Overall rating:

56 ratings, 67 reviews

February 2015

Grub Club: Tea in Wonderland...

It was a fun experience and the hostess was fantastic. Christabel was really interested in our feedback and the food we had was really nice and very unusual but there was not a great deal of it (we are not big eaters fortunately so we were fine). I suggested that she include scones next time which are a British tea staple and very filling.

February 2015

Grub Club: Christabel's Edible Playground

Christabel Beeson is a human version of Barbie: she can cook, paint, and host 20+ people flawlessly—oh, and she has beautiful pearly whites and golden locks. Her creative spunk and attention to detail are what make her pop-up’s interesting, quirky, fun, hands-on and an experience, rather than just any meal in someone’s home.
We were welcomed inside with a glass of bubbly and purple popcorn before making our way into the dining room and kitchen, decorated beautifully with childhood toys, legos and of course glitter. So how are Christabel’s cooking skills?
-Winter Bubbly: beautiful with a fresh touch of pomegranate!
-Purple Popcorn: kettle corn with glitter, my lips shimmered the rest of the evening.
-Snake & Ladders Bruschetta (cheese with chilli honey): the two different cheeses made for a fun contrast of taste. The honey was interesting as it added a particular zing. Jaime and I struggled to decide whether or not we should use our American hands or stick to the European knife and fork etiquette.
-Build your own Quinoa Castle with Purple Eggs & Peppers: we were given buckets, shovels and rakes and told to design the best quinoa castle, the winner taking a prize home! Let’s just say I was too busy gobbling up the warmed quinoa and blue almonds to build.
-Paint your own Chicken (with chilli sauce): we were given paint brushes to dip into the bucket of chilli sauce. The chicken was delicious, slathered in a semi-sweet jus and topped with an added layer of chilli sauce, it was the perfect ratio of sweet to spicy. Tender, juicy, different.
-Chocolate Mousse, Chocolate Ganache Lego with Shortbread Jenga: this was the ultimate winner. The mousse was so light and airy, like a chocolate cloud. Bits of gingerbread touched the bottom of the glass bowl. The shortbread could have been slightly sweeter, but dipped well into the mousse. The lego chocolate—woowee! I loved it. Dark yet so sugary and rich, dare I say one lego was just enough.
FINAL VERDICT: if you’re looking for quirky, an excuse to escape the real world, and a way to meet new people, pop on by.

August 2014

Grub Club: Christabel's Secret Garden

We attended Christabel's on a hot summer's evening and it was great to have a pre-dinner drink on the balcony taking in the views of London and the canal. The food was good albeit a little pricey for what you got and we had good company.

August 2014

Grub Club: Christabel's Secret Garden Supper

The flat was so beautifully decorated and had an amazing view over the canal. It was great to meet such a nice group of people there and the food was delicious so thanks for a lovely evening. I would thoroughly recommend supperclubs to anyone!

August 2014

Grub Club: Christabel's Mad Hatters Brunch

Sadly did not meet expectations. Food wasn't 'mad' enough to pitch as a Mad Hatter's brunch... needed more theatre!!! Hostesses were really lovely though as were the mismatched crockery. Guess we were expecting too much!

August 2014

Grub Club: Christabel's Mad Hatters Brunch

We really enjoyed the event, a lovely way to spend a Sunday afternoon. The food was tasty and included some interesting sweet combinations... My daughter loved the white chocolate and marmalade scones. We were made to feel very welcome.

July 2014

Grub Club: Christabel's Secret Garden

This was my first ever supper club experience and what a beautiful evening it was. My dad and step mum were over from Australia and seen as my dad isn't too bad in the kitchen himself, I thought a supper club experience would go down a treat - and I was not wrong there. We had such a lovely evening full of laughing and fantastic food. We felt right at home. I can't rate this experience highly enough. I know my dad and step mum have been converted and even want to try their hand at hosting supper club when they are back in Sydney. I know for me this is the first of many more fantastic nights to come :)

July 2014

Grub Club: Christabel's Secret Garden

Great night, great place and great food!

July 2014

Grub Club: Christabel's Wimbledon Wonderland

Great venue, beautifully decorated for Wimbledon theme.

June 2014

Grub Club: Christabel's Edible Wonderland

Fabulous!

June 2014

Grub Club: Christabel's Edible Wonderland

Had a great evening thanks to Christabel being so good to me and my group for my birthday. I would definitely recommend this to everyone.

June 2014

Grub Club: Christabel's Edible Wonderland

I was disappointed with the food at Christabel's - for £28 there was not nearly enough to eat (I was starving afterwards!) - eg) just one tiny chicken breast per person for the main course. Having been to many supper clubs, I thought value for money here was very poor. That said, the starter and main were really delicious - I just wish there'd been more of them.
The pudding however was especially disappointing and not at all as described on the menu.
However, the ambience and setting were absolutely lovely and Christabel is a dream host - we still had a lovely evening.

June 2014

Grub Club: Christabel's Edible Wonderland

The overall experience was a great one,however I have reservation about the food: the portions were small and did not fill me and I ended up supplementing my hunger with done cheese when I got home. The bruschetta was original and colourful, however the bread the mushy peas were sitting on lacked freshness and left a stale taste, the asparagus was well cooked and crunchy. The main was well received as we enjoyed the marinated chiken breast in soy sauce, accompanied with broad beans , and boiled (new ) potatoes, the latter were ordinary , tasted like they were just boiled, no inventiveness there. The dessert was tasty and the mixture of the red fruits salad with a coulis ws well produced. Some guests noticed the dessert was the one on the menu. , nevertheless it was good . The setting was exceptional, 5 th floor flat , overlooking the canal , nice breezy summer evening. The decor was jovial, electric, colourful. The host was extremely friendly , however I would have liked more directive regarding facilities ( I ended up using her own private bathroom. ) , smoking etc ,,,
To sum it up, I spent an unique and memorable evening for my first edible experience , I would it was poly factorial and not only down to the food, it was mainly because if the guests we encountered that made the evening an enjoyable one

June 2014

Grub Club: Christabel's Edible Wonderland

Everything about this event, from the detail to the atmosphere was perfect. I would recommend this event to everyone.

June 2014

Grub Club: Christabel's Edible Wonderland

Fantastic Evening, Thanks!

June 2014

Grub Club: Christabel's Edible Wonderland

Epic night - thoroughly recomend to everyone!

June 2014

Grub Club: Christabel's Edible Wonderland

The food was really tasty but the portions were very small - barely enough chicken to get round a table of 12 - and there were 8 very hungry girls! Dessert was also lacking the lemon squares as described on the menu so was just berries, honeycomb and sauce. However, the ambience was great, the location was delightful and Christabel was a lovely host.

June 2014

Grub Club: Christabel's Edible Wonderland Brunch

Very nice atmosphere and a fun afternoon.

June 2014

Grub Club: Christabel's Edible Wonderland

Great experience. Loved meeting everyone and food was fantastic. Very welcoming host, lost what she does. Was looking forward to those lemon squares on the menu that didn't eventuate though.

June 2014

Grub Club: Christabel's Edible Wonderland

The decor and overall look were gorgeous and was perfect for the sunny summers evening and Christabel is lovely. The food itself was tasty but there wasn't nearly enough of it. For £28 we expected to be full but found ourselves eating again several hours after as we were starving! We did mention that we were still hungry but there was nothing left. If there had been enough food it would have been perfect.

June 2014

Grub Club: Christabel's Mad Hatters Brunch

Great Sunday treat! The place was decorated really nicely and we got to try lots of unique flavour combinations. Celery and spicy honey was a personal favourite - and I don't normally like celery!

June 2014
Grub Club: Christabel's Seaside Supper

Christabel is a great host serving lovely food. The crab salad starter was really good. A lovely venue and the table had lovely seaside decorations - sand, shells, etc.

May 2014
Grub Club: Christabel's Mad Hatters Brunch

Lovely cosy and private brunch. Food was lovely and the service was very attentive. We went for a hen do and were very welcome.

May 2014

Grub Club: Christabel's Secret Garden Supper

Christabel is a great host and a wonderfully interesting person to talk to. Her food is fascinating and beautiful and gorgeous. Thank you for a lovely evening.

May 2014
Grub Club: Christabel's Secret Garden Supper

There were 14 of us and we quickly shed the early awkward introductions and enjoyed interesting conversation, laughs and appreciation of the supper.
The food was fresh, very tasty and light.

April 2014

Grub Club: Christabel's Mad Hatters Brunch Party - *EASTER SPECIAL*

Very dissatisfied and disappointed. The food was all too sweet, barley anything savoury. Nothing served in courses, more of a buffet that was all bread based and didn't warrant the £18.00. Have been to much better events where the food was of a much higher standard. Lastly the 'mad hatters' theme was merely just a title and not executed in any artistic or creative way.

April 2014

Grub Club: Christabel's Mad Hatters Brunch Party - *EASTER SPECIAL*

Wonderful greeting and lovely apartment. Really enjoyed sweet food.

April 2014

Grub Club: Christabel's Mad Hatters Brunch Party - *EASTER SPECIAL*

Food was cute, served in a beautiful flat with nice decorations. But the portion were tiny! Not a "hearty brunch" at all :(

Would have been fine if it was half the price but at £18 a head it felt like a rip off.

March 2014
Grub Club: Christabel's Secret Garden Supper

really enjoyed my evening at Christabel's Secret Garden Supper , the food was delicious .. and the company and conversation excellent . A really happy atmosphere in a lovely apartment .. the room looked lovely .. a wonderful way to spend a Friday evening !!!

March 2014

Grub Club: Christabel's Secret Garden Supper

Fantastic creative food, everything was super from the welcome cocktail to the dessert! Enjoyed meeting some really lovely people, too. Christabel knows what she'd doing! And all her helpers were doing a super job, too. HIghly recommended.

February 2014

Grub Club: Christabel's Secret Garden Supper

February 2014

Grub Club: Christabel's Mad Hatters Brunch Party

Loved Christabel's take on brunch - a relaxed, comfy, casual meal that made me feel right at home.

The tables and seating were a bit cramped, but I adored the decor of the flat and the views from the balcony. The playing card placemats and the cute 'Eat Me' labels successfully delivered the Mad Hatters aesthetic.

Moving onto food, the Sausage Bap and Cocktail to start were just what I needed. The scones were soft and fluffy, with toppings that went down a treat. The bacon was satisfyingly crispy, The gooey chocolate brownies DID NOT DISAPPOINT. They were superb, and probably the highlight of my meal.

All in all, a recommended event!

February 2014

Grub Club: Christabel's Mad Hatters Brunch Party

Christabel is the best host, she makes you feel so welcome and goes that extra mile to make sure you have a great time.

The place was stunning and she make a massive effort to deck it out.

And what more can you ask for on a sunny sunday by the canal? Gorgeous pancakes with maple syrup and streaky bacon. mmmmmmmmm

February 2014

Grub Club: Christabel's Secret Garden Supper

Delicious food served in a lovely setting made for a great night!

January 2014
Grub Club: Christabel's Secret Garden Supper

We really enjoyed Christabel's Secret Garden supper. Christabel is a fantastic host and a talented cook. She had clearly spent a lot of time preparing the evennig and a lot of thought had gone into creating a special atmosphere. We enjoyed the conversations we had with the people we met and I liked the way Christabel made everyone feel very welcome. When is the next one!

January 2014

Grub Club: Christabel's Mad Hatters Brunch Party

Really enjoyed it, great food and a friendly host.

December 2013

Grub Club: Christabels's Mad Hatters Brunch Party - Christmas Special

Super cool with lovely people abd great food. Well done!

December 2013
Grub Club: Christabels's Mad Hatters Brunch Party - Christmas Special

A wonderful way to start the festive season! My school friends and I really enjoyed the brunch, with tea, a warm fruity cocktail, pancakes, scones and possibly the best chocolate brownie ever tasted! Well and truly stuffed like a turkey :)

November 2013

Grub Club: Christabel's Mad Hatters Brunch Party

It was a 'falling down a rabbit hole' experience - magical, beautiful and well organised. Christabel is confident, warm and welcoming.

November 2013

Grub Club: Christabel's Mad Hatters Brunch Party

It was really nice meeting new people over delish food and drinks. The pancakes were superb and the brownies, mad yummy! The sausage bap and scones were really well done too. If anything, only the bacon was slightly cold and hard but everything else was stellar. Love the decor and effort put in to keep in theme. Well done.

November 2013
Grub Club: Christabel's Mad Hatters Brunch Party

What a great way to spend a Saturday! The food was amazing (especially the sausage and chutney rolls!) and so much thought had been put into the setup and decor. Its a shame it was a rainy day otherwise the view from the apartment would have been pretty special too. Would go again in a heartbeat.

November 2013
Grub Club: Christabel's Mad Hatters Brunch Party

Christabel provided a warm welcome and relaxed atmosphere throughout with stunning crockery and delicious food. All my favorites were on the menu! Pancakes/Bacon//Maple Syrup, Soda Bread & Ornage Marmalade, fine teas and original pomegranate cocktails were only a few of the highlights. There is a lovely view from her appartment. It was really nice to meet both the hosting couple and other guests.

September 2013
Grub Club: Christabel's Mad Hatters Brunch Party

Fantastic afternoon - delicious food, amazing venue and good company. Thank you!

September 2013

Grub Club: Christabel's Mad Hatters Brunch Party

An absolutely perfect way to start a lazy Sunday; in a beautiful setting with a weird yet wonderful combination of the most sensational flavours, with a perfect,warm and attentive host. I would recommend this to anyone, and hope to go to another of Christabel's Grub Clubs soon. Thank you so much!

August 2013

Grub Club: Christabel's Mad Hatters Brunch Party

Absolutely incredible venue, super attentive host and waiters and amazing attention to detail:)

June 2013

Grub Club: Christabel's Mad Hatters Brunch Party

Christabel put on a lovely little brunch in a beautiful town house near Gloucester road. The food included some of the crispiest bacon I have eaten coupled with a near limitless supply of pancakes and maple syrup. On top of that there were mountains of delicious scones with cheddar and chutney, and lovely nutty breads.

I really enjoyed the atmosphere at the brunch, it was great seing old friends and making new ones and I very much look forward to the next one.

Thanks Christabel and best of luck in the future

June 2013

Grub Club: Christabel's Mad Hatters Brunch Party

The Madhatters brunch was wonderful ! Excellent combination of flavors (celeriac and peanut butter ... I have become a fan!) and textures (you got the brownie perfectly gooeyyy)
The hostess was gracious and smiling
I especially appreciated the attention paid to details (the decoration, napkins, tags on the table that reminded me of the book, the printed menus...)

THANKS !

June 2013
Grub Club: Christabel's Mad Hatters Brunch Party

delicious food, beautiful tables, lovely company

June 2013

Grub Club: Christabel's Mad Hatters Brunch Party

GReat effort and what a fun host. Food was delicious

May 2013

Grub Club: Christabel's Mexican Fiesta

The food on Saturday was amazing, I am sure that even the non food obsessed would say the same. The venue, decoration and atmosphere also served to make the night thoroughly enjoyable. I look forward to the next thing Christabel might conjure up!

May 2013

Grub Club: Christabel's Mexican Fiesta

Fantastic food in an excellent venue. A really jolly evening.

May 2013

Grub Club: Christabel's Mexican Fiesta

Great little event with a lot of attention to detail. The space was fantastic and the food was great too. Bravo Christabel!