Overall rating:

30 ratings, 42 reviews

September 2013

Grub Club: Ayam Legend's Indonesian BBQ

Have been wanting to go to Skyroom for ages and finally booked the Indonesian BBQ. For £10 I thought it was really good value and really tasty. The bar is low lit and really intimate, perfect for a date. The cocktails were great too! Would highly recommend

September 2013

Grub Club: Ayam Legend's Indonesian BBQ

Amazing! Would highly recommend!!

September 2013

Grub Club: Ayam Legend's Indonesian BBQ

had a fantastic time with everyone. food was awesome, definitely go again :-)

September 2013
Grub Club: Ayam Legend's Indonesian BBQ

Place was easy to find! The staff were great and excited serving guests! Great atmosphere. The food was nice although the seafood skewer was not really tasty. Would have preferred fish and prwans separately but hey ho maybe that is not the way they do things in Indonesia. bar prices were great as there was a good selection of gins, cocktails and wine.
Will deffo try again for a pre dinner drink.
Actually as a Londoner felt ashamed to learn that the place had been running for two years and had not visited...

August 2013

Grub Club: White Men Can’t Jerk Carnival Feast

Amazing location, great cocktails, buzzing atmosphere and good value tasty food. Especially loved the chicken wings. Yum.

August 2013

Grub Club: White Men Can’t Jerk Carnival Feast

I think the two above reviews are a little harsh to be honest. Yes, it was a bit difficult to get into the building if you weren't with the named booker, and it was mega busy when we arrived but that was wasn't really to do with White Men Cant Jerk. I booked for a group of 8, and some of our mates booked separately, and the hosts were really accommodating getting us all sat together.

The food itself, well what i had of it, was good. The chicken wings were delicious, really crispy and sweet with a nice bit of heat afterwards. I also had the mutton pie, which was tasty and had good sides. I tried a bit of everything on our table, and the veggies among us said the casserole was good just lacking in seasoning, and the halloumi and corn went down a storm. I went to a previous event of theirs which was really good, and perhaps think the venue was not particularly suited to this style of dining experience. All in all, I had a good one and maybe stick to more informal outdoor settings in the future boys.

August 2013
Grub Club: White Men Can’t Jerk Carnival Feast

ANYONE that has EVER tasted any Half decent food will know just how shit this food was, a table of 4 all said how tasteless it was absolute con and waste of money and believe us we know decent food. As a complete added bonus service was Riude- perhaps because of the no tip payment upfront - but be nice hey, I would have happily given extra for tasty food and good service

August 2013
Grub Club: White Men Can’t Jerk Carnival Feast

Unfortunately my experienced was doomed from the start, as due to not printing the confirmation email ( which i was not informed I had to do), I had to stand outside for
10 mins as I trifled through my saturated inbox to find the mail before i was allowed to go in. Please make this clearer next time as i assumed you simply had a guest list!
On arrival however my spirits lifted as i came to see the rooftop of which seemed quite 'buzzy' and 'alive', I then proceeded to the bar to buy my £7 Jamaican Cocktail which turned out to be nothing more than a weak sickly concoction I would expect to find at an 18 year olds birthday party.
My guests and I then took to our table, which rested against a horrible mesh guard, which both ruined any views and made us feel a little claustrophobic. We were then served by our 'delightful' (i hope you can hear the sarcasm in my voice) waitress, who had the face of what do they call it 'a smacked arse' and of whom came across both brash and rude. We ordered our starters of which combined we had The Corn, The Chicken and The Halloumi, All of which were terribly bland, very easily made and had nothing at all special about them, we all agreed we needed some kind of sauce to add some flavour. The main courses were even worse, with two of us choosing the casserole dish and two opting for the jerk chicken. The casserole dish had no flavour whatsoever and I was literally struggling to swallow it down, the so called chips were horribly dry and difficult to digest, the only thing I think I enjoyed was the pineapple. The Jerk chicken I am told was equally as bad with one of my guests stating that 'this is the worst food I have had in a very long time'.
After finishing/leaving most of our food we were briskly moved on as apparently someone needed our table even though there were only supposed be 25 spaces available, and we were at the 8 o clock booking which was the last seating available! We decided to go out on the outside terrace (more like a glorified chicken coup) so we could finish our drinks, a member of staff then rudely removed our glasses (of which we hadn't even finished) from a very thick ledge, which was fair enough i suppose taking health and safety in to account, but please A- get a sense of humour,B- ask whether a guest has finished their drinks before removing them and C- I would recommend that the member of staff in question visit a hair salon asap to sort out that hideous barnet!
We then left, wishing we had never spent our precious pennies on this awful food event.
The conclusion of the story therefore being that we should have taken the title of the event 'White men Can't Jerk' quite literally and steered well clear!

August 2013

Grub Club: Ayam Legend

The food was delicious and the venue was beautiful. The drinks were also great.

July 2013

Grub Club: Ayam Legend

This place is great! such a cool location and really good quality food for the price. Well worth a visit

July 2013

Grub Club: Ayam Legend

Food is really good, a bit too sweet but still very nice. Drinks ok. Desert amazing!

July 2013

Grub Club: Ayam Legend

Intimate and comfortable setting, nice to be in the open air but would have been good to have a better view from tables. Shame we couldn't access the doodle wall very well as people sat in front of it but it didn't matter too much. Really fantastic food and cocktails. Reasonably priced. Great night - nice to do something a bit different!

July 2013
Grub Club: Ayam Legend

I enjoyed a nice chicken dinner and bannana fritter for dessert. Always a good cocktail to had to too.

July 2013

Grub Club: Ayam Legend

I'm afraid that despite the food tasting very good indeed that I cannot post a good review of this event.

After arriving and immediately being hounded for my email confirmation which had gone to my Spam box (they did not have a list of diners as they rely on their customers to bring their email confirmations) we were seated at a table that wasn't quite big enough for three, very close indeed to another couple.

I take full responsibility for reading an old page about the event which suggested that for your ticket price each diner was entitled to a chicken-based meal, desert and cocktail, when actually you no longer get the cocktail. disappointing, but my own fault.

Fine - if that had been the only hiccups, I could live with those.

However, we were pushed to order before we wanted to. then before and during our deserts were told that they needed our table for a group of 13 and that we could 'stay as long as we like' but just to let us know that big group over there couldn't sit down until we left. And the dish I chose was a starter, not a main course. It certainly didn't fill me up.

Again - I wouldn't have been too peeved about this even though it sounded on the website as if we were booking for a whole evening at the event so might have expected to keep our seats.

The final straw was finding that after we had been kicked out of our seats that there was only a tiny strip of space available to stand once you had lost your table - the smoking area. As a smoker this was fine, but one of my friends who I was with is pregnant and so we had to leave. Before 8.30!

Finally, what art?!

June 2013

Grub Club: Mumma Schnitzel @ Platterform

Wasn't sure what to expect and it was a bit of a shambles when we got there. Liked the venue but probably wouldn't bother advanced booking again as felt like most people had just turned up on the night for drinks. Staff very friendly. Cocktails nice, would go again for those. Burger was just ok. Not chicken breast which was a shame.

June 2013

Grub Club: Mumma Schnitzel @ Platterform

Great food and cocktails!

May 2013
Grub Club: Ayam Legend

Went there for my boyfriend's B'day, had a lovely time, ate amazing food, enjoyed delicious cocktails, we'll be back!
Thank you for the warmest service I've had in London.

April 2013

Grub Club: Ayam Legend

If only there was an Ayam Legend on every corner so I could get my fried chicken fix! The food was delicious, between my group of friends we tried the Satay and the fried chicken and they were both amazing! Also the matched cocktails and the dessert were both so yummy! We can't wait for the next one!

April 2013

Grub Club: Ayam Legend

Definately worth a visit in summer will be a great location for a group to try something different and have a few cocktails. Really enjoyed our food all the chicken dishes were fresh and well flavoured and nicest stay i have had, it was good value although the portions aren't huge we left satisfied and the desert was lovely.

April 2013

Grub Club: Ayam Legend

We had a great evening - the food was great, the staff were friendly and didn't mind having a chat and some banter, and the location was really interesting. Not something you expect to find on a rooftop in Tooley Street!

April 2013

Grub Club: Ayam Legend

Fantastic food and refreshing punch on arrival. Chilled atmosphere and a good place to take friends. I have recommended this place several times over...I thought the price was great!

April 2013

Grub Club: Ayam Legend

Had a great time on Friday night. The food and vibe was amazing! Will definitely be going back again to a platterform event.

April 2013

Grub Club: Ayam Legend

These guys rock. The food was amazing and they make awesome cocktails, which are not only delicious but are creative. They've taken the time to think about the food and then create cocktails that specifically match the food.
The spices of the amazing hand-pounded chicken are beautifully complemented by the sweet and smoky cocktails full of exotic fruit and smoked spices. It was incredible!
And to compound it, not only is the booze and food delicious and unpretentious but the atmosphere is also great. I went there alone but managed to meet lots of people there and made lots of new friends! Will definitely go again

April 2013

Grub Club: Ayam Legend

Had a brilliant time at Ayam Legend's Grub Club last Friday! The food was delicious and the setting was really cool. I had such a fun time, and would definitely do it again. Not to mention it was GREAT value for money. A night out and good food. Awesome!

April 2013

Grub Club: Ayam Legend

Very cool idea and very tasty food - to have a doodle board and i think most people got involved.

April 2013
Grub Club: MUMMA SCHNITZEL

Such a cool venue, group of people and most importantly amazing food. Could not fault it and cant wait for the next one. Think this is the beginning of something rather special!!! Congratulations!

April 2013
Grub Club: MUMMA SCHNITZEL

Great evening and the schnitzel and cocktails kept out the cold. Bravo...

April 2013
Grub Club: MUMMA SCHNITZEL

Such a brilliant night. The schnitzel burgers were out of this world and the cocktails were amazing. Delicious, original, fun and awesome views from the rooftop. Great night!

Thanks guys - definitely coming back!!

April 2013
Grub Club: MUMMA SCHNITZEL

Had a really lovely evening at Mumma Schnitzel at the Sky Room last evening. The venue was very cute with fantastic views. Got a really great table outside, shame it was freezing but thats nothing to do with the hosts. The atmosphere was great and the people very friendly. Now about the food... The burger was fresh and prepared with great expertise. Two perfectly cooked schnitzels in a perfect bun. The best burger I've eaten in my ten years in London.
Cant wait for the next one...