Overall rating:

43 ratings, 50 reviews

December 2014

Grub Club: "Taste the British Caribbean"

The food was very tasty and creatively plated, and it was clear from his explanations that Chef Jason put a lot of thought into each dish. The company was great too!

December 2014

Grub Club: "Taste the British Caribbean"

Highly recommended!

December 2014

Grub Club: "Taste the British Caribbean"

The food was original, delicious and beautifully presented. The chefs themselves were personable and clearly passionate about the food they created. My girlfriend claims this was one of her favourite meals ever and I'd be inclined to agree!

November 2014

Grub Club: "Taste the British Caribbean"

Fantastic food. Jason is so creative at playing around with the very best of Caribbean flavours. It was delicate with the right touch of spice. Beautiful presentation and fantastic contrast of flavours and textures. Such a creative way to play on the concept of traditional British dishes while completely transforming them to bring out the best of the Caribbean. Delighted I got to Taste the British Caribbean!

November 2014

Grub Club: "Taste the British Caribbean"

Went back for a second visit and was blown away by how the dishes had evolved in a week!! Incredible and innovative cooking.

November 2014

Grub Club: "Taste the British Caribbean"

Incredible food and spectacular presentation. Would highly recommend to anyone! Chef Jason Howard took a creative approach to Caribbean dishes with a nouvelle cuisine twist. Came back for a second time and was somehow even better than the 1st night. Stop reading this review and book it!

November 2014

Grub Club: "Taste the British Caribbean"

Brilliant evening, Amazing food
I will definitely go back, Caribbean flavours presented as you have never been before !!!

November 2014

Grub Club: "Taste the British Caribbean"

A superb evening with exciting flavours, from the beef Wellington including plantain (an amazing combination), the delicious salt fish soup with creamy, smoky and spicy flavours dancing on the tongue to the deconstructed Trifle. A perfect fusion of Caribbean and traditional British food.

November 2014

Grub Club: "Taste the British Caribbean"

Incredible world class food. The dishes were delicious works of art. Jason is an incredibly talented chef, one of the leaders of modern caribbean cuisine. It was a joy to taste the delightful menu which took twits on both British and Caribbean classics. Will be back for sure!!

November 2014

Grub Club: "Taste the British Caribbean"

The food during this dining experience was pure perfection. I cannot rate it highly enough!! All of the dishes have real depth to their flavours and it is also such a unique experience, a genius twist on Caribbean cuisine. I highly recommend this night!!!

November 2014

Grub Club: "Taste the British Caribbean"

Go for the food. Its very creative and well executed.

November 2014

Grub Club: "Taste the British Caribbean"

Chef Howard left us in awe, again, in this collaboration with Michael Dutnall for a unique “British Caribbean” culinary adventure. The food was inventive and delicious, and we appreciated Chef Howard's explaining to diners their inspiration and sourcing of ingredients. We can’t wait for the next project!

November 2014

Grub Club: "Taste the British Caribbean"

Amazing food. Disappointing service from the Meridian

June 2014

Grub Club: Taste the Caribbean by Chef Jason Howard

the set up was the one of a restaurant and did not help on the social side. The food was good, some improvement could be done but the chef has come to every table at the end to ask for feedback and that makes me put a positive mark on it. Good luck!

June 2014

Grub Club: Taste the Caribbean by Chef Jason Howard

From the apple daiquiris that greeted us to the delicately sweet coconut ganache the food was innovative and exciting. The star of the evening was the curried goat that had depth of flavour and just the right amount of heat. Jason impressed us with his warm and friendly manner and his attentiveness to each and every guest. He was even kind enough to let us in on the goat curry secret ingredient! This was a truly inspiring Caribbean experience.

June 2014

Grub Club: Taste the Caribbean Redefined by Chef Jason Howard

The work of Chef Jason Howard was truly remarkable with his take on French culinary meet Caribbean food. His dishes was perfectly cooked and executed with bright colours, ingredients and flavours that made it a feast of goodness.
Each dish had it unique flavouring from the salt fish ravioli to my favourite the pudding with souse which I could have had seconds.
Chef Jason Howard is on his way to become one of the biggest Chef out of the Caribbean by the standers and quality of food he and his team delivered on this night.

June 2014

Grub Club: Taste the Caribbean Redefined by Chef Jason Howard

Excellent evening, beats any other caribbean restaurant out there, great food, credit to the Chef and his team for providing a redfined menu of classic caribbean food, Would recommend to everyone and will be booking for the next event.

June 2014

Grub Club: Taste the Caribbean Redefined by Chef Jason Howard

I am a picky eater so when ever I eat out I am not looking forward to much my partner dragged me out to this event and I must say it was one of the best culinary experiences I have ever had the dishes are not disturbed in taste or smell but are presented in a very elegantly way and I should know because me and Chef jason howard share the same heritage (BAJAN)

June 2014

Grub Club: Taste the Caribbean by Chef Jason Howard

Attended on 30th March and was blown away by the quality of the food prepared by Chef Jason Howard and his team. Food was presented beautifully and captured some of the quintessential flavours of the Carribbean. Jason's attention to detail was meticulous and I wish him every luck in his future ventures. I'll certainly be keeping an eye on what he's up to next as I cannot wait to sample more of his delicious food from the Carribbean.

June 2014

Grub Club: Taste the Caribbean by Chef Jason Howard

We really enjoyed this meal. Jason came out and spoke to all the diners at the beginning which was great. The courses were just the right size for a six course meal and the flavours were amazing. Would highly recommend anything cooked by Jason!

The only slight downside was the arrival as the staff seemed a bit confused about organisation of tabs for drinks and we were overlooked by the bar staff. We ended up hovering by the bar for quite a while waiting to either be served or be seated. I'm sure this is just the result of the occasional nature of these events.

June 2014

Grub Club: Taste the Caribbean by Chef Jason Howard

Delicious and interesting take on some traditional dishes like goat curry and some new tastes like the amazing dessert dish with jelly, marshmallow and meringue.

Great to see Chef Jason making the effort to come out and meet guests and talk about his aspirations and approach.

June 2014

Grub Club: Taste the Caribbean

Chef Jason Howard has redefined complex Caribbean dishes from what we know as kids growing up in the West Indies, to dishes rivalling any Michelin Starred restaurant in London. I was so proud to see one of my favourite Bajan dishes (Pudding and Souse) presented to me in such an elegant way I shed a tear. Being a Chef myself I would truly like to work with Jason to help him bring to London what is truly missing, elegant Caribbean food that every West Indian can be proud of. Great job Jason

June 2014
Grub Club: Taste the Caribbean by Chef Jason Howard

Our first encounter with Caribbean food, and it was love at first sight. Great flavors, unique ingredients and stylish presentation throughout all the dishes. Loved it!

June 2014

Grub Club: Taste the Caribbean by Chef Jason Howard

I have been to some fantastic supper clubs lately, but when it comes to food, Chef Jason's supper club is the best food I had so far in a supper club. His dishes are well balanced, out of this world delicious, elegant, and interesting. I can only say, find the time and go to experience some really amazing food. Chef Jason also came to every table that evening to meet with his guests, which also made the experience very personal. I have already booked his next event!

June 2014
Grub Club: Taste the Caribbean by Chef Jason Howard

Excellent meal cooked by Jason Howard and his colleagues - Unfamiliar, interesting ingredients cooked with finesse

June 2014

Grub Club: Taste the Caribbean by Chef Jason Howard

Great food - very delicious, interesting flavour combinations, nicely arranged, appropriate portions
Rare carribean taste in London
Location not ao great though - very loud, drafty, style of the room not fitting the style of the menu

April 2014
Grub Club: Jason Howard redefines the way we see Caribbean food

I have one word FAB-U-LOUS !!!

April 2014

Grub Club: Jason Howard redefines the way we see Caribbean food

A five course extravaganza: from the subtly sublime, to the fullest of flavours. Each dish in isolation is a triumph of reimagined street classics turned into the classiest interpretations befitting a Michelin Star eatery. As a full journey through the tastes and ingredients of the the Caribbean, this is a truly original and spectacular exploration. Five courses is a tough undertaking for any customer, but the dainty pre-course plates gracefully introduce the the main dishes in a, sort of, rhythmic way that you only get with music and dancing.
I know I won't get this experience again, down to Jason's doing not mine, but that makes it all the more special. I just can't wait until the next island adventure.

April 2014

Grub Club: Jason Howard redefines the way we see Caribbean food

The starter ignited my tastebuds, the coconut broth exquisite, the pork belly succulent, jerk chicken breast ambushed me with flavours, red sorrel cream brûlée held me to ransom and the mango & passion fruit cheesecake took me to food heaven

April 2014

Grub Club: Jason Howard redefines the way we see Caribbean food

My wife and I where treat to an amazing set of entries filling our taste buds and with lovely spices, meat and with sweets to end. What a meal.

April 2014

Grub Club: Jason Howard redefines the way we see Caribbean food

Great showcase for this Bajan Chef, with Caribbean flavours fine dining style. A 6 course meal to tease the taste buds. From the delicious curried saltfish Hor d'oeuvres which I could have eaten a plate full and Sweet potato and tarragon veloute (soup to you and me) Yum Yum Yum, to my favourite dish, the melt in the mouth jerk pork belly. I found the jerked chicken a little to hot for me, maybe cut back on the spice just a little.
The Mango & Passion fruit Cheesecake looked nothing like a cheesecake I've ever seen, the presentation was fabulous. Well Done Jason!

April 2014

Grub Club: Jason Howard redefines the way we see Caribbean food

Great food that took my palate back to the Caribbean. Loved the puree plantain and salt fish d'oeuvre. All six courses were nicely done but my favourite was the sweet potato veloute with coconut foam.

March 2014
Grub Club: Jason Howard redefines the way we see Caribbean food

Loved all 7 courses and I have never seen Caribbean food presented this way. Loved the intimacy of the pop up restaurant and Jason Howard was very attentive chef. 10/10 looking forward to the next one

March 2014
Grub Club: Jason Howard redefines the way we see Caribbean food

Some months ago I went to Osteria Francescano in Modena, billed as the third best restaurant in the world. All I can say is, Jason Howard's meal on 11 March was far, far better. Amazing flavours - this is his great strength - he absolutely understands how food should taste, every course a contrast and a delight - no duds from start to finish.

Sweet potato veloute to start (soup to you and me) might not sound particuarly magical but combined with coconut and bay leaf foam, it really was. The seafood course was beautiful, light and fresh. Slow-cooked pork belly was melt in the mouth and with just a hint of carribbean spice. Jerk chicken made you sit up - it was hot! I loved it. The dessert which featured mango and white chocolate was, my companion declared, the best pudding he had ever eaten. We were left literally fighting over the caramel and passionfruit petit fours. In the end I had to cut the last one in half!

An amazing meal.

March 2014

Grub Club: Jason Howard redefines the way we see Caribbean food

As a fruit/veg importer specialising in Caribbean produce it's not too often I get surprise by Caribbean cuisine. But the unique presentation and perfect blending of Caribbean flavours with European techniques seen in Jason's Howard's dishes made me stop with each mouthful and take notice. Never before have I experience such sophisticated Caribbean food, across a series of dishes that just got better, more refined and more surprising as the meal progressed. Chef Howard is definitely a chef to watch. His passion and skill will bring this cuisine to the top, I am excited to follow his journey - the future of Caribbean cuisine is definitely in his kitchen!


and I cant wait to see what

March 2014

Grub Club: Jason Howard redefines the way we see Caribbean food

6 finely tuned dishes with canapés as appetisers! Orgasmic flavours, beautiful dishes. I was taking pictures of the food all night the presentation was fabulous.
I have been to many restaurants and this night was definitely one of the best I have been to in a long time congratulations Chef Howard !

March 2014

Grub Club: Jason Howard: a new take on Caribbean

An amazing night! The flavours the presentation out of this world! Not your typical Caribbean experience but all of the traditional Caribbean flavours! YOU MUST GO !!

February 2014

Grub Club: Jason Howard: a new take on Caribbean

Attended this event with my mother, a Caribbean woman with a great set of taste buds and who can be hard to please. With each course we were both curious and excited to try and always pleased with the balance of taste and flavour. The Jerk Chicken was a special surprise and not the same as the run of the mill Jerk that we have had. The spice was hidden in the middle of the chicken and was delicious. The dessert was amazing from the presentation to the taste. A great evening, great venue and fantastic food. Jason Howard is one to watch and I look forward to sampling his food again soon!

February 2014

Grub Club: Jason Howard: a new take on Caribbean

Being of Caribbean background and having avidly followed this young chefs career and understanding his vision; I was completely blown away by the offerings of the evening. He has masterfully rearranged the flavours of home, and put such creativity into his work that he left us awe struck and wailing for more. I mean, Sorrel Sorbet...inside out Jerk Chicken...need I say more? Absolute Genius. JA x

February 2014

Grub Club: Jason Howard: a new take on Caribbean

An exquisite evening with exceptional food! Each course was amazing, creatively presented and masterfully crafted.

February 2014
Grub Club: Jason Howard: a new take on Caribbean

Every course was orgasmic!! Thoroughly enjoyed the food, the ambience and the whole experience. Excellent night! Well done to Jason and his team for the incredible food they prepared and served.

February 2014

Grub Club: Jason Howard: a new take on Caribbean

The quality of food and the amazing combination of flavours alone, I have never experienced eating at a fine dining establishment. But add to that the fact that Jason managed to bring the Caribbean into each dish was fantastic! Well done on a wonderful evening! I look forward to many many more!!!

February 2014

Grub Club: Jason Howard: a new take on Caribbean

Food for thought! How does one take the humble Caribbean cuisine and transport it into fine dining Jason Howards sophisticated take on Caribbean fine dining did just that.
His 6 course menu took traditional Caribbean ingredients to the next level, each dish offered bursts of exotic flavours, elegantly plated a true experience of decadence.
His tantalising flavours will appeal to the most discerning of food connoisseurs, and to those wanting to expand their pallets
I can’t wait to taste more of Chef Jason Howard’s fabulous creations

February 2014

Grub Club: Jason Howard: a new take on Caribbean

This is Caribbean cuisine at another level.
Often Caribbean menus are large, falling off the plate and lacking favour. This was totally amazing 6 dishes, delicately put together the flavors we exquisite. The mix of Caribbean flavours in a French setting was a totally unique and brilliant idea!
Hats off to Chef Howard cannot wait until the next one !

February 2014

Grub Club: Jason Howard: a new take on Caribbean

I've been to many establishments who's menus are founded Caribbean cuisine and have often been left disappointed; however this was a breath of fresh air!!! Delicately plated dishes infused with the taste of the Caribbean suitable for any pallet.. You do not have to be from the Caribbean to appreciate this food.
Both subtle and powerful, Jason Howard has managed to achieve a perfect balance between staying true to his Caribbean roots and a la carte fine dining.

Sign me up for the next event!