Overall rating:

29 ratings, 47 reviews

December 2014

Grub Club: Bring Your Own Christmas

Unintentional home alone for Christmas so this event was a real treat. Lots of laughs, good conversation, masses of food. This event had it all. Walked a little way home and saw the most amazing sunset. A really good Christmas day

December 2014

Grub Club: Bring Your Own Christmas

A Beautiful Christmas Event, with lovely company, delicious food, everything just perfect and the most amazing Christmas tree I only saw the like of on Trafalgar Sq in the greatest place I have ever seen in the middle of London ! Last year's Christmas event was lovely but this was simply SUPERB and again all for a great Cause, so thank you again Airbnb and GrubClub for organising such a very Happy Christmas for all of us.

December 2014

Grub Club: Bring Your Own Christmas

Brilliant event! Everyone made really good effort and brought delicious food to share! Great organisation! Great to have met many of you from far and near!

September 2014

Grub Club: The Urban Food Challenge

Delicious food, and a lovely company - a great evening all round. Thanks for organizing and hosting!

September 2014

Grub Club: The Urban Food Challenge

Really nice evening, great company, Liv made us very welcome! Do it again next year!

September 2014

Grub Club: The Urban Food Challenge

Lovely evening with great people :)

July 2014

Grub Club: The Grub Club Heroes Dinner

The food was absolutely perfect..! It was lovely to meet some fellow 'grubbers' and to see how they felt about their experiences with grub club and what they intend to get out of it - quite eye opening|! Thankyou so much for the dinner and drinks guys, I hope our feedback is helpful!

July 2014

Grub Club: The Grub Club Heroes Dinner

Nice friendly bunch of people and very tasty and plentiful selection of food.

July 2014

Grub Club: The Grub Club Heroes Dinner

Thank you so much for the dinner invitation. It was so much fun to spend the evening with other enthusiastic Grub Clubbers, comparing notes and sharing ideas of what the Grub Club can become.

July 2014

Grub Club: The Grub Club Heroes Dinner

The food was amazing, as always.

December 2013
Grub Club: Bring your own Christmas!

Liv, Sid and Holly,

Thank you all so much for organising the event! What a success it was too - the food was fabulous, as was the company - and you couldn't have picked a better venue. Definitely the best supper club meeting for us for the year! Wonderful that we were able to share it with those in need too - it made the celebration all the more special, and in keeping with the spirit of Christmas. Congrats!

Best wishes for 2014 and look forward to more grub clubbing!

December 2013

Grub Club: Bring your own Christmas!

I wasn't sure what to expect when we got there - I wasn't even sure if people will come! I need to have worried, it was an amazing group of strangers who really made a huge effort to ensure that everyone had a great time.

The food was amazing and incredibly varied. The Rendang was absolutely amazing and so was the Biriyani from That Hungry Chef.

This is definitely a great way to spend Xmas, I look forward to next year!

December 2013

Grub Club: Bring your own Christmas!

So much effort went into all the food it was great to have a Xmas lunch with biryani, rendang, turkey, chicken and countless other diverse and wonderful treats. Well done to Grubclub and Airbn'b for putting it on. And £300 raised for Crisis - what a bonus!

December 2013

Grub Club: Bring your own Christmas!

What an incredible day. I was faced with the horrid feeling of being on my own for Christmas, as my family live at the other end of the world, but when I found out about the Grub Club Christmas, this brightened up my day.

The food was delicious and everyone was such fun. I can't wait for next year!

December 2013

Grub Club: Bring your own Christmas!

Congratulations to Liv, Sid and Holly for setting up such a lovely event and to everyone who participated and brought all the delicious food and were great company to make the day such fun and all for such a great cause too.

September 2013
Grub Club: Fried and Loathing in Las Vegas

Was looking forward to this event but was extremely disappointing- the food was cold and the burger really tasteless and poor. For £25 was a total rip-off, will not be attending any event again.

August 2013
Grub Club: Fried and Loathing in Las Vegas

Everything about the event was dissappointing. The burgers were cold and tasteless, the chips stale. The 'fantastic Vegas Casino' was a just few poker chips strewn on the terrace tables.

Nothing takes place on the promised '28th floor of Millbank Towers' - only on the grond floor terrace, overlooking a main road. The sound quality of the cinema meant the film was mostly inaudible and me and my friend left half-way through.

For £25 there are much, much better immersive events going on in London. Or, get a decent meal out and watch a film in a proper cinema for less.

August 2013
Grub Club: Fried and Loathing in Las Vegas

This was a disappointing event. For £25 for a film and a meal, I would expect at least edible food and an immersive, convivial atmosphere. The Wandering Chef failed to deliver on both.

We had to wait 40 minutes for the food to arrive (whilst repeatedly being told that it was only 2 minutes away). When it did eventually arrive, the food was awful. I had the burger, which actually turned out to be tepid (actually, more like cold) pulled beef in a stale bun, died a lurid green, with cold fries which appeared to be made of reconstituted potatoes. Terrible!

Atmosphere-wise, there wasn't a huge amount going on. The space was, I thought, not right for the event. The decor was very amateur - a few balloons, some bunting and table decorations consisting of decks of cards / casino chips. Entertainment-wise we interacted with a couple of magicians, and the waiting/hosting staff were dressed in line with the theme, but that was about it. As if in a desperate attempt to compensate for the palpable lack of atmosphere, the music was blaring out of the speakers (which at one point appeared to buckle and crackle under the strain), making it hard to make conversation.

Even the cinema screen was low quality, and the sound was poor.

For £10 more you could get a Secret Cinema to remember. Or if you want to stick to the £25 budget, go out to a decent burger bar with your friends, throw some cards and glitter on your dining room table and stream the movie at home.


August 2013

Grub Club: The Pig Lebowski

Who would have thought I could find so many fellow foodies & Big Lebowski fans all together in the 1 place?! Scrumptious food, great people, an excuse to down white russians and one of my favourite classics up on the big screen! Plus... an afterparty on the 28th floor!!

August 2013

Grub Club: The Pig Lebowski

Fantastic evening!! This was my first Grub Club event and it was a great way to meet so many new people and hang out with some old friends

July 2013

Grub Club: The Pig Lebowski

The food was amazing!

Luckily I snuck in there early to get my food, so I beat any queues and then got the chance to bowl with The Dude and Walt, which was great fun.

Queues were a bit long, but overall it was a really fun event and I can see a lot of hard work was put into preparing it all.

Fun night and met some great people

July 2013

Grub Club: The Pig Lebowski

Brilliant food! It took a little longer than expected to be served but it was worth the wait. I've never really liked hotdogs but this version was delicious. I'd love to know what that sauce was and what was on those chips. All my friends ordered the ribs and once they were allowed a nibble of my strike they all got really jealous.

Great fun to see so many people dressed up and of course watching the film!

July 2013

Grub Club: The Pig Lebowski

Brilliant food! It took a little longer than expected to be served but it was worth the wait. I've never really liked hotdogs but The Wandering Chef's version was delicious. I'd love to know what that sauce was and what was on those chips. All my friends ordered the ribs and once they were allowed a nibble of my strike they all got really jealous.

Great fun to see so many people dressed up and of course watching the film!

July 2013

Grub Club: The Pig Lebowski

Total disappointment. All about queues - queue for drinks, then meals, then toilets, then ice-cream (extra charged). Meals served in tiny portions, as for ribs I had - just the bones in a sauce really. Oh, and a misleading information on the event being hosted on the top of the tower - no way, just the ground floor. Never ever going to waste money on that.

July 2013

Grub Club: The Pig Lebowski

Wonderful food and great night all around. Amazing to get for just £25!

July 2013
Grub Club: The Pig Lebowski

Pretty underwhelming really. Had to queue outside in the rain for a bit, then queued inside for half an hour for food. Rib sauce leaked out of the flimsy boxes onto my trousers since there was nowhere to sit and eat. The whole event was in the ground floor lobby and didn't match up to the advertising at all.

July 2013
Grub Club: The Pig Lebowski

Like so many of the popup events I’ve been to in recent times, this was a cool idea that was let down by weak execution.
- The food was amazing but sadly the White Russians were very average.
- I’m not going to hold equipment failure against the chefs but the queuing system for the food; taking up the entire floor space in the bar, was pretty stupid. Why on earth not let people through into the much larger cinema space to wait? Also, serving food in the cinema and making people queue to get through a narrow doorway and then elbow their way back out again when served wasn’t well thought out.
- The boxes the food came in were not fit for purpose; we both ended up with sauce and salad juice in our laps :-(
- The much hyped bowling alley was a complete non-event as a) it was actually just a giant novelty bowling set with no lane and b) the area that was nominally set up to be used as a lane was very much required for people to sit in due the all the floor space indoors being taken up with aforementioned food queue.
- Likewise we were a bit disappointed that the whole event took place on the ground floor and the 28th floor bar, where we had rather assumed the event would be, was only opened after the movie had finished.
It might have made more sense to have installed the bowling lane upstairs in the bar and allowed people access to this area before the film as well as after.
- At the end of the movie, it was frustrating to be hurried out of the downstairs bar but told we couldn’t take our drinks upstairs, only to get up there and find that the bar run by the same bar staff, so very clearly the same operation.

We definitely didn’t have a bad night at the Pig Lebowski but it wasn’t a great night either. I think the problem with so many of these sorts of events is that they are run by people who don’t have any experience in event management, which is a real shame as they could be awesome if planned just a little bit better.

(We also think that someone needs to have a bit of a word with the security guard/bouncer guy. He was very pushy and unnecessarily officious. I was told I could not sit down and I had to leave the downstairs bar as it was closing. I pointed out I was finishing my drink as I couldn’t take it upstairs and was told it was ok to stand there and finish my drink but I was not allowed to sit down to do it. Which seemed just a bit ridiculous)

July 2013

Grub Club: The Pig Lebowski

Not too bad for your first event, but i think you could have chosen a better venue! The wait for food was terrible. Nowhere to sit and eat and by the time you pick your food up it's cold! Good luck for the next one though :)

July 2013

Grub Club: The Pig Lebowski

Had such a good time. Met some cracking new people, ate some fine ribs and snuck a bit of a very good hot dog from someone else. GREAT venue too. And some good music...