Overall rating:

43 ratings, 61 reviews

November 2013

Grub Club: LQ @ SK: CLOSING DINNER SPECIAL

Great food, lovely ambiance, wonderful wine pairings - THANK YOU

November 2013

Grub Club: LQ @ Chateau Marmot

Overall we had a pleasant evening but not quite the dazzling evening that we perhaps expected. We walked away having enjoyed the food but also feeling a little let down - as the flaws were in some basic areas that suggest over-ambition or a lack of detailed planning.

Good things:
- The food was really spectacular with some great flavour combinations and some very original cooking. The quality of what was produced is not easily matched and I tried some new food things (e.g. razor clams, served with guacamole and spicy carrots). The venison tartare was the standout (served with chicken liver and basil breadcrumbs).

Bad things:
- The service was really slow (I have eaten multi-course tasters double digit times this before). Our table waited nearly an hour in between 4th and 5th courses. Some tables had been served and cleared up before it came to us. Too many covers for the size of the kitchen.
- Ive never walked away from a meal hungry before (esp 6 courses). This was the first time I have. The same went for 3 of the 4 at our table. A cardinal sin! (Especially disapointing when you can get 3-course Michellin starred cooking in London for less money and be full.)
- The wine pairing taster wasn't terribly good value at £36 for 5 small (125ml) glasses - albeit the wine was very nice.
- Having advertised a 7:30 start the first course didn't come out until past 8pm. It would have been nice to have had some bread or nibbles or something to snack on whilst waiting.

November 2013

Grub Club: LQ @ Chateau Marmot

What a fantastic evening! I am a vegetarian and the menu was well altered to cater for my dietary requirements. It looked the same as my friends' dishes too so I didn't feel like I was 'missing out'! Our waiter was lovely, took time to explain all the courses and how best to eat them. Fabulous somalier too. Was very impressed.

November 2013

Grub Club: LQ @ Chateau Marmot

A great blend of British and American cuisine translated into 6 seasonal dishes with a complexity of flavours. The flight of wine perfectly matched the menu and the staff were friendly, informative and informal.
The video art on the walls and the live background music further added a trendy East London pop-up vibe crossed with a fine dinning experience which I believed they organisers were trying to create.

November 2013

Grub Club: LQ @ Chateau Marmot

Fantastic from start to finish. We were looked after well by the staff and our slightly difficult dietary requirements (a pregnant woman and a non-meat eater) were well accommodated by the kitchen.

The food was outstanding and would highly recommend selecting the wine flight to anyone going in future- the wines were well chosen and complemented the food superbly.

I can't wait to go to their next event.

November 2013

Grub Club: LQ @ Chateau Marmot

6 tasty and we'll thought-out courses of quality food.

November 2013

Grub Club: LQ @ Chateau Marmot

This was as close to perfection as a pop-up gets. I don't think I've ever had anything quite so perfect as that chestnut soup. The corn pannacotta was incredible as well. Ever dish was just perfectly judged - and everything just sat so well together.

Awesome.

November 2013

Grub Club: LQ @ Chateau Marmot

we had a fun evening with great food and entertainment. All courses were cooked and presented with confidence. Theo Cooper from Chateau Marmot was a gracious host greeting all of guests and stopping by each table. Looking forward to the next event!

November 2013
Grub Club: LQ @ Chateau Marmot BRUNCH

Loved it - the food ... oh my geeez. Words i had never heard of before like congee and boudin blanc... very delicately presented food, with exciting flavours! This chef chap skully is a genius!

November 2013

Grub Club: LQ @ Chateau Marmot

A gastronomic treat to share with friends and loved ones. The food is mind-blowing, inspiring and sensual. Thank you for a wonderful evening

November 2013

Grub Club: LQ @ Chateau Marmot

We came on Saturday night and were celebrating my brother's birthday. We had a really great evening and he really loved it. The food was astonishing, with particular highlights being the veal sweatbreads and the skate tempura. The wine flight was also the perfect accompaniment - the match with the rabbit was particularly good. Throughout the meal we had just the right level of attentive service - explanations of the food and the wine, and alternative dishes for my vegetarian girlfriend and pregnant sister in law, that were every bit as good as the original dishes. So I'm not sure we could have asked for more. Definitely recommended.

November 2013

Grub Club: LQ @ Chateau Marmot BRUNCH

i had a birthday brunch at Chateau Marmot yesterday. We were a large group with varied dietary requirements and CM catered very well for all of us. Each course was light, delicious and beautifully presented. I felt just the right amount of full at the end of 4 courses. All of our plates came out at the same time and drinks were on the table within a few minutes of being ordered. The orchard bellinis were delicious, as were the bloody mary's so I hear. The whole experience was obviously very well thought through. Our waitresses were fun and polite and we weren't rushed out the door at the end. And I got a rousing chorus of happy birthday and a candle to blow out with my final course. :-) All in all a lovely, memorable birthday meal. Thank you!

November 2013

Grub Club: LQ @ Chateau Marmot

Lots of different taste sensations in a great atmosphere . . . Made we want to come back another evening to do the whole thing over again

November 2013

Grub Club: LQ @ Chateau Marmot BRUNCH

Great veggie options, each course was different and tasty too.

November 2013

Grub Club: LQ @ Chateau Marmot BRUNCH

I had a great time at Chateau Marmot on Sunday. We had a birthday brunch for around 20 people - the food was excellent, service great and cocktails topped off the experience! I'm a vegetarian and the tweaks they made to each dish for me were really well chosen.

I would definitely recommend Chateau Marmot and will be booking for their next pop up.

Oh, and great art choices too for the decor.

Alex.

November 2013

Grub Club: LQ @ Chateau Marmot BRUNCH

Considering the inexpensive cost (£23 per person) for a four course brunch, I would happily recommend to other adventurous foodies. I'm now an avid fan of hare and I will be looking out for mulberries and cornbread in the future.

November 2013

Grub Club: LQ @ Chateau Marmot BRUNCH

Even though it felt it was more a lunch than a brunch, the experience was great: the food was delicious; the portions were not too big - just the perfect size; the place was really nice; the music was not loud; the staff were nice; it was a pleasure to have a chance to meet the Chateau Marmot's owner and Laurent Quenious, the chef. The only downside was the wait between the plates, but I suppose that did not ruin our experience, and I definitely want to do it again.
Thank you all for a lovely day.

November 2013
Grub Club: LQ @ Chateau Marmot BRUNCH

Terrific food at brunch on Sunday, including things I'd never tried before. Very inventive (without being intimidating) and just the right amounts of everything, although the first course of hare tostada was the winner for me and could have easily consumed another portion, greedily. Great atmosphere, too.

November 2013

Grub Club: LQ @ Chateau Marmot BRUNCH

I enjoyed a truly amazing brunch on Sunday. 5 star food, service and atmosphere. Very pleased (the Bloody Mary went down very well too)

November 2013

Grub Club: LQ @ Chateau Marmot

We arrived in a dark street in what appeared to be an industrial estate and to our surprise we entered a bright warehouse style restaurant full of eager diners! We went for the haute marmot wine flight and the champagne cocktail both of which were excellent. The food was delicious and our waitress was glabsolutely great! The wine guy was not so chatty when recommending which wine flight to go for, only that the one we had was better, which was of course correct. He was nice and chatty throughout the meal telling us about the wines. The dessert and cheeses were to die for! I would 100% recommend

November 2013
Grub Club: LQ @ Chateau Marmot BRUNCH

Loved the brunch - relaxed and fun environment, and the food was fantastic. Still mmmm-ing at the thought of the wild hare tostada the next day. Thanks v much, will definitely be booking for the next one.

November 2013
Grub Club: LQ @ Chateau Marmot BRUNCH

I had such a lovely meal at Chateau Marmot. The space was really cool, the service was friendly and prompt and the food was absolutely fantastic and really unusual. I'll definitely be going again.

November 2013
Grub Club: LQ @ Chateau Marmot BRUNCH

It's hard to get a decent brunch in London Town. Cahteau Marmot did not disappoint and provided a vegetarian option for my veggie needs. Really amazing location, it felt like I had stepped out of London for the morning.

November 2013

Grub Club: LQ @ Chateau Marmot BRUNCH

Friendly atmosphere, fantastic food, beauitful space and brilliant service!

November 2013
Grub Club: LQ @ Chateau Marmot

We were a table of nine friends seated together who were well looked after by the waiting staff. The atmosphere was fun and friendly with a great band playing for much of the evening to a backdrop of video projections on the wall. The 6 courses all looked beautiful and each one was tastetastic. The wine flight we had meant the flavours in one really brought out the flavours in the other. All in all a great experience and we will definitely be on the look out for the next Chateau Marmot event.

November 2013
Grub Club: LQ @ Chateau Marmot

We had a really enjoyable night out hosted by the Chateau Marmot team. It was my second Marmot experience and yet again it didnt disappoint. This time the venue was bigger & better than the last and although it was full there was plenty of space. I started with a very nice craft beer and moved onto a very nice full bodies Syrah red. The food was very good & it was nice to have several courses which you wouldn't find on many menus and presented in an impressive way. It was tasty, and the 6 courses had portions that were the right amount to fill me up without feeling bloated. The team very very friendly and the service was great. Food all came together, cleared promptly and drinks brought and filled straight away. There was even a superb 3 piece band playing live which was a nice touch. Well done to the Marmot team, we look forward to the next one!....

November 2013

Grub Club: LQ @ Chateau Marmot

I just loved this meal. Every course was delicious and memorable and I wanted to eat it all over again. Loved the music, the art and the atmosphere and especially the host and his explanations of the thought behind each course and matching wines. I can't wait to go to the next one. Thanks team chateau marmot! It was a lovely evening!

November 2013
Grub Club: LQ @ Chateau Marmot

We attended last night (group of 4) and everything was top class, the food, the service and the venue. A few of the customers were a bit rowdy but the waiting staff were fantastic in politely calming them all down.

Will definitely be coming back!

November 2013
Grub Club: LQ @ Chateau Marmot

I ate here with some friends on the opening night of Chateau Marmot in London. We arrived at 7:30pm prompt, as specifically asked to do so in the email sent around, and were promptly seated, drinks ordered etc which was fine. Ambiance was ok, the best you could get in a white warehouse room really. It seemed to be mostly large groups which I would definitely recommend, it isn’t a cosy, romantic meal for 2 kind of venue. Despite all the diners arriving on time, the food didn’t quite manage to do the same. It was a long wait for the one singular oyster, and you would think that £50 per head would afford you more than one. It was a very tasty oyster, but it geared your stomach up for more and unfortunately ‘more’ didn’t come for some time after that. The second course, a fish selection, was in my opinion the best course by far. The only criticism of that course was the size, the flavours went together really well and were quite refreshing. I could have eaten it in 2 mouthfuls but restrained myself as I knew that would be my lot for a while.

Hare pie was a flavour I hadn’t experienced before, and to be fair to the small portion you probably wouldn’t have wanted any more as it was quite rich. Sadly the pastry was a bit soggy but the dish was nice overall. I just didn’t understand the ‘uni porridge’ dish, but maybe my pallet isn’t quite refined enough to appreciate the delights of the various parts of a sea urchin…

Pudding was the most disappointing part of the meal. I was really hoping for some exciting, vibrant, colourful taste sensation but it was just granola and yoghurt, simple as that. I have a real sweet tooth so was looking forward to this the most, and I just couldn’t help feeling more effort could have been made with the desert. I do appreciate that whilst I personally may not have loved all the food, it was different and used exciting ingredients. But granola is neither different nor exciting.

Whist the delay in between courses wasn’t ideal, the most frustrating thing was the inconsistency in the service. On several occasions, most of our table had been served their food, whilst one to two would be left waiting for theirs to arrive whist the waiters/waitresses had moved on to other tables, so we all had to wait and the food would be getting cold. Aside from the company of your party, there wasn’t much else to serve as a distraction whilst waiting for the next course. Some bread for the table in between courses would have gone down a treat.

Overall, I had a fun evening, but that was more down to the people I came with than the culinary experience. The food was eye-opening in parts, enjoyable in others and vaguely disappointing in most. If you opt for the wine tasting, you are looking at an expensive night that probably wasn’t worth the hard earned cash it cost. I’m glad I did it, if only to say I have sampled ‘haute cuisine’, but I probably wouldn’t do it again.

November 2013
Grub Club: LQ @ Chateau Marmot

My husband and I dined at LQ @ Chateau Marmot last night. We were told to arrive at 7.30pm prompt and by 8.40pm had been served only one course consisting of one oyster. I had advised in advance that I did not eat seafood and so did not receive the oyster (after having to remind 3 separate people that tried to place an oyster in front of me that I did not eat seafood). I was eventually served the garnish of the oyster dish as the 'vegetarian' option - a slice of fig and some onion salsa. The second dish was haddock so again I just received the accompaniments of what was already a miniscule dish (and not even the pancetta which I could have eaten). For £50 per head this was outrageous. They had not even served bread which may have helped with the hunger we were all developing at this point. The rest of the meal continued in a similar vain, tiny dishes, often served luke warm, and by the end of the 6th dish (at 11.20pm) we were both left hungry.

If the meal had not been paid in advance we would have undoubtedly walked out.

The venue was also cold and lacked atmosphere and we were required to share a table with 5 other people despite requesting a table for 2.

The one and only slightly redeeming feature was that our waitress was friendly and to be honest seemed quite embarrassed by the whole thing. Generally the wait staff were completely out of their depth and appeared to be like rabbits in headlights for the duration of the dinner.

By the end of the evening people were throwing paper aeroplanes around the venue, a sign of being fed up I am sure.

For something that is billed as a fine dining experience and is priced as such I can honestly say, without hyperbole, that it was the worst dining experience I have ever had.

November 2013

Grub Club: LQ @ Chateau Marmot

After a lot of hype and a few weeks of anticipation I must say I was left extremely disappointed by LQ @ Chateau Marmot whose menu felt like it was crafted in the height of 1990's "fine dining" and small portions before being stumbled upon now.

Sold as a sumptuous 6 course meal spread across 3 hours I looked forward to a feast of exquisite food, well paired wines and some light entertainment. Instead I was subjected to measly portions, poor service and the repeated projection of a leaky tap onto the wall directly in front of me.

The menu itself sounded fascinating upon first inspection; however, as the night wore on, a cynicism engulfed the room reducing "Brussels sprout leaves in an XO sauce" to what they really were, the outer layer of a peeled Brussels sprout served on the edge of a soggy filo pasty.

What started as a joke on one table about the close proximity of a McDonalds came full circle when parties recognised each other outside the walk-through style fast food chain.

At one point the room erupted into a paper airplane competition as tables challenged tables to stave off boredom and see who could fly the furthest. One lucky plane even made it out of the brightly lit East London warehouse.

The groups were only appeased by the final dessert course- essentially a smattering of granola against a wall of yoghurt served over a smear of liquorice. The only compliment I could provide this abortion of a breakfast course would be to say that it was probably the nicest granola I have ever had.

Three times we asked the resident sommelier for more information on the paired wine flight only to be provided with the country of origin and little else. During one course this info was only provided after checking with the bar staff who had poured it from the bottle.

In short, the experience truly lacked the substance that the style of dining is revered for. Instead, hungry patrons were subjected to a prolonged and haphazard insight into the worst parts of 1990's fine dining which left me thankful I was too young to appreciate it first time round.

November 2013

Grub Club: LQ @ Chateau Marmot

I was left very hungry after the menu, and 6 out of our party of 8 had to make a trip to McDonalds on the way home to satisfy our hunger. The food was interesting and tasted nice, however the event was massively let down by the service (each course, the waiter left one or two people without food for 5 minutes until prompted), the entertainment (guitarist who played radiohead esc songs all night killing the mood), wait between courses (30-40minutes) to be rewarded with the smallest portions. For the price and build up AVOID THIS EVENT.

November 2013

Grub Club: LQ @ Chateau Marmot

Ate here on 31st Oct. Food was generally excellent, however portion sizes were tiny (we left hungry!) & 3.5hrs to serve six tiny courses seemed somewhat excessive. In addition to this, the service was somewhat haphazard & after arriving slightly early (to ensure we were on time for the 7.30 start) we were just told to wait in a very brightly lit room with not so much as a drink available!

Overall, excellent food but not great value for money & certainly didn't expect to leave contemplating a stop off in Macdonalds in the way home!