Overall rating:

7 ratings, 9 reviews

October 2017

Grub Club: Lasa London

Such a lovely evening with amazing food and company!! Filipino is fast becoming my favourite cuisine and Rex did it justice - thank you!!

October 2017

Grub Club: Lasa London

A bit loud in the venue, but I guess it means everyone was having a great time!

October 2017

Grub Club: Lasa London

I had the pleasure to attend the Lasa London Pop-Up (27th Oct 2017). It was a fantastic experience, the food, the service and the other diners. The Sharing Platter starters were simple but packed with flavour; the main course of pork was melt in the mouth beautiful with exquisite accompaniments. The dessert was a revelation. I could not fault a single thing as as this is my first experience of Philippine Cuisine - I can't wait for more!

October 2017

Grub Club: Lasa London

Fantastic night with really lovely food!

April 2014
Grub Club: A Taste of the Philippines

Really fantastic food!

April 2014

Grub Club: A Taste of the Philippines

Me and my husband enjoyed Rex's food so much! It was amazingly tasty and full of unexpected creative combinations. Truly inspirational!

April 2014
Grub Club: A Taste of the Philippines

I didn't really have any expectations of what this dinner would be like as I've never tried Filipino food before. I had imagined all the Asian stereotypical dishes from the various regions but this was something else. For starter we had pork belly with mango salsa. I was wary after reading the menu about pork belly because I feel restaurants usually serve glorified fat cubes with little taste. This belly was more like ribs in the texture and beautifully cooked and marinated pork. It's sticky glaze was less sweet than expected but the extra sweetness was delivered expertly with the mango. Fantastic beginning. The main was chicken adobo (apparently the national dish and despite the Philippines being the 12th most populated country on the planet I had never heard of it). When people describe nice dishes they often describe the flavours as simple. despite them suing this as a compliment I find this quite patronising to chefs. This main wasn't simple. The flavours were clean and directional. Each taste had a complimentary taste. The chicken lollipop was a beautiful addition to an already flavoursome dish whilst I dont think I've ever tried more flavourful rice before sauce was added. Now I wouldn't say I had a sweet-tooth. In fact I'm particularly picky when it comes to desserts. For pudding we had plantain spring-rolls. I was unsure of this as personally I thought banana would be a stronger flavour. However that's the difference between a home-cook and a talent young chef. The plantain held it's form infinity better than a banana ever could which gave the spring roll depth and structure. To accompany what was clearly the highlight of the evening the spring-roll was presented with home-made salted caramel ice cream. usually I hate my salty and sweet foods to be mixed (taste OCD if you will) but this was simply wonderful. Not too sweet, not too salty; simply balanced. Overall I cant praise Le Happy Chef enough. Clearly on this showing of a modern twist on Filipino food he showed thought and skill beyond his years. Alright the criticism levelled against me could be that I have never eaten Filipino food before but after being graced with eating this food, I'll never eat anything but Filipino food again. Absolutely superb.

March 2014

Grub Club: A Taste of the Philippines

All 3 courses were brilliant, this evening was my first try of Filipino food and it has set the bar very high! My favourite was the Tocino starter. Thanks LeHappyChef, great dining experience!

March 2014

Grub Club: A Taste of the Philippines

I asked some people around me hows the Filipino food! They said its incredible. Very unusual and fantastic menu.