. Thank you. We will definitely return for more!

September 2015

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Middle East

A fantastic venue, great food, good company - very much enjoyed it, as well as the political overview and the conversations it sparked. Well done.

September 2015

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Syria

Fantastic idea - food is very important to me and eating good food with good people with clear conscientious made it even more tasty. I will definitely come back.

September 2015

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Syria

The food was amazing. Really interesting to learn more about the conflict in Syria and meet some new people.

September 2015

Grub Club: Conflict Café: Syria

Amazing food and really interesting conversation - well done all involved!

October 2014

Grub Club: Conflict Kitchen London - Jordan

A delicious feast. An incredible and interesting introduction from Batool, who brought the food to life.

September 2014

Grub Club: Conflict Kitchen London - Jordan

Food was amazing, cuisine I hadn't tasted before. Really enjoyed the atmosphere, it got me chatting to some really interesting people about Jordan amongst other things. Very informative, a nice way to bring discussion back to dining. Looking forward to doing this again.

September 2014

Grub Club: Conflict Kitchen London - Peru

Wonderful night, great food and something different, learnt something new over a delicious dinner.

September 2014

Grub Club: Conflict Kitchen London - Burma

Great night! Learnt a lot, tried foods I've never had before and met some really interesting people. Hopefully see you for another one soon!

September 2014

Grub Club: Conflict Kitchen London - Peru

I liked how it was more than just about the food... that it was educational and inspiring. Be good if there are more events that feature food and social/economics/political education again.

September 2014

Grub Club: Conflict Kitchen London - Jordan

The quality of the food was delightful however the portions were frustratingly small. Tables were not served equally and so some people received more than others (namely us!!). The informational interludes were informative and a good basis to engage in conversation with dinner neighbours. Also, the quiz cards were great. A good evening but expected more for the price paid.

September 2014

Grub Club: Conflict Kitchen London - Burma

Great atmosphere which made meeting new people very easy.
Excellent food! And we were taught the best way to eat this type of cuisine which made if fun.

September 2014

Grub Club: Conflict Kitchen London - Burma

Genius cook, great company!